My Poetic Path

my journey…shared in poems, prose and photos

Throw Away the Key

21 Comments

                                         
Release the burdens, bearing down.
Throw away the heavy, tarnished key.
Breathe in fresh clean, life-restoring air.
Expand and color, long lost dreams.
Forgotten, fallen and frayed.
Left for dead, in disrepair.
 
Often it takes a lifetime.
To see a wrong, made right.
But the light will prevail.
It is there, always.
The Truth and Beauty.
That spurs our good works on.
Even in times of total and utter despair.
 
Savor the scents of early spring.
Revel in the shimmering Van Gogh skies.
While buds slowly appear.
Reminding and restoring us.
Harbingers to sunlight and hope unfurling.
 
Throw away the key.
Cast off the dark days.
The murky mire cast by evil ways.
The gift of Joy.
Finally restored and rightfully ours.
The sunlit path awaits.
A journey beckons, without end.
 
**
“Throw Away the Key” © 2009 Geraldine H. Hartman 
Written for the Search Engine Stories prompt: Throw Away the Key
Photo courtesy of: Flickr
Author: Geraldine

I am a freelance writer, poet, artisan, avid book/product reviewer and award-winning cookbook author. I recently published the second volume of my new vegetarian cookbook series: -The Groovy Green Kitchen II: Simply, Super, Supper Soups and my fun and inspirational book, all about aging well: -Laughing AT the Grim Reaper! Gems of Wisdom for Aging Well I am also the author of: -The Groovy Green Kitchen: Weeknight Veggie Slow Cooker -Third Chapter, Second Chance (a mid-life romance) -Not Just for Vegetarians: Delicious Homestyle Cooking, the Meatless Way and the poetry collections: -Haiku Reflections:The Four Seasons (Volume i and II) and -My Poetic Path All titles available at Amazon.com, .ca, UK.... When I'm not writing or creating new recipes, I love to knit and crochet; usually with some "help" from feline friend, yarn-loving Mr. Cheddar! I hope you will visit and enjoy all of my blogs.Thanks for stopping by. Wishing You a Happy Week and Namaste! :-) You can also visit me at my new author's site: geraldinehelenhartman.me

21 thoughts on “Throw Away the Key

  1. “Revel in the shimmering Van Gogh skies.” Such a beautiful vivid image for me. Another poetic gem Geraldine. 🙂

  2. Beautiful imagery and I love the use of the key. Poor winter. So misunderstood. 😉

  3. find your poem very truly and beautifully expressed..

  4. In these times of hardship poems of hope and revitalization are a wonderous read.

  5. Your poetry is so inspirational. I think you are a shining example of how it is possible to turn a negative into a positive. I really like how the key symbolised the end of burdens, worries that were being held on to. Uplifting!

  6. You are the master of putting goodness and hope into a vivid image. What an awesome poem, G!

  7. Throwing away the key makes me think of letting go of false solutions or ideas that just can’t work.

    God bless, Geraldine. Thanks for sharing this.

  8. Hi Ruinwen, Glad you enjoyed the imagery. Thanks so much for your continued support dear R !

    Hi Carrie, It was a great prompt to work from…

    Hi Arctictern, Welcome and thanks so much.

    Hi Gemma, You are so kind, thanks dear G.

    Hi Selma, I thought it was an interesting use of the key in reference to letting go and being unburdened. Glad it was well conveyed.

    Hi Chris, What a wonderful compliment Chris and so nice to “see” you again.

    Hi Sandy, Indeed….thanks dear Sandy.

    Thanks for your comments, most appreciated, G 🙂

  9. Hi Geraldine,
    I like your poem and its positive message. I especially enjoyed
    The second stanza which reminds us that it is never too late to hope, for hope, that there is always the promise and hope of hope.
    Great poem, great work. Thanks, DavidM

  10. A wonderfully positive poem- one that makes me want to throw off the dark and murky days.

    I think I will join you on that journey.

  11. what a positive message, if only one can leave behind all the things that keep us from enjoying our life but I guess trying to do so is what life’s all about

  12. what positive thinking, if only that is an easy thing to do, we can all remove all our sorrows but at least we could try

  13. Hi David, Great to see you again! And thanks for your kind words.

    Hi Sandy, I totally agree. Here’s to sunshine and happiness….there is never enough, is there?

    Hi Once Blue, Welcome. I do agree.

    Hi Lissa, It’s not easy but I try to dwell on, especially when I’m having a really hard day. A good way to get through….

    Thanks so much for your comments, G

  14. Wonderfully uplifitng and inspirational, G.

  15. Simply beautiful and refreshing. I love the continuous beckoning – “Throw away the key – come enjoy what life has to offer” feel to the entire piece. I love it. 🙂

  16. “Expand and color, long lost dreams”

    Beautiful, beautiful thoughts and images… a great poem !

  17. thank you thank you!! so uplifting and well written – just a joy to read. I sure needed this today – beautiful – you are a gift!

  18. Hi M, Thanks dear M.

    Hi Texas, Thanks so much.

    Hi Vesper, That was my favorite line from the poem. Glad you enjoyed it too.

    Hi Kayt, Ahhhh…you are too kind. And you are a gift, always.

    Hugs and thanks for stopping in, G 🙂

  19. thanks for using my pic 🙂

  20. And thank you for the beautiful photo you’ve shared, via Flickr. G

  21. Oh Geraldine, the is so lovely and inspiring. Just powerful words and imagery. I loved it. Very well done….

    Melanie

Thank you for your comments!

