My Poetic Path

my journey…shared in poems, prose and photos

Haiku Reflections:Winter Refuge

10 Comments

winter-haiku-1

This is my first haiku poem created for my Haiku Journal. One of two projects for my: Write A Book Challenge. 

Author: Geraldine

I am a freelance writer, poet, artisan, avid book/product reviewer and award-winning cookbook author. I recently published the second volume of my new vegetarian cookbook series: -The Groovy Green Kitchen II: Simply, Super, Supper Soups and my fun and inspirational book, all about aging well: -Laughing AT the Grim Reaper! Gems of Wisdom for Aging Well I am also the author of: -The Groovy Green Kitchen: Weeknight Veggie Slow Cooker -Third Chapter, Second Chance (a mid-life romance) -Not Just for Vegetarians: Delicious Homestyle Cooking, the Meatless Way and the poetry collections: -Haiku Reflections:The Four Seasons (Volume i and II) and -My Poetic Path All titles available at Amazon.com, .ca, UK.... When I'm not writing or creating new recipes, I love to knit and crochet; usually with some "help" from feline friend, yarn-loving Mr. Cheddar! I hope you will visit and enjoy all of my blogs.Thanks for stopping by. Wishing You a Happy Week and Namaste! :-) You can also visit me at my new author's site: geraldinehelenhartman.me

10 thoughts on “Haiku Reflections:Winter Refuge

  1. A very nice image…I can almost see some critters under there protected from the elements. Beautiful haiku…makes me want to make a cup of hot cocoa. 🙂

  2. Geraldine,
    This reminds me of a walk in the woods a few weeks ago. My friend and I found a plethora of rabbit footprints that led to what were imperceptible passages to safety.

  3. Hiding under snow keeps animals — and humans — warm! A lovely haiku, Geraldine!

  4. Thank goodness for refuge. I heard once that chickadees gather in large groups in hollow trees during severe cold. I guess we never know what we are walking past, or over. I really like this one, Geraldine.

  5. I often worry about the poor little creatures in the extreme cold. I hope they all manage to find refuge. Lovely haiku!!

  6. I love the coziness that a snow shelter provides. So paradoxical that such cold materials can create a place that provides warmth. Just like your blog– despite the chilly winter scenes, it’s always a warm place to visit!
    🙂

  7. This is wonderful. I think it’s just perfect for your first poem in your Haiku Journal.

  8. such a treat to read your work – so uplifting and rich, heartfelt and precise – thank you !!

    re – the book project – sorry for the late response, but I thought I had already replied – busy month…it sounds like a great project but it isn’t really the best fit for how I work, and while I’m always open to trying new approaches I have several projects that I’m immersed in at the moment, so I’m not wanting to take anything else on – thanks so much for thinking of me and I’ll look forward to reading updates – very best energy to you for success with your book projects!

  9. Hi Ruinwen, Can we have wee mini marshmallows to go with!!! 😉

    Hi Sandy, There are hidden homes everywhere in the woods.

    Hi Mary, Thanks so much.

    Hi Sandy L, I’m so glad you did! Thanks Sandy.

    Hi Selma, It was even worse when we lived on the Prairies, so bitterly cold for months there. I worried about pets not taken care of and wild animals too.

    Hi Aine, Aren’t you nice!!!!

    Hi Kayt, Thanks so much K. I totally understand re: book project, I am swamped too.

    Here’s to spring, may it come soon, G

  10. Lovely photo capture and haiku … sorry to be so late in visiting.
    Hugs and blessings,

Thank you for your comments!

