My Poetic Path

my journey…shared in poems, prose and photos

Are you “IN” for Earth Hour?

6 Comments

   In case you haven’t already signed up (or perhaps heard about, which is unlikely) Earth Hour, here’s the link to the official worldwide website. 

Joe and I are happy to be participating in this important global event again this year on Saturday evening at 8:30 local time.

How gratifying to see more and more cities, organizations and individuals  getting involved this year. As it always seems to be the case eventually, little steps multiplied by millions of people, can and do end up making real and sustainable changes actually happen. If we sit and wait for the politicians to make any real committment or MOVE forward with an actual plan (not just study after study…) in terms of turning around this worldwide crisis, we might not actually have a world to protect or live in. At least judging by what’s been going on here in Canada. 😦 

 Here’s to a greener earth, because we all voted collectively for something better.Our own daily actions, choices and decisions do count, even if it just starts by switching off a light.  🙂 

Author: Geraldine

I am a freelance writer, poet, artisan, avid book/product reviewer and award-winning cookbook author. I recently published the second volume of my new vegetarian cookbook series: -The Groovy Green Kitchen II: Simply, Super, Supper Soups and my fun and inspirational book, all about aging well: -Laughing AT the Grim Reaper! Gems of Wisdom for Aging Well I am also the author of: -The Groovy Green Kitchen: Weeknight Veggie Slow Cooker -Third Chapter, Second Chance (a mid-life romance) -Not Just for Vegetarians: Delicious Homestyle Cooking, the Meatless Way and the poetry collections: -Haiku Reflections:The Four Seasons (Volume i and II) and -My Poetic Path All titles available at Amazon.com, .ca, UK.... When I'm not writing or creating new recipes, I love to knit and crochet; usually with some "help" from feline friend, yarn-loving Mr. Cheddar! I hope you will visit and enjoy all of my blogs.Thanks for stopping by. Wishing You a Happy Week and Namaste! :-)

6 thoughts on “Are you “IN” for Earth Hour?

  1. I’m disappointed in the lack of advertising of this event! Yes, I heard about it. But only because an aquaintance forwarded an email to me. Seems our neighboring township (here in Pennsylvania) is taking part, but those of us who practically live across the street have heard nothing about it… 😛

    I hope it grows in size (globally) this year!

  2. We RSVP’d already. HUG

  3. I will definitely be participating. It’s very important. My son also enjoys getting out all the candles.

  4. I’m in for my second year!

  5. Hi Aine, Now you have, I hope you and Jason and your family will be participating. They are hoping for 1 billion participants this year, wow!

    Hi Tammy, Great to read Tammy!

    Hi Selma, I only found out today that the first Earth Hour in 2007 was ONLY in Sydney, Australia. Now it’s worldwide but how great that your home was the host of the very first event. Re: candles, watch for the paraffin varieties though, apparently NOT eco-friendly and rather toxic too. 😦

    Hi Sandy, So glad you are participating Sandy. I’m still spreading the word, as much as I can.

    Hugs, G

  6. Oh jeez, I had heard about it but I hadn’t realized it was last Saturday night! I’m pretty sure I had the TV going and was knitting by the light of my lamp. ;( Oh well. Next one.

Thank you for your comments!

