My Poetic Path

my journey…shared in poems, prose and photos

Haiku Reflections: A Summer’s Day

26 Comments

summers-day-haiku1

Submitted for the January 11th OSI prompt: A Summer’s Day.

Author: Geraldine

I am a freelance writer, poet, artisan, avid book/product reviewer and award-winning cookbook author. I recently published the second volume of my new vegetarian cookbook series: -The Groovy Green Kitchen II: Simply, Super, Supper Soups and my fun and inspirational book, all about aging well: -Laughing AT the Grim Reaper! Gems of Wisdom for Aging Well I am also the author of: -The Groovy Green Kitchen: Weeknight Veggie Slow Cooker -Third Chapter, Second Chance (a mid-life romance) -Not Just for Vegetarians: Delicious Homestyle Cooking, the Meatless Way and the poetry collections: -Haiku Reflections:The Four Seasons (Volume i and II) and -My Poetic Path All titles available at Amazon.com, .ca, UK.... When I'm not writing or creating new recipes, I love to knit and crochet; usually with some "help" from feline friend, yarn-loving Mr. Cheddar! I hope you will visit and enjoy all of my blogs.Thanks for stopping by. Wishing You a Happy Week and Namaste! :-) You can also visit me at my new author's site: geraldinehelenhartman.me

26 thoughts on “Haiku Reflections: A Summer’s Day

  1. What a lovely spot for a family picnic and day of fun! It reminds me of many wonderful family days up at the lake!

  2. I want to live there. I really do. That is such a perfect spot!!!

  3. Lush green. How I love the thought of it. Always have.

    Great photo!

    Thanks for the prompt.

    golden freeze

  4. ..” thoughts of childhood fun recalled
    memories held dear “_
    & a “lush green summer’s day” says all that ur fab picture says about “life’s seasons”
    -to conjure up an idyllic dream..many thanks for a great post & the prompt ..

  5. Those memories are, indeed, dear – and the photo is lovely.

  6. This is just beautiful. I love childhood memories when they are this sweet.

  7. Summer nostalgia and feelings of freedom seem to me to go hand-in-hand. Winter nostalgia, on the other hand recalls feelings of being safe inside! Beautiful, Geraldine. Thanks for this week’s prompt.

  8. Pingback: lupines for OSI « four winds haiga

  9. Summer and childhood are inextricably linked in my mind too.

  10. The green memories are welcome on this gray day! Lovely.

  11. Hi Barb, I’m glad my words brought such good memories to mind!

    Hi Selma, It is a gorgeous pic, isn’t it? I love the lush, lush green, my fav. color btw.

    Hi Gautami, It is indeed!

    Hi Zoya, You are most welcome.

    Hi Tony, May we never forget them, eh? 😉

    Hi Amais, Welcome and I do agree.

    Hi Sandy C, So true!!! Glad you could use my prompt at OSI, one of my favorite places to visit.

    Hi Carole, This pic and these words help me to take a lovely mind-trip back.

    Hi Christine, Thanks so much.

    I look forward to reading your takes on this prompt. G 🙂

  12. Your bright words remind us, it’s always sweet to recall past joys!

  13. I can see why, it looks so lovely.

  14. how sweet it is to remember such joy!

  15. Boy did I need a great summer’s day, today! Thanks for the lushness of the photo and words…you’re the cat’s pajamas, Geraldine.

  16. i’d nearly forgotten thoughts of ‘lush green’…yours is a beautiful reminder~!

  17. summers indeed hold memories! love how the water washes out in the picture for perfect placement of text.

  18. Hi Deborah, I love recalling so many memories from my childhood. Happy days!!

    Hi Sandy, Thanks Sandy.

    Hi Lissa, I’m glad you enjoyed this post.

    Hi Beth, Alright, the cat’s pj’s 😉 that is one special compliment. The ‘kids’ here approve too. LOL

    Hi Qualcosa, Don’t you just love that term? I was glad to find a way to use it in this poem.

    Thanks so much for stopping by and leaving a comment, G

  19. A timely prompt! Winter has been long and hard. This photo stirs memories and your words write the song.

  20. Such a beautiful pic and haiku. You forget how green the world can become. I thought the tie in of the lush green earth coupled with the green of youth was pure genius! 🙂

  21. beautiful… haikus always bing some calmness with that rhythm. Yours is really lovely 🙂

  22. A beautiful photo can do it every time, carry us away into seasonal delights of days past of those wished for in times ahead. Lovely recall!

  23. Hi Sue, This is such a lush green photo. It truly did inspire my choice of words.

    Hi Ruinwen, Good points there R, thank you!

    Hi Lena, Nice to see you again and thanks so much.

    Hi Ann, Great to see you again too and I do agree.

    Thanks for your continued support, G 🙂

  24. oh geez, those childhood memories of fun and summer… loved your post this week… especially since up north in idaho near the canadian border, it’s been nothing but snow, snow and more snow… tho i did hear the birds singing the other morning… spring is on it’s way!!!…

  25. Thank you Geraldine, for such a challening but seemingly simple prompt. It seems that memories are what we are sharing on this cold winter’s day. Your haiku and photo kindle memories of some of my summer days as a child.
    Thank you again.
    ..

  26. What a lovely haiga. It felt like summer here today — I live outside of San Francisco and it was in the low 70’s — and this just adds to the pleasure of a summery day.

Thank you for your comments!

