My Poetic Path

my journey…shared in poems, prose and photos

Thoughts at Twilight

27 Comments

dscn1152

                           
Twilight…
The day, whispers: “goodbye”
As the earth turns towards.
Another horizon.
                      
The sun sinks slowly past.
The brilliant cobalt line.
Day returns to Night until…
Night returns to Day.
                           
To capture this moment.
Recorded in memory; suspended in time.
The beauty, the sadness.
Often, an empty place.
                           
If such beauty can exist.
If only for the blink of an eye.
How can our inspiration fail us.
Or fail, to bloom?
                                 
Awestruck, lost in the majestic colors.
The magic skies.
Heavenly music for the senses.
Between the day and the oncoming night.
                                                     
Sienna skies, crimson red, glorious hues.
Lovingly burnt to perfection.
We stop and stare.
For a moment, lost in prayer.
                       
Our twilight times.
Life, the years, the dreams.
Passed but not lost.
Beyond this horizon.
                    
Twilight…
 becomes you.
And will, be come…
you.
 
    Thoughts at Twilight:Poem and photo © 2008        
 Geraldine H. Hartman
                   Reprinted from the MPP archives                 
Submitted for the OSI Feb. 22nd prompt:
Author: Geraldine

I am a freelance writer, poet, artisan, avid book/product reviewer and award-winning cookbook author. I recently published the second volume of my new vegetarian cookbook series: -The Groovy Green Kitchen II: Simply, Super, Supper Soups and my fun and inspirational book, all about aging well: -Laughing AT the Grim Reaper! Gems of Wisdom for Aging Well I am also the author of: -The Groovy Green Kitchen: Weeknight Veggie Slow Cooker -Third Chapter, Second Chance (a mid-life romance) -Not Just for Vegetarians: Delicious Homestyle Cooking, the Meatless Way and the poetry collections: -Haiku Reflections:The Four Seasons (Volume i and II) and -My Poetic Path All titles available at Amazon.com, .ca, UK.... When I'm not writing or creating new recipes, I love to knit and crochet; usually with some "help" from feline friend, yarn-loving Mr. Cheddar! I hope you will visit and enjoy all of my blogs.Thanks for stopping by. Wishing You a Happy Week and Namaste! :-)

27 thoughts on “Thoughts at Twilight

  1. Dear Geraldine–
    Really beautiful photo–
    Loved the poem as well, especially the line ‘passed but not lost’. That is what I am learning with my heart these days, that nothing is ever lost. Only recycled…it’s a green universe, so to speak!

    Many thanks–and many hugs!

  2. Lovely ruminations on the meanings of ‘twilight’ !

  3. Your poem paints a beautiful picture of that magic gloaming time.

  4. The way this becomes almost personal is magic.
    Marvellous.

  5. How beautiful — both the poem and the photo. You capture perfectly the sense that it is the very ephermeral nature of twilight (and life) that gives it such intense beauty. Bravo.

  6. I have missed coming here. Good to be back.

  7. To stop and stare is to pray, to be sure. Beautiful poem, Geraldine.

  8. Hi Beth, You bring up a good point. Everything is recycled isn’t it? Including us? 😉 Our spirits go on and on…. A lovely, reassuring thought.

    Hi Deb, I’m so glad you enjoyed this work!

    Hi Pam, It is a magical time of day isn’t it? Nice to see you again Pam.

    Hi Tony, Thanks dear Tony, really appreciate your kind words.

    Hi Sue, I try. Thanks Sue. Your kind words mean a lot.

    Hi Susan, Glad you stopped in.

    Hi Sandy C, Sometimes nature is so awe-inspiring it just stops us in our tracks. I hear you.

    So nice to read your comments. Thank you, G

  9. Hi G,

    “Awestruck” is exactly the word…sunset often takes my breath away, too! What a vivid and beautiful tribute you wrote to the end of the day!

    Huggs,
    M

  10. Very thought provoking and beautiful photography. I especially liked the last line “twilight becomes you and will be come you”. That’s exactly how twilight makes me fee.

  11. A very peaceful, thoughtful take on the prompt, G. Many thanks. I remain awestruck as well…

  12. I felt like I was bathing in that sunset. Beautiful poem, I love the last line…

  13. Another beautiful poem equating nature and life. “The brilliant cobalt line” is such a magical phrase. 🙂

  14. Twilight comes alive in your words and photo. Nicely done!

  15. Thank you G for this beautiful poem on twilight. XXOO

  16. ..“ the brilliant cobalt line”- a beautiful insight into twilight..many thanks..

  17. this feels like quite the journey. beautiful.

  18. lovingly burnt ` like toast from a child

  19. Hi Michelle, Thanks so much dear M!

    Hi Laurieluc, Welcome to MPP and thanks for your comment.

    Hi Christine, This poem makes me feel peaceful when I re-read it. Thanks C.

    Hi Catherine, I love the wording of your comment too Cat, bathing in the sunset…beautiful!

    Hi Ruinwen, I love the color cobalt blue; I was glad I could incorporate it in this poem.

    Hi Sue, I’m glad this came through! Thanks Sue.

    Hi Tammy, You are most welcome dear T.

    Hi Zoya, Nice to see you again Zoya and thanks so much.

    Hi Floreta, It does have it’s journey, doesn’t it?

    Hi Kitehorse, Welcome and glad you enjoyed the poem.

    I appreciate your visits and comments very much, thank you, G 🙂

  20. Thanks for the reality check, you paint such a spiritual scenario here – one that I usually, almost always miss. Oh to capture that moment, just once…

    Nicely worded!

    The NaisaiKu.. Challenge!

  21. Pretty. You had me with the day whispers goodbye!

  22. Wow, you’ve given so many reasons as to why I love twilight. Fabulous words to go with that gorgeous photo.

  23. “Twilight…
    becomes you.
    And will, be come…
    you.”

    Excellent writing- beautiful photo as well! Thanks!

  24. You’ve captured all the colours of sunset… and the promise of sunrise…
    Beautiful!
    xoxoxo

  25. Hi Sweet Talking Guy, Nice to see you again and glad you found my poem enlightening (no pun intended). 😉

    Hi Sandy, I like that line too.

    Hi Patois, You are so kind. Thanks Patois.

    Hi Patti, Welcome and thanks so much.

    Hi Vesper, Thanks dear V!

    I will be stopping by to read all your works with this wonderful prompt,G

  26. What I like about this the most is the tone of sadness that pervades most of the poem, but I don’t mean sadness in a negative way, more in a revelatory way as we acknowledge the passing of the day and all that comes with that. It is an accepting kind of sadness. Quiet. Just like twilight. Beautiful!!

  27. ‘the brilliant cobalt line’ that’s just exquisite! lovely poem – what I love most about it is the cyclic reality of nature/life that is portrayed here, the ease of coming and going and coming back that I feel – really well done – bravo!! thanks for the gorgeous read 🙂

Thank you for your comments!

