My Poetic Path

my journey…shared in poems, prose and photos

Let It Go!

21 Comments

when….
*life deals yet another 22
*dark days of despair become the norm
*sunshine has left the sky; silver linings hard to find
*no one seems to notice when you  do the “right” thing
*the bills arrive on time; THE cheque doesn’t
*when a friend betrays a confidence
*a family member let’s us down
*when someone else gets the promotion
*dinner is a disaster, in spite of  best efforts
*another “winner” chosen for the contest
*when someone you care about is hurt for no reason
*the newspaper stuns with a front page of doom/gloom
*the bank account seems to have dwindled overnight.
*the will to try just once more is just not there…
LET IT GO!
*a perfect 21 is also in that deck 
*it is always darkest before the dawn
*the sun always shines, who needs a lining! 
*YOU always knows you’ve done the “right” thing
*the bills can wait one more day, the cheque IS in the mail
*maybe they weren’t that good of a friend after all
*forgive and forget is easier than bearing a grudge
*the job might not be the best for you upon closer scrutiny
*be thankful for food on the table and a second chance
*another contest is out there and it is YOURS
*to be sensitive to  those in need is a gift. give it, often
*what about the “feel good” stories. they are there too
*feel blessed to have a bank account with any money in it 
*the best way to begin, is to begin; inspiration will follow
***
Inspired by the SES prompt for Friday March 20th: Let it Go
Author: Geraldine

I am a freelance writer, poet, artisan, avid book/product reviewer and award-winning cookbook author. I recently published the second volume of my new vegetarian cookbook series: -The Groovy Green Kitchen II: Simply, Super, Supper Soups and my fun and inspirational book, all about aging well: -Laughing AT the Grim Reaper! Gems of Wisdom for Aging Well I am also the author of: -The Groovy Green Kitchen: Weeknight Veggie Slow Cooker -Third Chapter, Second Chance (a mid-life romance) -Not Just for Vegetarians: Delicious Homestyle Cooking, the Meatless Way and the poetry collections: -Haiku Reflections:The Four Seasons (Volume i and II) and -My Poetic Path All titles available at Amazon.com, .ca, UK.... When I'm not writing or creating new recipes, I love to knit and crochet; usually with some "help" from feline friend, yarn-loving Mr. Cheddar! I hope you will visit and enjoy all of my blogs.Thanks for stopping by. Wishing You a Happy Week and Namaste! :-) You can also visit me at my new author's site: geraldinehelenhartman.me

21 thoughts on “Let It Go!

  1. You made me cry with this one, G. I always cry when I see true goodness and generosity of spirit in action. I know you are experiencing some dark days at the moment and yet you can write something like this. WOW.

    I really relate to being sensitive to those in need. I am a helper by nature. Sometimes it feels like a burden (because there are so many people in need) but if I regard it as a gift, it suddenly seems easier to bear.

    What would I do without you? You’re like my very own life coach all the way over in Canada. XXX

  2. yes, words to follow or even live by, not always easy, I like the positive words of the second part, very encouraging

  3. Well said 🙂 and so true.

  4. This is lovely, and a wonderful reminder to take a deep breath and another step forward.

  5. Dear Geraldine–
    This was just what I needed today! Thank you, as ever…

  6. Hi Brenda, Well said Brenda!

    Hi Selma, Ahhhh…how nice you are. An absolute mutual admiration society happening between us. 😉 What would I do without you???

    Hi Lissa, I wanted to give the sunnier side to each of these “disasters” right down to the yellow colored type. Glad you enjoyed it L!

    Hi Mia, Nice to “see” you again Mia.

    Hi Ms. Karen, Ill be referring back to this list myself on bad days.

    Hi Beth, How kind you are Beth, thank you.

    Wishing you all a very sunny week (in the best possible sense) 😉 G

  7. Thank you this is the “hope” I needed to make it through this week. You are always such a beacon of love and light. 🙂

  8. So uplifting! Very nice. I love how the positive stanza is “fatter” than the negative. There is more good to be had!

  9. The prettiest prose to an “if-then” I’ve ever read.

  10. You knew I’d love this G. HUGS

  11. Wonderful and inspiring as always G – such a perfect post for times that seem to have each of us challenged in some way or another. All the things here are so critical to always remember, so helpful for me at least. Thank you!!! & many hugs!

  12. Hi Ruinwen, Ahhh…you are so sweet dear R! Thanks for making my day. I’m glad I can help in any way. Hang in there…

    Hi Aine, Good observation Aine. I didn’t think of that before. I did use black and yellow for obvious reasons though, in terms of text color. 😉

    Hi Carrie, Thanks Carrie, for your continued support.

    Hi Tammy, Didn’t know but glad you did Tammy.

    Hugs and hope all is well, G 🙂

  13. Hi Kayt, Your comment showed up after I submitted mine. Thank you again and again for your continued support and insightful comments, it means so much.

    Hugs dear K, G

  14. Excellent poem, Geraldine, it has a positive message that is both universally perennial and pertinent to the current times. It reminded me of Rudyard Kipling’s IF

    IF

    If you can keep your head when all about you
    Are losing theirs and blaming it on you,
    If you can trust yourself when all men doubt you
    But make allowance for their doubting too,
    If you can wait and not be tired by waiting,
    Or being lied about, don’t deal in lies,
    Or being hated, don’t give way to hating,
    And yet don’t look too good, nor talk too wise:

    If you can dream–and not make dreams your master,
    If you can think–and not make thoughts your aim;
    If you can meet with Triumph and Disaster
    And treat those two impostors just the same;
    If you can bear to hear the truth you’ve spoken
    Twisted by knaves to make a trap for fools,
    Or watch the things you gave your life to, broken,
    And stoop and build ’em up with worn-out tools:

    If you can make one heap of all your winnings
    And risk it all on one turn of pitch-and-toss,
    And lose, and start again at your beginnings
    And never breath a word about your loss;
    If you can force your heart and nerve and sinew
    To serve your turn long after they are gone,
    And so hold on when there is nothing in you
    Except the Will which says to them: “Hold on!”

    If you can talk with crowds and keep your virtue,
    Or walk with kings–nor lose the common touch,
    If neither foes nor loving friends can hurt you;
    If all men count with you, but none too much,
    If you can fill the unforgiving minute
    With sixty seconds’ worth of distance run,
    Yours is the Earth and everything that’s in it,
    And–which is more–you’ll be a Man, my son!
    –Rudyard Kipling

    Cheers,
    David

  15. Geraldine what a perfect approach to life! Thanks!

  16. Hi David, Thanks for sharing this classic poem here. And your complimentary words about my work, always appreciated.

    Hi Lauri, Now if I can just remember all these – into + when a bad day rolls around. 😉 Thanks!

    Thank you for stopping in, G

  17. THANK YOU!

    “the best way to begin, is to begin” – I love this!

    *hugs*

  18. Well said, Geraldine. We don’t need to walk around with the stuff we don’t like clamped in our fists. Better to let it all go!

  19. I’ve been my very now life coach ra ra ra cheerleader all my life, and now that everything hurt so much, How lucky I am to have found you. Thanks my dear, dear G.

  20. Hi Vesper, Ironically, that saying came up in my novel today! How’s that for timing? 😉

    Hi SandyC, Indeed. I couldn’t agree more. Great description Sandy.

    Hi Lorraine, My dear friend. I wish you lots of happiness to come. And it will. The clouds WILL pass. Ya gotta listen now if I’m your new life coach, right! 😉 Lots of hugs.

    Thanks for stopping by, G 🙂

Thank you for your comments!

