My Poetic Path

my journey…shared in poems, prose and photos

“Chance” Encounters

22 Comments

 
Drawing us near.
Sometimes in ways, at first unclear.
A certain look.
A longer than usual glance.
Who knows where,when or why.
We pass this way.
And rightly so, what fate and kismet brings.
Does at last, advance.
                                  
What is on the surface.
Too obvious and easy.
Is often, not reality.
And what remains unseen…
untouched…
… ultimately to come.
Meant to be.
And for the better.
But only if we allow.
                     
To be open and ever vigilant.
To “chance” encounters.
Meeting, merging, melding.
Shared in step and in time.
Capable of changing everything.
In one eternal, breathless minute.
 
Warm and welcoming.
You draw me to your side.
The layers, peeled away.
Revealing all that was and is you, inside.
Reality becomes clear, visual and pure.
I bask in the light of your soft, subtle ways.
Against all the odds and ifs.
You came here, to stay.
                     
***
                                                
“Chance” Encounters © 2008 Geraldine H. Hartman
Written for the OSI prompt: Welcoming
Author: Geraldine

I am a freelance writer, poet, artisan, avid book/product reviewer and award-winning cookbook author. I recently published the second volume of my new vegetarian cookbook series: -The Groovy Green Kitchen II: Simply, Super, Supper Soups and my fun and inspirational book, all about aging well: -Laughing AT the Grim Reaper! Gems of Wisdom for Aging Well I am also the author of: -The Groovy Green Kitchen: Weeknight Veggie Slow Cooker -Third Chapter, Second Chance (a mid-life romance) -Not Just for Vegetarians: Delicious Homestyle Cooking, the Meatless Way and the poetry collections: -Haiku Reflections:The Four Seasons (Volume i and II) and -My Poetic Path All titles available at Amazon.com, .ca, UK.... When I'm not writing or creating new recipes, I love to knit and crochet; usually with some "help" from feline friend, yarn-loving Mr. Cheddar! I hope you will visit and enjoy all of my blogs.Thanks for stopping by. Wishing You a Happy Week and Namaste! :-)

22 thoughts on ““Chance” Encounters

  1. Beautifully crafted, wlith a gentle suspense. I enjoyed reading this very much!

  2. Just beautiful. The arrangement of lines and the gradual unveiling of the story only the heart can tell is very welcoming. The lines about remaining open were perfect for me to read today.

  3. I love this, Geraldine, it reminds me how great a role chance plays in our lives, and the need to welcome those that come by chance so that they will stay a while.

  4. Peeling back those layers requires a candor and confidence that can be very challenging. I think the vigilance you describe is a spiritual discipline. Thank you, Geraldine.

  5. This was wonderful to read! So many things in our lives are mere happenstance. Chance encounters. So funny to think how things might have actually turned out differently, if not for that moment… Very stimulating verses.
    Brenda

  6. Ah, those chance encounters. The real spice of life, magical, unpredictable, enhancing.
    You narrated this perfectly.

  7. I always enjoy your poetry G. You described love and it’s process, without using the word love. Beautimas!

  8. Hi Geraldine,
    This is beautiful.
    I think that we are talking about a ‘meeting of minds’ here, which is what our ‘blogging family’ is all about.
    No superficiality, just us.
    I’ve proposed a theory to your “coincidences” question on Selma’s “Still The Same” post, I’d be very interested in your thoughts. Natch!

    I know that she is on “Hiatus”. I hope all is very well with Selma. Thank goodness that there are more than one of us!

  9. This is just beautiful. I love the way you work your way toward the conclusion and I especially love that last stanza. Just exquisite and pure.

  10. Hi Deborah, I like your choice of phrase “gentle” suspense. Thank you!

    Hi Christine, I am glad that this poem struck a chord with you today.

    Hi Sue, I think there are always forces at work in our lives, unseen but very powerful, that draw us to certain people and places. Thanks for your kind words Sue.

    Hi Sandy, It is a spiritual exercise Sandy, what a wonderful interpretation of this topic. Thanks Sandy.

    Hi Brenda, I like how you’ve carried this one step further. The road not taken….excellent!

    Hi Tony, The spice of life, indeed! 😉

    Hi Tammy, And how your story of love touched my heart today. 🙂

    Hi Chris, Thanks for your comments.

    Hi Raven, What a lovely comment, thanks Raven.

    Wishing you all a wonderful week, G

  11. Geraldine, the fact that this is good is not chance. I love the way you put your words together, and that you are recognize chance for what it is. The last stanza is also my favorite.

  12. With chance encounters we might meet someone special. I know this is true because I met wonderful you. What a lovely poem.

  13. You really have captured the mystery and wonder of life with this poem. Happenstance, fate, it’s all there. I often wonder what it is that draws us to one another. Your observations are just perfect. Thank you so much for this wonderful poem!

  14. Hi Sandy, What a lovely comment, thanks Sandy. Your continued support and feedback mean a lot! I love your new haiga/haiku blog btw. Another very inspiring place to stop by.

    Hi Joe, Aren’t you a sweetie. How did you guess that the last stanza was all about you? 😉

    Hi Sue, Thanks so much Sue.

    Hi Selma, Oh you are too kind Selma. I love your work and am so encouraged by your feedback. Very much appreciated.

    Wishing you all a wonderful week and may kismet and fate smile on you in the best possible way, G 🙂

  15. Very lovely. I am forever grateful to kismet and chance for bringing me where I am today.

  16. The first time I met my husband he was with a friend of my friend. And I don’t know how, but I knew. And I remember standing by the window, looking out after they gone, and I told my friend that that fellow was going to be someone really special in my life, and he was and still is. Your poem reads true 🙂 It is lovely.

    Thank you for your appreciated comments on my blog.

  17. Dear Geraldine–
    I loved the subtlety of the welcome, and the depth of it!
    Thank you, as always, for a lovely welcoming to the heart of you!

  18. What good advice you give, Geraldine.

    ‘To be open and ever vigilant.
    To ”chance” encounters.’

    If not we risk losing so much.

  19. ..”Beautifully crafted, wlith a gentle suspense.”..many thanks..

  20. Hi Patois, Great to “see” you again and I am grateful for your visits to MPP!

    Hi Ann, What a great story. Kismet at work!!!! 😉

    Hi Beth, You are so nice, thanks dear Beth!

    Hi Carole, We do indeed. Being open to the not so chance encounters is crucial, isn’t it?

    Hi Zoya, Loved when Deborah worded her comment as you did. Thank you.

    Hugs and thanks so much for stopping by, G

Thank you for your comments!

