My Poetic Path

my journey…shared in poems, prose and photos

Haiku Reflections: Homecoming Haiku

20 Comments

homecoming-haiku1

Author: Geraldine

I am a freelance writer, poet, artisan, avid book/product reviewer and award-winning cookbook author. I recently published the second volume of my new vegetarian cookbook series: -The Groovy Green Kitchen II: Simply, Super, Supper Soups and my fun and inspirational book, all about aging well: -Laughing AT the Grim Reaper! Gems of Wisdom for Aging Well I am also the author of: -The Groovy Green Kitchen: Weeknight Veggie Slow Cooker -Third Chapter, Second Chance (a mid-life romance) -Not Just for Vegetarians: Delicious Homestyle Cooking, the Meatless Way and the poetry collections: -Haiku Reflections:The Four Seasons (Volume i and II) and -My Poetic Path All titles available at Amazon.com, .ca, UK.... When I'm not writing or creating new recipes, I love to knit and crochet; usually with some "help" from feline friend, yarn-loving Mr. Cheddar! I hope you will visit and enjoy all of my blogs.Thanks for stopping by. Wishing You a Happy Week and Namaste! :-) You can also visit me at my new author's site: geraldinehelenhartman.me

20 thoughts on “Haiku Reflections: Homecoming Haiku

  1. this is a very lovely haiku and picture to accompany it, Geraldine! 🙂

  2. That’s such a beautifully drawn winter word picture, I can almost feel the frost on my face.

  3. The snow effect looks like it’s part of the scene. Great photo and haiku poem.

  4. I like your holiday decor! I’ve been too busy to do much blogging lately, so it was such a treat to pop over here and see such a calming, comforting picture and verse. Dusk on a snow day is one of my favorite times of all…

  5. An inspiring, thought-provoking haiku that can be read and enjoyed on a number of levels. Thanks, DavidM.

  6. Gorgeous!! That first line “dusk of a snow day” is just intensely beautiful, and visually and emotionally evocative for me. Really nice.

    btw I did an image/text post in response to Selma’s ‘non-prompt’ this week if you are interested

    And the snow and holiday cheer on your site are really wonderful! Makes my day to visit 🙂

  7. I absolutely love the blue light of winter evenings!

  8. Lovely photo with
    Haiku superimposed … with
    lamps as ‘fireflies’ ;–)

    Hugs and blessings,

  9. Hi Mary, So glad to “see” you again and glad you enjoyed this poem and photo.

    Hi Carrie, I guess I “nailed” it then, 😉 thanks Carrie!

    Hi Joe, WP snow really does add to winter pics doesn’t it? I like it a lot. Only until Jan. 4th though, then no more WP snow available. 😦

    Hi Aine, Thanks Aine. I love dusk at all times of year but winter seems particularly special and calming to me.

    Hi David, That’s what I love most about haiku, the challenge to put as much into each word as possible and to leave the reader with thoughts to ponder. Thank you so much for your feedback.

    Hi Kayt, I am so glad you enjoyed this post and the festive theme too. Love to visit TPC and did so earlier this a.m.

    Hi Jason, It is special, isn’t it? The snow is coming down when I took this photo hence the muted tones (it’s not really blurry!!!) I liked the way the streetlights stood out as little v’s aka fireflies.

    Hi HR Gal, Glad you liked it.

    Wishing you all a lovely weekend. It’s finally REALLY snowing here (staying on the ground) so hope to get some new pics soon. I love the snow!!!! 😉

    Hugs, G

  10. Really lovely haiku. The dusky photo is perfect…

  11. You set a beautiful scene there.

  12. What a beautiful haiku and your blog looks so festive G. HUG

  13. You have captured exactly why I love that time of day! Beautiful, Geraldine.

  14. Of all the forms of poetry, I love haiku the best, I think. It’s so simple yet so profound!

    This is beautiful, G! Thanks!

    Love your new holiday look, too! Lovely theme. 🙂

  15. Beautiful words and image -‘lamps glowing like fireflies’ – the brightness and warmth juxtaposed with dusk and snow. I love it.

  16. Hi Christine, Thank you so much!

    Hi Tony, I’m glad you like it! Sort of gets me in the festive mood too. 😉

    Hi Tammy, Glad you enjoyed the poem and I love this theme too. Hoorah for WP snow!

    Hi Sandy, I love that time of day too, so nice to be heading home and the colors of the sky are incredible right now. Such an amazing blue!

    Hi Michelle, I love haiku too and all that makes this poetry unique. Thanks for stopping in, good to ‘see’ you again.

    Hi Carole, The first thought I had were fireflies, looking at this photo. Glad you liked both.

    Thanks so much for your visits to MPP, most appreciated, G

  17. It’s the way you feel when you go out into the snow and it is so fresh and vibrant and you feel so alive. And there is such beauty in it. Just gorgeous, G!

  18. A lovely picture. I really like the snow coming down.

  19. Pretty–words and the photo. It makes me want to be there.

  20. Hi Selma, For me, dusk during the winter always reminds me of coming home, looking for the light to follow to bring me there. I love the colors at that time of day/night. Glad you liked this post.

    Hi Gemma, The WP snow is so cool, isn’t it? I like it with the festive theme I switched to.

    Hi Sandy, Glad you enjoyed both.

    Hugs and thanks for stopping in, G 🙂

Thank you for your comments!

