My Poetic Path

my journey…shared in poems, prose and photos

(Almost)Wordless Wednesday

11 Comments

“It is always the right time, to do the right thing.”

dscn1193

Last week at the park, this little duck seemed to be watched over by the large geese surrounding him. We can learn a lot from animals about kindness, parenting and doing the “right thing”.

What are your thoughts on this subject? Does virtue always have it’s own rewards? Or does the end sometimes justify the means?

Somedays, it’s very hard to be a person of integrity and principles, isn’t it? Especially when the whole world seems to be playing by another set of rules.

For me, living a life based on honesty and integrity is the part of my character. It’s the way I am and I don’t want to change. Couldn’t if I tried anyways. But sometimes, taking the straight and narrow path can be a very lonely road. 

Author: Geraldine

I am a freelance writer, poet, artisan, avid book/product reviewer and award-winning cookbook author. I recently published the second volume of my new vegetarian cookbook series: -The Groovy Green Kitchen II: Simply, Super, Supper Soups and my fun and inspirational book, all about aging well: -Laughing AT the Grim Reaper! Gems of Wisdom for Aging Well I am also the author of: -The Groovy Green Kitchen: Weeknight Veggie Slow Cooker -Third Chapter, Second Chance (a mid-life romance) -Not Just for Vegetarians: Delicious Homestyle Cooking, the Meatless Way and the poetry collections: -Haiku Reflections:The Four Seasons (Volume i and II) and -My Poetic Path All titles available at Amazon.com, .ca, UK.... When I'm not writing or creating new recipes, I love to knit and crochet; usually with some "help" from feline friend, yarn-loving Mr. Cheddar! I hope you will visit and enjoy all of my blogs.Thanks for stopping by. Wishing You a Happy Week and Namaste! :-)

11 thoughts on “(Almost)Wordless Wednesday

  1. My oldest daughter tells me I’m “brutally honest.” And I suppose she’s right. I just don’t seem to have the “social” ability to manage to pull off a lie! I tell her, “Well, I don’t have to worry what I tell to whom. I tell the same thing to everyone!”
    Brenda

  2. Straight and narrow can be very lonely. Staying the course requires ruthless compassion for yourself–compassion at all costs. Ultimately, I’d rather be alone than acquiescent when the going gets tough.

  3. My husband and I were talking about this the other day. It is a very lonely road to be virtuous, particularly in business, because most people aren’t. We both believe in karma but often it seems to take a long time to come around and people who are unscrupulous often seem to come out on top. However, I continue to believe that leading a virtuous life is the way to go. I love that photo, by the way!!

  4. “For me, living a life based on honesty and integrity is the part of my character. It’s the way I am and I don’t want to change.”

    I am the same, Geraldine. I could not and would not want to change, even though, arround us, people who play by the other set of rules seem to be doing better. But that’s it, maybe these are just appearances, maybe somewhere on another level, even unknown to them, there’s a price to pay…

    I just LOVE the photo! Looks like Daffy Duck! 🙂

  5. I think loneliness is overrated sometimes. We’re only lonely when we compare ourselves to others. To “be yourself” is a virtue in itself. And if you are a person that does good, does it really matter if you find yourself to be the only one that does so? Doing good can be a joyous deed. That is, only if we don’t expect anything in return. And that’s the tough part, sometimes.

  6. I see why this photo caught your eye. Great attitude, Geraldine.

  7. Hi Brenda, You sound like my kind of person! 🙂

    Hi Sandy C, I couldn’t agree more. But sometimes, it is really, really hard. 😦

    Hi Selma, When you’ve “been through the wringer” enough times, watching unscrupulous people getting aways with things that they shouldn’t it really gets draining. But we can’t let the darkness overtake us, can we?

    Hi Vesper, I guess even years later, things do eventually “even out” but at the time, it’s so hard to understand and live through.

    Daffy Duck, I like that!

    Hi Chris, Thanks for your thoughts on this post Chris. If I hadn’t been through a number of incidents where I was “doing the right thing” but watching the wrong people getting ahead or causing me a lot of grief, I guess I could also slough it off. It’s not easy when you are directly involved and being impacted in a negative way. I certainly can understand the beauty of doing a good deed. This goes beyond that though. Again, not everyone playing by the same rules. 😦

    Hi Sandy, I love this photo too. This little guy seemed to be protected by the big geese. 🙂

    Hope you are all having a wonderful week, G

  8. I suppose it would depend on the ends but I think that virtue is not just its own reward. It’s a valuable asset to society that’s been overlooked in the last few hedonistic generations.

    Oh geez. I sound like a crochety old guy yelling at the kids on his lawn. 🙂

    That picture is darling!!

  9. Methinks much can be learned from observing animals … and personally I opt for kindness and personal responsibility … just because.
    Hugs and blessings,

  10. I believe that virtue has its own reward as long as you are not doing it for the reward exclusively. I try to live a life that makes me feel good inside. If you can’t live with yourself then what is the point? Morals, virtues and honor is always the hardest path but anything worth doing is not easy.

  11. Hi Carrie, You could NEVER be an old crochety guy LOL 😉 Your words ring true my friend.

    Hi HR Gal, Animals can teach us so much.

    Hi Ruinwen, Your goodness always shines through R. I am not surprised by your words.

    Thanks so much for stopping in and leaving a comment, G

Thank you for your comments!

