My Poetic Path

my journey…shared in poems, prose and photos

Simple Pleasures: “Little Events”

12 Comments

dscn1131

Read this interesting post  today, over at one of my favorite blogs: Selma in the City, celebrating the “little events” in life that make up our days and shape our lives. Truer words were never spoken. Thanks for the inspiring words Selma!

Thought I’d focus on some of the day to day (ordinary) events that make me happy, make me smile and perhaps light up an otherwise difficult or mundane day. In no particular order, here are 10 of my favorite “little events” . Here goes…

* Giving someone a hug (even if it’s a cyber-hug) or sharing a kind word when a person looks down or in need of someone to listen. This is always a joy to me.

*Stepping outside to enjoy the first blast of a crisp winter day. The freshness that cannot be beat. Wonderful and refreshing!

*Enjoying a long, lingering soak in the tub after a tiring day.

*Waking up to a day off to do absolutely what I feel like doing, throughout the day. Reading a good book, cooking up a “storm” or just daydreaming.

*Finding that perfect word or turn of phrase that completes a written work that I am happy with and proud to have written. Or reading a blog post that I truly enjoy at one of my favorite blogs. That happens a lot! So many inspiring blog buds that I have met that I am so grateful to interact with. Thank you all.

*Enjoying playtime with “the kids” Mr. Cheddar and “Ms. Mitzi. Watching them and enjoying their every move always brings a smile to my face and helps to ground me when I’m stressed.

*Going for a long walk and experiencing all the colors, scents and beauty of nature. Flowers, birds, lakes and streams… and savoring all the senses that this experience engages.

*Getting some unexpected good news via the phone, email or snail mail. Cheques are included.  😉

*Talking to small children and enjoying through their eyes the wonders of the world that we so often miss. Priceless.

*Savoring the end of the day, enjoying a glorious sunset. Preferably with someone I love!

What are some of the “little events” that make you happy?

Author: Geraldine

I am a freelance writer, poet, artisan, avid book/product reviewer and award-winning cookbook author. I recently published the second volume of my new vegetarian cookbook series: -The Groovy Green Kitchen II: Simply, Super, Supper Soups and my fun and inspirational book, all about aging well: -Laughing AT the Grim Reaper! Gems of Wisdom for Aging Well I am also the author of: -The Groovy Green Kitchen: Weeknight Veggie Slow Cooker -Third Chapter, Second Chance (a mid-life romance) -Not Just for Vegetarians: Delicious Homestyle Cooking, the Meatless Way and the poetry collections: -Haiku Reflections:The Four Seasons (Volume i and II) and -My Poetic Path All titles available at Amazon.com, .ca, UK.... When I'm not writing or creating new recipes, I love to knit and crochet; usually with some "help" from feline friend, yarn-loving Mr. Cheddar! I hope you will visit and enjoy all of my blogs.Thanks for stopping by. Wishing You a Happy Week and Namaste! :-)

12 thoughts on “Simple Pleasures: “Little Events”

  1. what a day it has been for appreciation of the little things that speak to us in this life.. it was certainly my pleasure to drop in here today..

  2. These were wonderful G. I have so many tiny little events each day that make me smile. Even though my days are quiet the events are there. I might give it a whirl. XXOO

  3. How wonderful to read about these “little” things, Geraldine! Yes, we all have them in our lives even if we often fail to recognise them… Thank you!

    xoxoxo

  4. You are so right – we need to look at all the beauty around us. The “little” things capture my heart strings more than the big things. Lovely post – thank you!

  5. Thanks for sending me over to meet Selma In The City. A truly remarkable post she had written! I really enjoyed it. And yours as well. As I enjoy many of the things you mentioned. Also love your precious kitties. Watching kitties, that too is a small pleasure I savor. I love listening to my coffee perking its way toward completion. I love the sound of water fountains, rain, and thunder. The birds singing in the trees and calling to one another. A butterfly landing on a flower. All small wonders; no less remarkable. Oh, and blogging friends!
    Brenda

  6. Hi Paisley, Your comment sounds so upbeat Paisley, wonderful to read!

    Hi Tammy, I’m sure you do, dear Tammy! And you are a bright spot in my day, when I stop by your lovely blog.

    Hi Vesper, I think it’s a good thing to recognise how important the “little events” really are. Selma reminded me of that yesterday, thanks S!

    Hi Nancy, Welcome to MPP and so true what you have said. They do make up the fabric of our lives, don’t they?

    Hi Brenda, What a wonderful list you’ve shared and so glad you stopped by Selma’s place too. Yes, she is a very talented writer, I do agree.

    Hugs to all of you, G 🙂

  7. My favorite simple pleasure is standing at the window with a cup of coffee while the sun rises. Oh, and another. Sunday afternoon on the sofa, with a good book.

  8. One of my pleasures is reading your blog, definitely. I also love getting up with nothing planned and the possibilities to be had stretching out before me. Oh, and I mustn’t forget a nice cup of tea!!!

  9. A wonderful “relaxing” post. I too love to soak in a hot tub and do it once a week. I also love to go to knit night at Starbucks…it makes the week end in such a happy way. But I think my favorite thing of all has to be snuggling in with DH and son on a Sunday morning when we don’t have to be anywhere and I can just enjoy being blanketed in their company. 🙂

  10. I love having a non-plan day, it’s so stressful trying to complete a list of things or planned events and it’s always nice to be outside when the weather is good

    I can’t think of anymore than that, my brain just can’t handle thinking at the moment, maybe later when I wake up, though it’s thursday as I write this, I’m more of a friday person

  11. Hi Sandy, And what a gorgeous view you have judging by the photos you’ve shared.

    Hi Selma, Ahhhh Sel, you are such a sweetie! Right back atcha…re: your blog! 😉

    Hi Ruinwen, What lovely times to share with all of us R, thanks dear.

    Hi Lissa, I am a “list” person and do make an effort on DO’s NOT to write a list of any kind. Its a tough habit to break. 😦

    Thanks for stopping by, always love to read your comments, G

  12. Such a beautiful list G. Thank you for sharing this – what a wonderful idea – I think I’ll do a post like this sometime soon! Really calming read – thanks & hugs!! 🙂

Thank you for your comments!

