My Poetic Path

my journey…shared in poems, prose and photos

MPP’s First Blogiversary!

22 Comments

Yes, this week marks the 1st Blogiversary of My Poetic Path!

What a wonderful journey it’s been so far. Best of all, meeting so many talented, kind and caring new blog friends along the way. You have all been such a source of inspiration and support to me. I won’t mention anyone in particular as I’d probably forget someone. And I am so pleased that my readership continues to grow, every week.

Suffice to say, I am honored to know each and every one of you. Your presence in my life is a gift.

And, by way of giving a small gift back to all of you…

No, I haven’t found a way to share a piece of cake via the Internet! What I have done is to share a recipe for a delicious Zucchini-Chocolate Cake recipe from Not Just for Vegetarians at the end of this post. Ummmm,there’s one piece left in the fridge here so I just might join you, indulging a bit. Heh, it’s my Blogiversary!  😉

Many hugs and here’s to another great year together!

Photo courtesy of: Flickr

PS: Write a Book Challenge  update for March, coming up later this week. 

Recipe for: Zucchini-Chocolate Cake (see next page)

THE BEST ZUCCHINI-CHOCOLATE CAKE

This is a recipe that I got from a friend and it is by far the best Zucchini- Chocolate cake I’ve ever had the pleasure to taste. Moist, oh-so-chocolatey and delish!  Easy to make in a matter of minutes. Can be made in a bundt-shaped pan, if you want it too look extra special. No icing required!

¼ C. butter or margarine (Earth Balance works well) at room temp.

½ C. vegetable oil

¾ -1 C. light brown or raw sugar (to taste)

2 large eggs, beaten (preferably free-range)

1 teas. vanilla

½ C. buttermilk

2 ¼ C. unbleached white flour

4 T. unsweetened cocoa powder

½ teas.EACH baking powder, baking soda, ground cinnamon, and sea salt

¼ teas. ground nutmeg

2 C. finely grated zucchini

½ C. chocolate chips

Preheat oven to 325. Grease and flour a 9” x 13” cake pan or large bundt pan. In a large mixing bowl, cream together the butter, vegetable oil, sugar and eggs. Add the vanilla and buttermilk and stir to combine thoroughly.

 

Combine remaining ingredients in another bowl and gradually add to first mixture, stirring well.  Pour batter into prepared cake pan and bake 45 minutes or until knife inserted in center of cake comes out clean. Cool thoroughly and enjoy!  🙂 

Author: Geraldine

I am a freelance writer, poet, artisan, avid book/product reviewer and award-winning cookbook author. I recently published the second volume of my new vegetarian cookbook series: -The Groovy Green Kitchen II: Simply, Super, Supper Soups and my fun and inspirational book, all about aging well: -Laughing AT the Grim Reaper! Gems of Wisdom for Aging Well I am also the author of: -The Groovy Green Kitchen: Weeknight Veggie Slow Cooker -Third Chapter, Second Chance (a mid-life romance) -Not Just for Vegetarians: Delicious Homestyle Cooking, the Meatless Way and the poetry collections: -Haiku Reflections:The Four Seasons (Volume i and II) and -My Poetic Path All titles available at Amazon.com, .ca, UK.... When I'm not writing or creating new recipes, I love to knit and crochet; usually with some "help" from feline friend, yarn-loving Mr. Cheddar! I hope you will visit and enjoy all of my blogs.Thanks for stopping by. Wishing You a Happy Week and Namaste! :-)

22 thoughts on “MPP’s First Blogiversary!

  1. Happy Blogiversary and many more! My how time flies when you’re having fun. And the cake , it’s delicious.

  2. Happy Blogiversary! Has it really only been a year? Wow. That cake sounds delish! 🙂

  3. I always thought you were writing this blog for a long while rather than just a year, I think you’re a natural writer and blogger and certainly one of the nicest people I’ve met though not in person

    now if only I know how to cook, then I would definitely try to make that cake!

    happy, happy blogiversary!

  4. My party hat is on and I’m blowing my blower. Congrats G, the pleasure is all ours. CHEER to many more! HUG

  5. My party hat is on and I’m blowing my blower. Congrats G, the pleasure is all ours. CHEERS to many more! HUG

  6. Congratulations, my friend!

  7. Wishing you many more happy blogging years. You are a kind, generous, wonderful person and a great writer to boot. You certainly cast a shining light on the blogosphere. Yay. It’s a great day!!!!

  8. Happy Blogiversary! I am glad to have met you, too. And, I will be glad to eat cake in your honor. Looks like a good recipe.

  9. Hi Joe, The pleasure has been all mine. MPP has been a wonderful journey so far.

    Hi Ruinwen, I was surprised too, noting the date a couple of weeks ago. The cake is delish! 😉

    Hi Lissa, Ahhh, you are too kind dear Lissa. Thank you for your lovely compliments. It’s how I feel about the kind of person you are too.

    Hi Tammy, Hope you add some cake to the celebrations too! Wish I could come by and bake one for you dear T!

    Hi SandyC, OSI and MPP almost share a blogiversary date, I am in SUCH good company. 😉 Thanks for hosting your wonderful prompt blog with Andree. You’ve inspired me to write so many, many times.

    Hi Selma, You are the shining light Selma. A trip to your blog always makes my day. Your kindness shines through all of your well-written posts.

    Hi Sandy, I’m so glad I found your two blogs. Your photography continues to blow me away along with your poetic words. Do try the cake, it’s wonderful and so easy to make.

    Wishing you all a wonderful week, Happy Blogging, G 🙂

  10. Many congrats, G. That is a milestone. Thanks for the yummy looking recipe. Are we having Book Challenge this week?

  11. Yay!!!

    Warm wishes on your first blog anniversary!!

  12. Happy, happy blogiversary! I had mine in December. Fun way to make friends, isn’t it?
    Brenda

  13. Happy blogiversary!! Doesn’t the time go fast when in the company of such virtually wonderful people? I’m one month shy of starting my fourth year and it feels like just yesterday. Wish I had a piece of cake. I’ll send this recipe to daughters who cook, just in case. Thank you!

  14. Oh, Happiest of Birthdays to you!! And I am so very happy to have found you here. Visiting MPP is always the highlight of my week. I always leave inspired and uplifted. You and this site are a blessing to the web world. Thank you for this wonderful site and for being your sharing genuine self 🙂 Hugs upon Hugs!!

    p.s. saw your note – not trying to be scarce, just a pretty full plate…thanks for caring

  15. Happy Blogiversary!!!
    (((Hugs)))

  16. Hi Christine, Thanks for your kind words. I am working on the Write a Book Challenge post for March, should be up in the next couple of days.

    Hi Jason, Thanks so much!

    Hi Brenda, It certainly is. What wonderful people I’ve met via MPP and Veggies…

    Hi Sue, Do let me know how you/your daughter likes the cake. And thanks so much for your continued visits to MPP.

    Hi Kayt, And stopping by the Pedestrian Crossing is always a highlight of my week. You’ve made my day with your lovely sentiments. Thanks K!

    Hi Sallee, Hugs back to you dear Sallee.

    Thanks so much for stopping by, G

  17. Happy Anniversary, Geraldine!
    Happy Anniversary, Geraldine!
    Happy Anniversary, Geraldine!
    Happy Anniversary, Geraldine!
    Happy Anniversary, Geraldine!
    Happy Anniversary, Geraldine!
    Happy Anniversary, Geraldine!
    Happy Anniversary, Geraldine!
    Happy Anniversary, Geraldine!
    Happy Anniversary, Geraldine!

    That is all the better I can sing, I was asked to leave a church choir a long time ago because the choir director said my ear was bad. The other church didn’t tell me that, in fact I was singing there in the men’s chorus and the choir.

    I think I’d like your cake, it has to be at least as good as carrot chocolate cake. We could have a party real quick, this weekend. Save some for us (please). 🙂

    I came to get your link for credit for OSI this weekend, I have something and since I’m so under the gun lately this might be it. I did edit some more this afternoon. Thank you.

    and, “Happy Anniversary, Geraldine!” again,
    ..

  18. Happy Blogaversary, G!!! I can’t believe MPP has been online for a whole year already! Where does the time go?!

    Warm hugs and Congratulations! 🙂

  19. Happy, happy blogiversary! Thanks very much for all the wonderful reads.
    DavidM

  20. Hi Jim, Ahhhh…how nice! Can you sing that again. 😉 Your comments always make me smile.

    Hi M, Yes, a whole year, amazing to me too. Thanks for your visits M, always appreciated.

    Hi David, I am honored to read your lovely comment.

    Hugs and wishing you all a wonderful weekend, G

  21. Happy Blogiversary, Geraldine! You and OSI started up about the same time! A very happy coincidence!

  22. The recipe sounds delicious! Happy Belated Blogiversary ;–)
    Sorry I’ve not been around much lately. Between having my sister in town and being ill for several weeks, I’ve fallen behind. Today I’m doing what I can to catch up.
    Hugs and blessings,

Thank you for your comments!

