My Poetic Path

my journey…shared in poems, prose and photos

Hearth and Home: Comfort Foods

10 Comments

Isn’t it amazing how we crave certain foods/recipes when we are feeling stressed, sad or out of sorts? I’d have to chose as my all-time fav. comfort recipe: Homemade Mac and Cheese (with a generous dollop of salsa or stewed tomatoes on the side, natch). 😉

This is my version of the family favorite from: Not Just for Vegetarians and I’ve included the recipe at the end of this post. Do let me know if you give it a try. 

What is your favorite comfort food and/or recipe?  And please do link to your recipe if possible so that we can all enjoy it! 🙂

YUMMMMMMY MAC AND CHEESE, WITH A TWIST

Delicious, satisfying and oh so good. Serve with stewed tomatoes or  salsa  to top this satisfying ‘comfort food’ entrée. You’ll never settle for KD again!!!!

Serves 6-8.

3 C. uncooked pasta, preferably whole wheat or multi-grain  (try a new shape-spirals, wagon wheels, shells, penne etc..…)

2 T. butter or margarine

 2 medium onions, diced

3 stalks celery, diced

1 small red or green pepper, diced

3 T. unbleached flour OR 1 1/2 T. cornstarch

2 C. milk

1-10 oz. can cream of mushroom soup

1-2  T. Dijon mustard (to taste)

1 ½ C. shredded sharp Cheddar cheese (no subs.)

2 T. finely chopped fresh  parsley

 1-2  teas. crushed dried thyme leaves (to taste)

¼-1/2  teas. freshly-ground pepper, to taste

In a large cooking pot, cook the pasta in a large quantity of boiling salted water until tender, about 10 minutes. Drain thoroughly and set aside.

Preheat oven to 350. Grease a large (8C.) casserole dish and set aside.

 In the same cooking pot (saves on dishes) that pasta was cooked in, melt butter over medium heat. Add the diced onions, green or red pepper and celery and sauté for 5 minutes. Reduce heat to low, add flour and stir to coat vegetables. Add the milk, mushroom soup and mustard, continuing to stir until sauce is smooth and thickened. Add cheese and continue to stir until cheese is melted. Remove from heat.

Combine the pasta, parsley and seasonings with the sauce. Pour into prepared casserole dish.

Cover and bake for 40 minutes. Remove lid from casserole for last 5 minutes of baking time.

Recipe adapted from: © Not Just for Vegetarians by Geraldine Hartman.

Author: Geraldine

I am a freelance writer, poet, artisan, avid book/product reviewer and award-winning cookbook author. I recently published the second volume of my new vegetarian cookbook series: -The Groovy Green Kitchen II: Simply, Super, Supper Soups and my fun and inspirational book, all about aging well: -Laughing AT the Grim Reaper! Gems of Wisdom for Aging Well I am also the author of: -The Groovy Green Kitchen: Weeknight Veggie Slow Cooker -Third Chapter, Second Chance (a mid-life romance) -Not Just for Vegetarians: Delicious Homestyle Cooking, the Meatless Way and the poetry collections: -Haiku Reflections:The Four Seasons (Volume i and II) and -My Poetic Path All titles available at Amazon.com, .ca, UK.... When I'm not writing or creating new recipes, I love to knit and crochet; usually with some "help" from feline friend, yarn-loving Mr. Cheddar! I hope you will visit and enjoy all of my blogs.Thanks for stopping by. Wishing You a Happy Week and Namaste! :-)

10 thoughts on “Hearth and Home: Comfort Foods

  1. I so want that. It looks yummy and a half!

  2. I love mac n cheese that I used to make it at least every other week! But my version seems way too rich I feel guilty everytime I eat it. I might give yours a try here pretty soon. Thanks for sharing, G!

  3. That looks absolutely delicious. My favourite comfort food is roast chicken with mashed potatoes, gravy and lots of veg. Always cheers me up. The chicken has to be organic and free range. I also like scrambled eggs with lots of buttery toast and fresh chopped chives. Mhmmmm.

  4. That looks so yummy and comforting! Nothing says “comfort food” to me like cream of potoato soup. I make it fresh and then people can “load” it just like a baked potato with bacon, spring onions, cheese, or whatever they desire. 🙂

  5. OMG G!!!!! that sounds so incredibly deliscious.. the one bad thing about living alone,, is i will eat the whole dang thing!!!!! but oh how comforting it would be to do so!!!!!!!!

  6. That mac ‘n’ cheese looks totally comforting! Me, I like just about anything warm and full of bad carbs!! Or chocolate. Or popcorn. Or…

  7. There is something about comfort foods that soothes the soul. I veganize comfort foods because I think there are definately times that the soul needs an embrace.

  8. Hi Sandy C, It IS yummy and a half! 😉

    Hi Chris, You should give my recipe a try then. Very yummy and not too rich (at least compared to some recipes I’ve noted).

    Hi Selma, Mashed, oh so creamy potatoes….yummmmmmmmm! 😉

    Hi Ruinwen, I love potato soup too.

    Hi Paisley, It is tempting to “pig out” when the food is good. Been there, done that, I hear ya P! 🙂

    Hi Deborah, Why are all the carbs so delish? Not fair, not fair at all. 😦

    Hi Gemma, I try to do that as well with a lot of my traditional recipes.

    Hi Cat, Tastes even better than the pic Cat!

    Happy cooking and hope you are all having a great week, G

  9. Oh my … that looks DELICIOUS ;–)
    Hugs and blessings,

Thank you for your comments!

