My Poetic Path

my journey…shared in poems, prose and photos

Haiku Reflections: Prairie Crocus

18 Comments

prairie-crocus

Original photo courtesy of: Flickr

Author: Geraldine

I am a freelance writer, poet, artisan, avid book/product reviewer and award-winning cookbook author. I recently published the second volume of my new vegetarian cookbook series: -The Groovy Green Kitchen II: Simply, Super, Supper Soups and my fun and inspirational book, all about aging well: -Laughing AT the Grim Reaper! Gems of Wisdom for Aging Well I am also the author of: -The Groovy Green Kitchen: Weeknight Veggie Slow Cooker -Third Chapter, Second Chance (a mid-life romance) -Not Just for Vegetarians: Delicious Homestyle Cooking, the Meatless Way and the poetry collections: -Haiku Reflections:The Four Seasons (Volume i and II) and -My Poetic Path All titles available at Amazon.com, .ca, UK.... When I'm not writing or creating new recipes, I love to knit and crochet; usually with some "help" from feline friend, yarn-loving Mr. Cheddar! I hope you will visit and enjoy all of my blogs.Thanks for stopping by. Wishing You a Happy Week and Namaste! :-) You can also visit me at my new author's site: geraldinehelenhartman.me

18 thoughts on “Haiku Reflections: Prairie Crocus

  1. Such a pleasant feel to this – wish I was there so the sun could warm ME. πŸ™‚

  2. I can hardly wait for that day. Beautiful photo and warming words.

  3. How I would love to see a prairie crocus. Just gorgeous!

  4. Greetings – Nice site you’ve created! I came by to say hi …and to invite you to stop by Image & Verse for a visit, or just to say hello.
    …rob

  5. Your photo this morning made my heart go into a little flip flop of ecstacy…spring is coming. The earth knows…

    Thank you, dear Geraldine–

  6. Yes, Spring is coming. Life is starting to stir. There is a lovely feel to this. :)I have seen the odd yellow or purple crocus.

    xx Carole

  7. Simple and effective. I can feel the sunlight warming the world. Thanks, DavidM

  8. This is a prairie crocus in all its glory accompanied by such insightful words. A big of sigh of longing was said here, G.

  9. Which is the beauty of life and light together. A beautiful poem, Geraldine!

  10. Love the line “spring emerges in soft hues”…so beautiful! πŸ™‚

  11. Hi Texas, Sounds like a great plan!

    Hi Sue, Glad it brought warmth to your day Sue.

    Hi Selma, They are such beautiful yet simple flowers. Not showy like the rose but beautiful none the less. I love their soft mauve color.

    Hi Rob, Nice to see you again. Your new blog is wonderful, well done.

    Hi Beth, The earth gets ready for another spring, what magic! πŸ˜‰

    Hi Carole, I haven’t so far, lucky you!

    Hi David, The great thing about haiku, every word must count. Glad you liked this work.

    Hi Christine, I was happy with this haiku and loved the photo. What would I do without Flickr? I try to pick photos there that have not received a lot of interest or comments but are good all the same. This photo stood out when I did a search for: Prairie crocus.

    Hi Sandy, Thanks dear Sandy, much appreciated.

    Hi Ruinwen, One of the magical aspects of spring, such soft pastel colors to start off earth’s awakening. Love it!

    Thanks to all of you for your continued support, much appreciated, G

  12. Ah, I’m waiting for that time to come here. Been a long Winter.

  13. I wonder how long until we will see crocus here? Lovely spring flower and poem.

  14. You make me yearn for spring with your words. We have been covered in snow, power outages and snow filled satellite dishes. lol We are feeling great and enjoying the snow, thanks! XXOO

  15. Hi Tony, It has been a long winter here too but I’ve enjoyed the large piles of snow we had, if only for a short while. I love winter and except for the driving really enjoy cold, crisp days. Much preferred to too hot! NOT for me. 😦

    Hi Sandy, I love the Prairie Crocus, such a delicate flower, gorgeous pale mauve. Not showy as I’ve said before but beautiful in a special way. Always remind me of Easter’s past. πŸ™‚

    Hi Tammy, I am so glad to read that you are all well. Sorry to read about the power outages etc. So strange to imagine all this in CA. Thanks for your lovely comments tonight and always.

    Hope that the spring weather arrives in your different areas soon, Hugs, G

  16. oh, I wish the crocus were up here. I am longing for spring so much this year – really nice πŸ™‚

  17. Lovely find … beautiful haiku ;–)
    Hugs and blessings,

  18. Pretty haiku and photo!

Thank you for your comments!

