My Poetic Path

my journey…shared in poems, prose and photos

Farewell. Fare Thee Well…

26 Comments

                                                                       
When we say “farewell” to someone we love, do we ever truly consider the thought that it might be the last time we get to say that parting word, to them?
 
What would it mean to say this sad but hopeful word, knowing that it would be the last time to…look into the eyes of a beloved spouse, parent, sibling or friend? To go forward, from that moment, without them?
 
Stop for a moment and contemplate this very difficult and sad scenario.
                                    
Then take the time to appreciate and honor, every special and ordinary reason that makes you love that particular person.
                                    
Perhaps…the one-of-a-kind way they laugh (and how they laugh at even your worst jokes).
                                        
The way the light plays up the angles of their face, as the sun sets on a sandy, glorious beach.
                                                    
Breathing in their unique and memorable scent.
                                       
In the case of a spouse; waking up to feel their warmth close beside you. To know that you are not alone to face the challenges of another day. To know that someone in this world truly cares what happens to you.
                                           
Maybe it would just be to remember how every day was better and brighter, because they were close by and had shared a part of your life.
                      
The next time you say “farewell” to someone you love, say it like you really, really mean it. Say it like it’s the last time (even though it almost certainly isn’t).
And wish them a heartfelt “fare thee well” as you kiss/hug them good-bye.
                       
GHH
                                                    
Written for the OSI prompt for March 15th: Farewells
Photo courtesy of: Caroline Brown/Flickr
Author: Geraldine

I am a freelance writer, poet, artisan, avid book/product reviewer and award-winning cookbook author. I recently published the second volume of my new vegetarian cookbook series: -The Groovy Green Kitchen II: Simply, Super, Supper Soups and my fun and inspirational book, all about aging well: -Laughing AT the Grim Reaper! Gems of Wisdom for Aging Well I am also the author of: -The Groovy Green Kitchen: Weeknight Veggie Slow Cooker -Third Chapter, Second Chance (a mid-life romance) -Not Just for Vegetarians: Delicious Homestyle Cooking, the Meatless Way and the poetry collections: -Haiku Reflections:The Four Seasons (Volume i and II) and -My Poetic Path All titles available at Amazon.com, .ca, UK.... When I'm not writing or creating new recipes, I love to knit and crochet; usually with some "help" from feline friend, yarn-loving Mr. Cheddar! I hope you will visit and enjoy all of my blogs.Thanks for stopping by. Wishing You a Happy Week and Namaste! :-)

26 thoughts on “Farewell. Fare Thee Well…

  1. This prompt got me to thinking how beautiful and heartfelt the love is in this old word. It is beautiful. And it comes from a time when every parting could have been a last one. It’s worth thinking about. You captured this so well, so sweetly, in your reflection. Thanks, Geraldine.

  2. By the way, the OSI prompt published. It didn’t do it by itself at midnight, though it was set to. Just though I’d mention it in case you want to add your name to Mr. Linky.

  3. important thoughts, we’d all do well to remember. Thanks, Geraldine.

  4. I like the structure of this prose-poem. Insightful thoughts here, G… thoughts made in backward glance. Those are sometimes hard.

  5. Dear Geraldine–
    Your post and mine are like bookends of favorite books…
    I hope you enjoy mine as much as I enjoyed yours. Saying each fare-thee-wells with heart and conciousness would change our world(s).

    Love and big hugs back to you–

  6. I don’t think we can ever be reminded of this too often. Beautiful entry for this prompt!

  7. Sigh. Made me more than a bit teary as I’m in the middle of the final break-up with my significant other. And he is most definitely one of a kind, with a lot I’ll miss. (That’s what the sadness is about in my prompt response this week.) Thanks for these thoughts.

  8. This was so beautiful..so many things crossed my mind here. The photo just highlights this-

  9. How true is is that we never know when the farewell will be the last time we will ever get to speak to a person while living on this planet.

    I was blessed in a way that is almost unblieveable to most people but I had a daughter who was killed by a drunk driver and when I returned home from her death after spending 6 mos in a hospital…She came to me.

    One time!

    Just to reassure me she was OK and I heard her speak as clear as I had ever her her talk in the past.

    I have never seen her again or even dreamed of her but I still miss her.

    She was 11 years old.

  10. Hi Sandy C, Some of the “old” words are the best. They ring true and seem to convey more emotions, evoke more memories perhaps? Thanks Sandy.

    Hi Sue, I need to keep these thoughts in mind, every single day.

    Hi Christine, Always harder, after the fact, isn’t it? Good point C.

    Hi Beth, Your post was so touching, so beautifully written. What a tribute you have given to your loved ones.

    Hi Deborah, Thanks so much for your kind words.

    Hi Patricia, I am SO sorry to read of your loss. It is tragic that people we love sometimes don’t stay in our lives, for whatever reason. Hugs to you dear.

    Hi Kilauea, Welcome and thanks so much. I loved this photo. To me it said, “after the farewell” . Nothing quite so solitary as a snow-filled park on a quiet day, by yourself. Been there…

    Hi Maggie, I had quite a cry after reading your comment. I am so glad your dear daughter was able to stop by to let you know she was doing fine on the other side. But I am so saddened by your unbearable loss. Knowing that loved ones are safe and happy after they pass is (in my opinion) the one thing that makes death bearable. She was blessed to have you for a mom, that I can tell for sure.

    Wishing you all a wonderful week, G

  11. Lots of wisdom and good advice here…wonderful post!

  12. A wonderful reminder G. I really enjoyed your Tanka below. XXOO

  13. It’s true. You just never know when it’s going to be the last time you see someone. Having so many relatives in the UK while I am in Australia has meant that certain times have been my last with some of them. But I didn’t know it at the time. The saying – the tyranny of distance – is definitely a true one. You have made me reflect today on what is important.

  14. My friends Mom just passed this morning and she was able to be there to say, “Good bye.” It makes you want to hug your family closer.

    Beautiful words Geraldine and so true. I never leave a friend without a hug. Just like I never sign off without a smile. *hugs* 🙂

  15. A beautiful reminder – we forget that change comes in a sudden flash and at any second. Wonderfully written!

  16. I just spoke to my mom, Geraldine. She is nearly 85, and not in good health. Each time I call her, I know it might be the last. She knows too. We have had some precious visits in these last months.

  17. That’s a wonderful sentiment. Growing up as a cop’s kid we were always very aware that it was entilrely possible Dad wouldn’t be coming home at night, but that’s true of everyone, isn’t it?

  18. very, very wise words…i thought them every single time i saw my daddy in his last days…yes, every farewell should be wrapped in love

  19. Hi FP, Glad you could stop by and thanks so much!

    Hi Tammy, Thanks for your continued support dear friend.

    Hi Selma, This was a reminder to myself as well. I hear ya Sel, I hear ya…

    Hi Ruinwen, I am so sorry to read about your friend’s loss but I am glad she was able to tell her goodbye. So sad….

    Hi Sue, Life can change in seconds and forever, can’t it? So very, very true.

    Hi Sandy, Cherish every moment with your mom Sandy. I miss my mom, every single day. 😦

    Hi Carrie, What a stressful life that must have been. I can only imagine the worry you must have lived with.

    Hi Qualcosa diBello, Oh so sad but I’m glad you were with him.

    Thanks so much for stopping by. Sending a big hug to all of you. You are all treasured blog friends to me. G

  20. G, this was indeed a very thought provoking post, and speaks to the very heart of saying farewell …

  21. Oh, Geraldine, this is exactly what I needed at this moment. Thank you! *many hugs*

  22. Yes, yes, yes! I learned this lesson so well when working in nursing homes. I don’t like saying goodnight without “I love you.” And I am always aware of the last words spoken when someone is leaving for a trip or an extended time.

  23. Oh, G! This is so sad. I can’t count the times and people I’ve said “farewell” to. Too many to be right, indeed.

  24. Geraldine, oh, I can’t stop thinking the last time I asid
    farewell to my father. I whispered in his how much I loved him but it did not help for I knew I would never again speak to him.
    Your poem is so true and it hurts.
    Well done.

    love-bd

  25. My rebuttal:
    “Don’t cry for me Argentina
    The truth is I never left you
    All through my wild days
    My mad existence
    I kept my promise
    Don’t keep your distance”

    I.e, “it’s okay.” But I will remember your words, yes any good-bye could be the very last. Thank you.
    ..

  26. Hi Amias, Thank you so much; I’m glad my words rang true.

    Hi Vesper, I am so glad to read this. Thanks V!

    Hi Aine, I can relate to your comment so well. Enough said…a very hard subject to dwell on for me.

    Hi Chris, So nice to “see” you Chris. Ill stop by soon.

    Hi Melanie, Your comment touched my heart. Hugs to you dear.

    Hi Jim, Good advice Jim, thanks.

    Your comments and feedback are always appreciated, thank you. G

Thank you for your comments!

