My Poetic Path

my journey…shared in poems, prose and photos

Write-a-Book Challenge

30 Comments

Calling all wannabe novelists!    

I happened upon this great idea  from WordPress, simplifying the process of writing a book (not necessarily a novel).

Personally, I have tried to write a novel several times, over the years. Always the momentum gradually dwindled down to nada and never a book was completed. I’d like 2009 to be the year to change that. I’m wondering if any of you also share this desire to write a book and perhaps be able to support and encourage each other, throughout the coming year?

If this does strike a chord with you, I’d love to share this creative journey with you. Collectively we could make 2009 the year of finishing a book (fiction or non-fiction). Using the WP software  is optional, but what the hey…if it helps to simplify the process, perhaps it’s part of making it all a real possibility and a dream come true. I know I’m going to take advantage of this simplified way to save words in a book format. It’s free and it’s easy!     

Perhaps we could commiserate once a month, catching up on each other progress, sharing excerpts of our books as they take shape.

What do you think? Do let me know. I hope this is a journey that I can share with my blog friends. That to me would make all the difference. And hopefully by year’s end, we would all have books completed and ready to submit for publication consideration.

Hope to hear your thoughts on this challenge and very soon.   🙂

Author: Geraldine

I am a freelance writer, poet, artisan, avid book/product reviewer and award-winning cookbook author. I recently published the second volume of my new vegetarian cookbook series: -The Groovy Green Kitchen II: Simply, Super, Supper Soups and my fun and inspirational book, all about aging well: -Laughing AT the Grim Reaper! Gems of Wisdom for Aging Well I am also the author of: -The Groovy Green Kitchen: Weeknight Veggie Slow Cooker -Third Chapter, Second Chance (a mid-life romance) -Not Just for Vegetarians: Delicious Homestyle Cooking, the Meatless Way and the poetry collections: -Haiku Reflections:The Four Seasons (Volume i and II) and -My Poetic Path All titles available at Amazon.com, .ca, UK.... When I'm not writing or creating new recipes, I love to knit and crochet; usually with some "help" from feline friend, yarn-loving Mr. Cheddar! I hope you will visit and enjoy all of my blogs.Thanks for stopping by. Wishing You a Happy Week and Namaste! :-) You can also visit me at my new author's site: geraldinehelenhartman.me

30 thoughts on “Write-a-Book Challenge

  1. Wow! I wish you well. Each of the last four years, I’ve written a novel during NaNoWriMo. I read the post on WordPress and it sounds like a good format to follow – I’ll watch to see what you do, but unless something really stirs me, I’ll wait til November and drive myself nuts doing a book in 30 days. On the other hand… 🙂 Happy New Year!

  2. Hmmm. Interesting 🙂

  3. Good luck with that, Geraldine! Sounds good to me, though I don’t think I have a book in my at the moment. I have in the past done books of poetry for my family and had them printed and disseminated. Three times at 400 copies per print run. They eventually have sold. It was gratifying to reach an audience I cared about. I know I am not Danielle Steele! Still, I will give this some thought and follow you on this journey.

    By the way, thanks for the recipe you sent me a few weeks ago. I am a terrible cook but will try it because it came from you!

  4. Well I’ll join you! I actually have one I started back in October, but duing NaNoWriMo I had so much going on personally I hung it up. My husband said to me just last night, “Why is it you can’t finish a story? How many do you have going now? Four?” And he’s right. I think my biggest hold up is me – I just can’t seem to accept that I might, just might, be able to write something that people will want to read. I’m ready to get past that.

    Keep me posted on what you want to do – I’ll have to check in with the WP thingy – I’ve always used blogger.

    🙂

  5. I think it is a great idea and I wish you lots of luck. I do plan to hopefully one day write a vegan cookbook. That is a dream of mine. Do not know if I could do it this year. But I am always cooking and the idea is within me.

  6. By the way, I love your banner!

  7. Hi Sue, A book in 30 days, wow…now that is a daunting assignment to even consider. I’m impressed.

    Hi Mia, Nice to “see” you again dear M. Are you considering giving this challenge a go? Hope so.

    Hi Sandy, I would love you to share this journey. You have so much talent. And I doubt if you are a terrible cook. Do let me know how the soup turns out. I’ve made it several times already. Yummmm…. 😉 PS: Thanks re the header. Thought it was time to make some changes around here LOL.

    Hi Texas, Hooray, good stuff. I am just waiting to see how many people want to give this a go and then maybe shoot for some loose guidelines so that we can keep each other posted and encouraged. I have an idea for my book right now that I think is workable and achieveable in the year timeline. I will keep you informed.

    Hi Gemma, Any type of book is great, a cookbook certainly! Been there, done that. Tons of work but so gratifying.

    Thanks for your comments and I hope we have lots of interest for this project. I think it’s going to be wonderful! 🙂

    Hugs, G

  8. I have started novels at various times over the years. Get maybe a hundred pages written, then it dwindles to nothing. I always wonder what keeps the novelist going from beginning to end. If it is merely a discipline I lacked. I get all fired up. And then weeks pass… I’ll check this out on WP.
    Brenda

  9. I barely finish the NaNo challenge, somehow I always run out of words toward the end, maybe it’s easier when doing in 12 months instead of one month but right now, I can’t really decide if I want to at this time

    I wish you luck on your novel!

  10. A great idea, and good luck. Sadly, though, I’m all booked out at the moment, for the reasons I’ve given in my answer to you on my blog. But I repeat, it’s a great idea, and I hope many join you.

  11. Super idea…I wish you all the fun writing your novel. I’ll mull over doing this with my book…not sure I can commit to a year yet lol 🙂

  12. Count me in. Sounds just what I need. Let’s go for it!!!

  13. Hi Brenda, Been there, done that. 😦 I hope you decide to join us!

    Hi Lissa, I think this is just the incentive and time frame I needed to make finishing a book(s) this coming year a reality. It would be great if you come along to.

    Hi Tony, Ill stop by your blog to read your answer today.

    Hi Ruinwen, Sure ya can dear R! 😉

    Hi Selma, That’s great! I agree, let’s go for it.

    I am actually now working on 3 ideas for the book challenge. I’ll be posting more details in the near future. And do remember that Jason’s writing contest starts this week, see the post below this one. Another great place for inspiration.

    Hugs and thanks for stopping in, G

  14. Hi G! I saw you over at Clarity and you beat me to the punch – thanks for stopping by Arboreality to say hi!

    I hope that 2009 is a great year for you. Incidentally, I too am hoping to take a crack at writing novel-length fiction this year. Although I cannot guarantee that I’ll stick to it, I might stop in to chat with you and your community. I think it’s a great idea to find a way to use the support of your fellow writers to maintain your writing momentum.

    Cheers, and good luck!

    Best,
    Jade

  15. Cool idea G – not really my gig, but sending lots of support and virtual hugs. Hope all the book projects go really well!!

  16. I’m in! I may have to play fast & loose with the guidelines, but this is exactly what I’m looking for. In fact, I’m starting a Writing Challenge of my own – come over and check it out!

    insearchofgiants.com

  17. wow, a book in 30 days… that is a scary pleasure… last year i participated in 30 poems in 30 days… and i loved it!!… but a book, gee.. don’t think so… wishing you all the success!!!

  18. Hi Jade, Great minds eh? 😉 It was so good to see your comment over at Jason’s this a.m. I hope to read your submission in his contest and also hopefully you will be able to join us here for the Write a Book challenge. Here’s to a very creative year!

    Hi Kayt, Ahh…too bad you aren’t going to give this a whirl but I look forward to lots of wonderful posts to read over at TPC in 2009. Love your blog!

    Hi Aerin, Welcome to MPP. Looks like this is going to be a very creative meeting of the minds.

    Hi Pie, Still loving that avatar photo! Not a book in 30 days (that was another writing challenge online in Nov) this one is a whole long year. 30 poems in 30 days that amazing! Great to ‘see’ you again, do stay in touch ok!

    Hugs and thanks for stopping in. I’ll be posting some guidelines re: the Book Challenge, very soon. Nothing too structured, just enough to keep everyone connecting on a regular basis. Encouragement and feedback means so much, doesn’t it? G

  19. Hmmm…. I am seriously going to think about this. Oh boy…

  20. Dear Geraldine–
    If Christine’s in, so am I! Grin…
    Maybe we could do a collaborative book…
    Ouch–
    I was just meditating at new year’s about the book that I know is in me, but has no name, no face, no focus, like a zygote. So here you come along and be the Book Angel.
    Thanks, I think…Smiles!

  21. Hey Beth, I know – you write the words; I’ll write the music. *g*

  22. Geraldine: thanks for the feedback on my photos just now. Feel free to use whatever you would like if you wish. I know that snow photos are really hard to come by up your way in BC. Hee!

  23. Dear Christine and Beth,

    Well……do we have a joint venture here? 😉 Sounds like a plan.

    No need to share the snow Christine, more LOL….we are blanketed in white here and I am loving it. Plan to get some snow pics taken today. Yours were amazing btw!

    Hugs, G

  24. PS: I love the idea of being a Book Angel, thanks dear Beth! 🙂

  25. I’m in. It’s a great idea. I failed at NaNoWriMo even though I had a good start. I was legitimately sidetracked into revising my first novel because an agent requested a partial (woo hoo!). So, the project was temporarily sidelined. Now, I am ready to take it on.

  26. Hi G,

    I wrote a book once and then rewrote it – 78,000 words each – couldn’t get it published, but it’s still here in a box about six feet from where I’m sitting! LOL (Have a dozen short stories too, same thing – couldn’t get them published but got a lot of nice rejections.)

    If you want to write a book, go for it! 🙂

  27. Geraldine, thank you so much for the invitation to write a novel but I just don’t have the time right now what with teaching my classes. Maybe another time! 🙂

  28. Well, this is an inspiring idea and now you’ve got me thinking…

  29. It’s more than six months later, and I was wondering how this worked out for you — did you follow through with the project? One thing worth considering for the future, if publication for sale is a goal (and it doesn’t have to be) then using the Word Press tool (or any blog) may not be a good idea. Some publishers won’t touch things that have been previously posted on the internet. I discovered this first with poetry journals, and with poetry and short story contests, but have since discovered that commercial publishers don’t like to handle things that have been made public through the internet prior to first publication in book form.

  30. I am sorry that this idea didn’t fly but I do hope everyone continues with their own creative writing pursuits, in whatever directions that leads. Sue, you make a good point, thanks for the heads-up re: blogging and publishing. Good to know. I actually didn’t realise this as being an issue.

    Happy Writing! G

Thank you for your comments!

