My Poetic Path

my journey…shared in poems, prose and photos

Upcoming Writing Contest

12 Comments

Take a long, hard look at the photo above. What does it bring to mind?

By way of spreading the good news, I am happy to announce that Jason Evans ( Clarity of Night)  is once again hosting a writing contest  coming up the first week in January.

Read all about the upcoming contest here. 

I must admit to a “soft spot”  😉 in my heart when it comes to Jason. After participating in one of his earlier writing contests (a memorable and positive experience in spite of the fact I didn’t win anything LOL) I was inspired and encouraged to start My Poetic Path. And what a wonderful decision that has turned out to be. Again, my  sincere thanks Jason, for your continued friendship, feedback and support. You and Aine are just the best.

I digress…Do stop by Jason’s as soon as you can to find out all the details. Prizes a plenty, talented writers and wonderful camaraderie will prevail, I am sure. And don’t miss browsing Jason’s blog while you are there; always an interesting  read and definitely worth the visit.

I look forward to reading your submissions at Jason’s upcoming contest. Right now, I am pondering this intriguing photo… mmmm.

See you there!   🙂

Photo courtesy of Jason Evans

Author: Geraldine

I am a freelance writer, poet, artisan, avid book/product reviewer and award-winning cookbook author. I recently published the second volume of my new vegetarian cookbook series: -The Groovy Green Kitchen II: Simply, Super, Supper Soups and my fun and inspirational book, all about aging well: -Laughing AT the Grim Reaper! Gems of Wisdom for Aging Well I am also the author of: -The Groovy Green Kitchen: Weeknight Veggie Slow Cooker -Third Chapter, Second Chance (a mid-life romance) -Not Just for Vegetarians: Delicious Homestyle Cooking, the Meatless Way and the poetry collections: -Haiku Reflections:The Four Seasons (Volume i and II) and -My Poetic Path All titles available at Amazon.com, .ca, UK.... When I'm not writing or creating new recipes, I love to knit and crochet; usually with some "help" from feline friend, yarn-loving Mr. Cheddar! I hope you will visit and enjoy all of my blogs.Thanks for stopping by. Wishing You a Happy Week and Namaste! :-) You can also visit me at my new author's site: geraldinehelenhartman.me

12 thoughts on “Upcoming Writing Contest

  1. Hi G,

    You are always a “winner” but I hope you win something in the upcoming writing contest as well!

    As for the photo…..a person standing on an escalator…..certainly a different subject for a photo but a really interesting angle and coloring.

    Happy New Year!

  2. That contest really is a cool idea. Something immediately came to mind when I saw the picture. Maybe I’ll try my hand at a story. It’s been a long, long time since I’ve written something. 🙂

  3. That’s worth a try, Geraldine. Thanks for this.

    And thanks for your comment on my blog today. These hard lessons remind me over and over that love is everything. In love and loving, we lose nothing. Ever.

  4. Thank you for the heartwarming words, Geraldine. 🙂 If I helped encourage the beginning of your wonderful blog in any way, I’m very humbled. You’ve been a treasured visitor at the Clarity of Night.

    I’m looking forward to the contest. The best part of it is all the support people show for one another. Everyone is welcome.

  5. Hi M, It is a great photo, isn’t it? I have a story idea that I am working on, need to put it done on paper or screen soon. January is so very close.

    Hi Beth, I do hope you take the next step and enter your story. Hope to see you there and look forward to reading your submission. I didn’t know you were a writer too. What a talented woman you are! 🙂

    Hi Sandy, I was compelled to write something about my own personal experiences after I read what your post was about. I hope it helps someone else too.

    Hi Jason, I am glad to spread the word; your contests are terrific. And I agree, the best part is the support and feedback from all the participants. Can’t wait!

    Here’s to a very happy and creative new year, G

  6. just dropping in to say happy new year honey… this contest looks fun,,, i am working on an idea as we speak!!

  7. I had no idea Jason was so instrumental in you starting this blog. I am forever indebted to him. He really is a brilliant writer. I am going to try and write something for this contest. The word limit is tricky but I do like a challenge. Like you, I am looking forward to reading what everyone comes up with.
    Happy New Year, Geraldine!!!

  8. Hi Paisley, I hope you do enter a story Paisley; I know already it will be terrific. And a very happy new year to you dear P!

    Hi Selma, Yes, I am forever grateful to Jason too, what a great guy in so many respects. His contests are wonderful. I wrote my story for the contest yesterday and I did have a hard time editing it down to 250 words (started at over 700!!!) Now I wish I would have saved BOTH versions to share. 😉
    Can’t wait to see your story too Selma. Hope you are also spreading the word over at your blogs. The more the merrier!

    Hugs, G

  9. Hi and happy new year G! I love the photo and will think about entering something – though Jan. is always too darn busy for me – but we’ll see. Thanks so much for posting this!!

    New year hugs 🙂

  10. hello g… came by to say hello and wishing you all the best for the coming year… congrats on a beautiful blog… why have i not come by here more often??… so love your poetry… something abt being focused and tunnel vision that i have trouble peering out beyond, but still that does not come close… that was really sweet of you to come by and let me know abt my comment to that one post of yours… gotta admit it really, really, really, really… did i say how the photo and story REALLY touched me… and the phrase mash potatoe clouds i reacted in so many different ways… not even really sure why… thank you for the suggestion to go to jason’s on the writing contest… it will be on top of the list… 250 words is a perfect number to a small story…

  11. My mind does seem to wonder with this photo. It is amazing how an image can inspire us. And as far as the book challenge my book (that sounds nice :)) I do not think would be done this year. That is something I have to take step by step and day by day.

  12. Hi Kayt, I would LOVE to have you join Jason and the many participants over at the Clarity of Night for this contest. The one I entered previously was a very positive and fun experience and inspired me so much. I hope you give this a try! 🙂

    Hi Pie, Ahhhh…aren’t you a sweetie. I re-read that comment, going through some of my archives at the end of the year and I was just amazed by what you had said. All the feedback I receive touches my heart but I must admit to some comments standing out as extra special. Yours was. Thanks again. Here’s to mash potato clouds eh. 😉

    Hi Gemma, A cookbook is a project that can take a long time to finish (as I mentioned before Not Just for Vegetarians took me 10 years to complete, part-time) I think though, that having a time frame to work with does help to focus a person. I know that a year for me would have been enough to pull all of my recipes and related text together, had I made a committment to do so. Again, all the amazing reviews and customer feedback after the fact made that project so worthwhile. I wish you much success with your cookbook should you decide to progress with this project.

    Hugs, G 🙂

Thank you for your comments!

