My Poetic Path

my journey…shared in poems, prose and photos

Happy Valentine’s Day!

13 Comments

 

 

Delicate beauty….

 

Brilliant passionate hue.

 

Droplets of tears.

 

Drawing near to us.

 

The sweet scents of summer.

 

 

The bleeding hearts.

 

Capturing the essence of beginnings.

 

Possibilities to ponder.

 

Nature and self, to renew.

 

 

Fragile and fleeting beauty.

 

As with all hearts.

 

Brought to fruition by the deep, warm blood.

 

Slowly seeping;

 

to nourish and sustain.

 

 

The bleeding hearts.

 

Perfectly framed in tender green.

 

Captured for the moment.

 

Once again we savor;

 

their timely, graceful charms.

 

 

 

The Bleeding Hearts © 2008 Geraldine H. Hartman

 

                                                    

 

PS: This is a post from the MPP archives. I thought it was worthy of an encore on this special day. Here’s the link to the original posting, in case you missed this one previously and  want to read the comments left at that time. Sending best wishes and lots of hugs to all my wonderful blog friends.    🙂

Author: Geraldine

I am a freelance writer, poet, artisan, avid book/product reviewer and award-winning cookbook author. I recently published the second volume of my new vegetarian cookbook series: -The Groovy Green Kitchen II: Simply, Super, Supper Soups and my fun and inspirational book, all about aging well: -Laughing AT the Grim Reaper! Gems of Wisdom for Aging Well I am also the author of: -The Groovy Green Kitchen: Weeknight Veggie Slow Cooker -Third Chapter, Second Chance (a mid-life romance) -Not Just for Vegetarians: Delicious Homestyle Cooking, the Meatless Way and the poetry collections: -Haiku Reflections:The Four Seasons (Volume i and II) and -My Poetic Path All titles available at Amazon.com, .ca, UK.... When I'm not writing or creating new recipes, I love to knit and crochet; usually with some "help" from feline friend, yarn-loving Mr. Cheddar! I hope you will visit and enjoy all of my blogs.Thanks for stopping by. Wishing You a Happy Week and Namaste! :-) You can also visit me at my new author's site: geraldinehelenhartman.me

13 thoughts on “Happy Valentine’s Day!

  1. Beautiful Geraldine. The poem AND the photo, I love the way you’ve captured the subtleties of light in the photo. And the delicacy of growth and renewal in the poem. Lovely.

  2. lovely poem, happy valentine’s! I wonder when people started dropping the “saint”, but I guess it didn’t matter…

  3. Warm and charming…Happy Valentine’s Day to you!

  4. Lovely!
    Happy V-Day!
    (((hugs)))

  5. Beautiful! Perfect for Valentine’s Day … wishing you a lovely weekend.
    Hugs and blessings,

  6. Hi Cat, I wish I could take credit for the photo but it’s from Flickr. Isn’t it gorgeous, I loved the light and delicate look of the hearts. Glad you enjoyed this one.

    Hi Lissa, It was Saint Valentine’s Day, wasn’t it? A nice thought. Ill have to read about this saint.

    Hi Sue, And to you too, dear Sue.

    Hi Sallee, Hugs back friend! 😉

    Hi Storyteller, I hope you are having a great weekend too. It’s snowing here.

    Hugs and wishing you all a great week, G 🙂

  7. Dear Geraldine–
    I know how those little bleeding hearts feel–just get bloomed out and bam–the freeze comes along! Have to get tougher…wiser…

    This was beautiful–thanks for the smile!!

  8. What a great poem! Hope your Valentine’s was beautiful! 🙂

  9. This is Loveley Geraldine!

    Both in words and visually.

    The poem so rich in imagery and the emotion you weaved delicately to the picture gave it life, made it you. Like a flower taking form in human flesh, you gave it a heart, you gave it your soul through your poetry.

    I’ve never seen such a flower – the color is simply captivatings and those teardrop as you describe them are like liquid beads that comes from the delicate heart, so fragile, I don’t want to touch and break them with my careless hands.

    I wish you well.

    ~ Jeques

    Postscripts:

    Thank you very much for continually frequenting my web nook even during my absent. My writing life brought me to some different directions and it is always great to try our hands on different genres of writing. I’ve been busy writing lately for a Filipino celebrity, something that I’ve never done before, but its fulfilling. – Thanks.

  10. Hi Beth, But isn’t part of their beauty in how delicate and fragile they are? I love bleeding hearts, one of my fav flowers.

    Hi Ruinwen, I hope yours was too dear R!

    Hi Jeques, How wonderful to read a comment from you again. Sounds like things are on the upswing for you, I am so glad. You looked so happy in your recent post photos. Keep up the good work with your writing and do stop by when you can. I’ll continue to visit you too.

    Hugs, G

  11. That was simply breathtaking G.

  12. just beautiful! – I hope your Vday was filled with love!

  13. To Tammy and Kayt, Thanks so much. You are both such special people.

    Hugs, G 🙂

Thank you for your comments!

