My Poetic Path

my journey…shared in poems, prose and photos

Wild is the Wind

23 Comments

                                    
wild is the wind
pulling down the edges of the day
reaching around corners, distorting 
the air, unguarded and vulnerable
moved beyond it’s usual space
 
wild is the wind
whistling through the trees
scattering the leaves
birds startled, rush for cover
as the crowd below shields eyes
probes the stings of dust
 
wild is the wind
and soon the rain will follow
mixing with the force
pelting down,
an erratic heartbeat
unsettling all in it’s path
              
wild is the wind
             
                                                                                                                                               
***
Photo courtesy of: Flickr
Written for the SES prompt: Wild is the Wind
Author: Geraldine

I am a freelance writer, poet, artisan, avid book/product reviewer and award-winning cookbook author. I recently published the second volume of my new vegetarian cookbook series: -The Groovy Green Kitchen II: Simply, Super, Supper Soups and my fun and inspirational book, all about aging well: -Laughing AT the Grim Reaper! Gems of Wisdom for Aging Well I am also the author of: -The Groovy Green Kitchen: Weeknight Veggie Slow Cooker -Third Chapter, Second Chance (a mid-life romance) -Not Just for Vegetarians: Delicious Homestyle Cooking, the Meatless Way and the poetry collections: -Haiku Reflections:The Four Seasons (Volume i and II) and -My Poetic Path All titles available at Amazon.com, .ca, UK.... When I'm not writing or creating new recipes, I love to knit and crochet; usually with some "help" from feline friend, yarn-loving Mr. Cheddar! I hope you will visit and enjoy all of my blogs.Thanks for stopping by. Wishing You a Happy Week and Namaste! :-) You can also visit me at my new author's site: geraldinehelenhartman.me

23 thoughts on “Wild is the Wind

  1. A stunning piece of poetry. You have captured the sense of wildness that often accompanies the wind as well as a little hint of loneliness that I often feel when the wind strikes. My favourite line is – “Pulling down the edges of the day.” That is a splendid image!!!

  2. You captured that moment when you feel a storm approach beautifully…that shift in nature when the wind becomes “wild”. A very vivid image woven with words. 🙂

  3. Gorgeous. I could see the crowd being blasted and rubbing their eyes from the dust. Great imagery, beautiful poem.

  4. I hear that wind and feel that wind all the time. Beautifully written.

  5. i understand the theme..wind is least wild if not opposed…great 🙂 enjoyed the every bit of it….i like the way the “wild is the wind” was brought in time and again..i really like such poems….i have one of my own favourites similar kind…:)it underlines the theme…
    with love,regards
    -narendra

  6. elegance…pure elegance!
    (((hugs)))

  7. The repetition in this is terrific, the imagery superb. Just before the storm. Lovely, lovely.

  8. “pulling down the edges of the day” I just love that image. Beautiful poem, G!

  9. quiet provoking, I like the repetition, wild is the wind

    “pulling down the edges of the day” – love that line

  10. Nature poems are your gift, among others. Beautiful imagery! XXOO

  11. “wild is the wind
    pulling down the edges of the day”

    Beautiful poem, Geraldine. The repetition creates a dark, obsessive rhythm. Just wonderful.

    *hugs*

  12. I have such a heartbeat right now. Your words are a balm. Thank you, friend.

  13. Hi Selma, You provided an excellent prompt. It was easy to work from there. Thanks for your continued support S!

    Hi Ruinwen, That’s the scene I pictured as I wrote this poem. Thanks R!

    Hi Catherine, Again, I pictured the people below the trees, trying in vain to avoid the dust.

    Hi Patois, What an interesting comment Patois, thanks for stopping in.

    Hi Narendra, Welcome and thanks so much.

    Hi Sallee, Thanks, you are such a sweetie!!! 😉

    Hi Sue, Ahhhh Sue, you made my morning!

    Hi Carrie, Thanks for your continued support dear C!

    Hi Lissa, Thanks Lissa, I appreciate your feedback.

    Hi Tammy, What a lovely compliment, thanks dear friend.

    Hi Vesper, I’m glad it worked V. Thanks so much.

    Hi Sandy C, I don’t know if this is a particularly soothing poem but Im glad you found it to be.

    Your comments mean SO much, thank you, G 🙂

  14. Since I love the wind and all it stirs up in me, I really love this poem! And that barren, rocky ledge fits its perfectly!

  15. pulling down the edges of the day
    reaching around corners, distorting

    Oh my gosh, just wonderful. For me, this is a very passionate piece.

  16. Very nice Geraldine. I could almost smell the impending rain.

  17. Great poem, Grealdine, it reminds me, metaphorically, of the vagaries of life. Thanks, DavidM

  18. You describe the wild wind perfectly there.

  19. Oh pretty! All the elements shine clearly!

    I went with poetry this week too – it was such a poetic prompt. Those words just needed repeating, didn’t they?

    I’ll be over soon with some of my novel – my household has been sick. 😛

  20. evocative – brings me to the pacific ocean in winter – gulls and sand crabs skittering at my feet

    the repetition works quite well – and this line “an erratic heartbeat
    unsettling all in it’s path” is just over-the-top wonderful to me

    thanks for the great read!!

  21. being a firm believer in all things repetition,, i loved this… the wind and the rain,, two things i am becoming all that more accustomed to the last few days….

  22. Hi Kathie, The wind does stir the emotions and the landscape. Glad you enjoyed this work.

    Hi Christine, Seems to be a favorite line for many readers. Thanks C!

    Hi Lauri, Thank you and welcome to MPP! I see your name over at Selma’s quite often.

    Hi David, There are similarities aren’t there? So nice to see you again David. I’ll be over soon to see what you’ve been writing.

    Hi Tony, Thanks so much dear Tony.

    Hi Texas, Sorry to hear about the illness, hope everyone is on the mend. Can’t wait to see what you’ve been writing, come back soon.

    Hi Kayt, You are too kind K! Your feedback means so much.

    Hi Paisley, Sometimes using a repeated line or word in a poem seems to bring it to life. I thought it suited this prompt very well. Thanks Paisley.

    Hope you all have a great weekend, Ill be stopping by your blogs as soon as I can catch up with all the comments. So wonderful to have you all visit, G

  23. Lovely images evoked in this poetic representation of wind accompanying your beautiful photograph! The repetition certainly pulls all the details together … as you remind us of familiar windy experiences in our own lives. Thanks for sharing.
    Hugs and blessings,

Thank you for your comments!

