My Poetic Path

my journey…shared in poems, prose and photos

The 55 Word Story Challenge

12 Comments

I happened to find this site while browsing a writing/poetry contest site recently. Thought I’d give this writing challenge a go. A complete story in exactly 55 words (no more, no less).

My 55 Word Story:
 
 
She lived for Tuesdays. Her day to do with whatever she pleased. A life, diluted so far that this one bright spot in the week was the only thing that sustained her. Another part of getting old. It would be enough. Freedom was like that. Priceless, even if it was doled out in small slivers.   
 
 
This story was inspired by a poem I recently wrote: Fading Memories. I’m including the link  to this poem, in case you missed this one when I first posted it.
                                             
I hope that some of you will also be up for the 55 Word Story Challenge. Do leave a link back to your story if you give this a try.   🙂
Author: Geraldine

I am a freelance writer, poet, artisan, avid book/product reviewer and award-winning cookbook author. I recently published the second volume of my new vegetarian cookbook series: -The Groovy Green Kitchen II: Simply, Super, Supper Soups and my fun and inspirational book, all about aging well: -Laughing AT the Grim Reaper! Gems of Wisdom for Aging Well I am also the author of: -The Groovy Green Kitchen: Weeknight Veggie Slow Cooker -Third Chapter, Second Chance (a mid-life romance) -Not Just for Vegetarians: Delicious Homestyle Cooking, the Meatless Way and the poetry collections: -Haiku Reflections:The Four Seasons (Volume i and II) and -My Poetic Path All titles available at Amazon.com, .ca, UK.... When I'm not writing or creating new recipes, I love to knit and crochet; usually with some "help" from feline friend, yarn-loving Mr. Cheddar! I hope you will visit and enjoy all of my blogs.Thanks for stopping by. Wishing You a Happy Week and Namaste! :-) You can also visit me at my new author's site: geraldinehelenhartman.me

12 thoughts on “The 55 Word Story Challenge

  1. Very nice, G. You managed to tell a complete story which is not easy in 55 words. I really enjoy all the things you write so much!!

  2. i have been writing friday 55 for the last few weeks with the g-man and have really enjoyed that venue.. glad to see it is catching on….

    and i have noticed that the slivers get small er the older i get…..

  3. Wonderful story…captures the moment so beautifully. *snif* 🙂

  4. Wow! I need to give this a whirl. Great job G XXOO

  5. Just wonderful. So touching and resonant. Bravo!

  6. You’re good at capturing big things in small spaces. I remember the poem and you’ve surely shown it here in another style. I’ll check out the 55 site. Thanks.

  7. Amazing. I like this just as well as the poem. I’m starting to feel close to that sad woman!

  8. This is a wonderful prose poem. I know this feeling, and your words give it a shape!

  9. it is a beauty, 55 goes by fast…i remember the previous poem and thought it was really beautiful and the picture was haunting…

  10. Hi Selma, And likewise to you S! I love to stop by and read your latest work. Thanks for your wonderful support.

    Hi Paisley, It was kind of fun actually. To take a story from start to finish in 55 words is no small task. 😉

    Hi Ruinwen, I hear ya dear R, I hear ya. Big hug my friend.

    Hi Tammy, Your story was incredibly beautiful. Happy Anniversary dear Tammy!

    Hi Kayt, You are so kind. Thanks dear Kayt!

    Hi Sue, Thanks Sue. If you take up this challenge, do let me know.

    Hi Sandy, She is taking on a “life” with me too Sandy. Interesting you felt this way too.

    Hi Carrie, Glad you enjoyed this work C!

    Hi Sandy C, Thanks dear friend.

    Hi Pie, I am so glad to read your kind words. Thanks so much.

    I do hope you will share your own 55 word challenge with a link back, if you give this a try. Hugs, G

Thank you for your comments!

