My Poetic Path

my journey…shared in poems, prose and photos

Haiku Reflections: Fork in the Road

32 Comments

fork-in-the-road-haiku3 

My suggestion: Fork in the Road” was chosen as the OSI March 8th prompt.

Also included as part of my: Write a Book Challenge (Haiku Journal)

Photo and Haiku poem © Geraldine H. Hartman

Author: Geraldine

I am a freelance writer, poet, artisan, avid book/product reviewer and award-winning cookbook author. I recently published the second volume of my new vegetarian cookbook series: -The Groovy Green Kitchen II: Simply, Super, Supper Soups and my fun and inspirational book, all about aging well: -Laughing AT the Grim Reaper! Gems of Wisdom for Aging Well I am also the author of: -The Groovy Green Kitchen: Weeknight Veggie Slow Cooker -Third Chapter, Second Chance (a mid-life romance) -Not Just for Vegetarians: Delicious Homestyle Cooking, the Meatless Way and the poetry collections: -Haiku Reflections:The Four Seasons (Volume i and II) and -My Poetic Path All titles available at Amazon.com, .ca, UK.... When I'm not writing or creating new recipes, I love to knit and crochet; usually with some "help" from feline friend, yarn-loving Mr. Cheddar! I hope you will visit and enjoy all of my blogs.Thanks for stopping by. Wishing You a Happy Week and Namaste! :-) You can also visit me at my new author's site: geraldinehelenhartman.me

32 thoughts on “Haiku Reflections: Fork in the Road

  1. I am struck that you have the summer sun renewing, aiding the decision that must be made at the fork in the road, because I often associate sunlight with the power to make a positive decision, perhaps to go with one’s heart. Very nice, G.

  2. Lovely photo and image, my friend.

  3. excellent motif switch classical ~!!

  4. Geraldine, great minds run in the same vein. I had a helper in each poem help me decide, one was mechanical, the other my beloved.
    I like your sneaking up on the fork bit. So did you take the sunny path if there was one?
    ..

  5. Lovely. Just a wonderful poem and prompt.

  6. wonderful lines…excellent!!

  7. Dear Geraldine–
    This is such a lovely photo!
    And the haiku left me with a sigh and a desire to know more about the choice made…
    Love!

  8. Nice words for a most serene picture.

  9. I smiled when I was your photo and read your haiku. We chose a similar path this week!

  10. I smiled when saw your photo and read your haiku. We chose a similar sunny path this week!

    Sorry, to re-do my comment. I saw my mistake and noticed that I keyed in my email wrong too, because my avatar didn’t show up!

  11. ..imaginative prompt..beautiful thoughts..many thanks indeed..

  12. ..imaginative prompt..beautiful words..many thanks indeed..

  13. So very lovely. Wonderful haiga. It does seem like a peaceful decision to make.

  14. Indeed…there are always choices to be made in life and the decisions made can have deep results.

    I like your offering of the Prompt this week.

  15. Geraldine, I’m so sorry. Especially about the missnomer, I knew it was “My Poetic Path” but for some reason I missed it big time. (At least the link worked.)
    Your ‘fork in the road’ prompt is perfect for the “My Poetic Path” poetic writings. 🙂
    ..

  16. That spot makes the choice look easy! Very nice verse!

  17. Nicely done, G. The key word for me is “ponder”… one path to take, two choices, endless possibilities. Thank you for the idea of the prompt this week.

  18. I like the photo so much, because it reminds us that there is often little to distinguish the alternative paths in our lives at the point they diverge — both are so pleasant and sunny. The poem also suggests to me, that regardless of the path chosen, we can seek renewal — in this case from the summer sun.

  19. I think sometimes of the “forks in the road” of my life. Chances that were not taken. Mere coincidences. I try not to regret too much. Wasteful. I wonder how much time it took before I diverged onto the path taken. Probably often it was mere seconds! And totally changed my life.
    Brenda

  20. Hi Selma, I had just logged in last night with the thought of changing that last line. And there was your lovely and thoughtful comment. Line two was changed, line three remained as it was. Thanks Sel!

    Hi Sandy C, So glad you liked it!

    Hi Kite, Thanks so much.

    Hi Jim, Don’t we always try to take the sunny path? Sometimes it’s hard to decide though.

    Hi Jeeves, I am so glad you liked the poem and my prompt too.

    Hi Dreamer, Welcome and thanks so much.

    Hi Beth, Choices: do they ever end? Not in this life I’m guessing.

    Hi Tony, It’s not the prettiest pic but there’s something about it that makes me feel calm and serene, just looking at it.

    Hi Barb, We did indeed! Headbonks to G and G from the kids here.

    Hi Patois, Thank you for your kind words, much appreciated.

    Hi Maggie, I so agree. Glad you liked my prompt suggestion.

    Hi again Jim, No prob…I just happened to note the wrong name,

    Hi Deborah, It was a path we use to run along almost everyday in a large city park. How lovely that was!

    Hi Christine, I love that word, ponder. It seemed fitting to be used here.

    Hi Sue, As with Selma’s comments, I’m so glad that the sun reference rang true. Thanks Sue!

    Hi Brenda, Some paths do change the course of life forever, don’t they? We must tread carefully (when am I going to learn that) 😦

    Hugs and thanks so much for your comments and visits, G

  21. Hi Zoya, Your comment got stuck in the spam file. 😦 Many thanks for your kind words.

    Hugs, G

  22. This week prompt was very interesting … gave me a lot to think about and I couldn’t chose a path.

    But I like the choice of “summer’s sun renews” because that’s a choice nature makes .. and I accept. Winter seem to have been harsh on many fronts.

    OSI’s poets really chose some amazing photos to display with their poetry.

  23. Lovely photo and superb words – summer’s sun renews offers such an inspiring vision. Thank you for the prompt!

  24. A beautiful photo and words to remind that every decision starts with a choice. Another wonderful gem Geraldine. 🙂

  25. Also love a good path choice. Nicely done, Geraldine.

  26. i too would follow the sun!!!

  27. The sun would change perspective and therefore choices.

  28. Very nice Geraldine..the summer sun to renew-

  29. lovely G – the renewing sun so perfect!! in sync with so much – love your haiku as usual 🙂

  30. Hi Amias, Welcome to MPP and thanks so much!

    Hi Sue, Thank you for your kind words. I’ m so glad you enjoyed the prompt.

    Hi Ruinwen, Thanks for your continued support dear R! 🙂

    Hi Sandy, It’s always a decision though, isn’t it?

    Hi diBello, The sun is so warming and welcoming, isn’t it?

    Hi Tammy, Thanks friend!

    Hi Spacedlaw, A good point! Glad you could stop by.

    Hi KP, Welcome and thanks so much.

    Hi Kayt, Ah, dear Kayt, what would I do without your lovely words to inspire me again and again. I am so glad we’ve met via Selma’s lovely blog. You are a gem.

    Hugs and thanks so much for stopping in, G

  31. amazing picture and beautiful words… they go so wonderfully together!

Thank you for your comments!

