My Poetic Path

my journey…shared in poems, prose and photos

April is ME month!

16 Comments

How’s that for a catchy title LOL! 

I have a birthday coming up in April (yes, 39 again) and instead of dreading yet another candle on the cake this year (pause… for a big sigh…)I’ve decided to make the next 30 days a positive experience in terms of how I feel about myself, especially physically.

Sad to admit, I’ve “let myself go” for too long now, in terms of not exercising regularly. And yes, indulging in a bit more food than might have been healthy, on too many days. One of the few downsides of being a better than average cook, I guess LOL !  😉

Anyhoo…here’s the plan.

For one month, I am going to consistently and mindfully focus on taking better care of myself. Not in a narrow, structured fashion ( I don’t believe diets work in the long term). But I will have a few ground rules to help keep me on track:

* Start each day with a protein smoothie. I find when I do this I feel better, eat less during the rest of the day and have more energy.

*Portion control. That’s one of my biggest downfalls. It will still taste great tomorrow, right?  And isn’t that’s what fridges are for….LOL!

*Exercise at least 6 out of the 7 days of the week. I plan to vary the choices for activities but I will aim for at least 30 minutes a day.

*Have at least one “treat” planned just for me, for every day in April. Perhaps something as simple as taking a long, relaxing soak in the tub complete with a facial and manicure. Maybe just allowing myself a couple of uninterrupted hours of working on a craft. Spending an afternoon at the park, writing poetry and taking photos. The main focus will be the “mindful” aspect. Really being in the moment, savoring the time for me and not feeling guilty about it.

So there, in a nutshell is my gift to myself for the month of April. Nothing can be done about another birthday coming and going but I think it’s high time that I started celebrating this passage in a lot more positive light.

 And I really do think that if I start by just focusing for one month of making some better choices, that I just might be able to achieve a few important but lost somewhere along the way personal goals, throughout the  rest of the year.

And we all need “nuture” time, don’t we? Whether we take/plan for it or not.

I’ve recently been inspired by several bloggers who are working on their own fitness plans for spring. Perhaps I will in turn inspire some of my readers too. I hope so.

Wish me luck!  🙂

Photo courtesy of : Flickr. I wish this was our bathtub though. Ours is sooooo ho-hum and just plain ordinary. Not worth taking a photo of !!!

Author: Geraldine

I am a freelance writer, poet, artisan, avid book/product reviewer and award-winning cookbook author. I recently published the second volume of my new vegetarian cookbook series: -The Groovy Green Kitchen II: Simply, Super, Supper Soups and my fun and inspirational book, all about aging well: -Laughing AT the Grim Reaper! Gems of Wisdom for Aging Well I am also the author of: -The Groovy Green Kitchen: Weeknight Veggie Slow Cooker -Third Chapter, Second Chance (a mid-life romance) -Not Just for Vegetarians: Delicious Homestyle Cooking, the Meatless Way and the poetry collections: -Haiku Reflections:The Four Seasons (Volume i and II) and -My Poetic Path All titles available at Amazon.com, .ca, UK.... When I'm not writing or creating new recipes, I love to knit and crochet; usually with some "help" from feline friend, yarn-loving Mr. Cheddar! I hope you will visit and enjoy all of my blogs.Thanks for stopping by. Wishing You a Happy Week and Namaste! :-)

16 thoughts on “April is ME month!

  1. Geraldine, this is an inspirational post. I belong to the dreading each added year brigade (and don’t they come round quickly).

  2. I know of women who celebrate the entire month of their birthday. And since it comes but once per year, I say “Yeah, that’s how I’m gonna do it now!” I’m lax about my exercise. If it doesn’t have a gardening task attached to it, I don’t want to do it. Thus, I’m sitting here with aching back! You go, girl! And have a Happy Birthday Month!
    Brenda

  3. happy early birthday if I don’t remember to stop by, I wish I can do the same but I just can’t seem to discipline myself

    I hope you achieve your goal!

  4. Good luck and happy me month!

  5. I’m wishin’ ya luck – I pretty much posted a similar thought today 🙂

    And Happy Birthday! Be good to yourself 🙂

  6. This is wonderful G! What a great idea – positive focus on mindful care of one’s self. This is such a great inspiration – I hope you don’t mind if I swipe some of the idea to help keep me focused on pretty much all the same stuff.

    Hope your birthday month is glorious and filled with wonderful ME energy – you certainly deserve it 🙂

    Hugs – and thanks for the nice hiatus wishes. I’ll be posting again soon.

  7. Happy Birthday Geraldine! A great plan, I think I will join you on it.

  8. Happy birthday month, G!

  9. Happy Birthday month, G!! Sounds like an excellent birthday present.

  10. Hi Carole, Good description but I am trying not to dread so much now… 😦

    Hi Brenda, It just came to me the other day. Nice to hear that other women you know also celebrate their birth month for a whole month. Great trend coming… 😉

    Hi Lissa, It’s day 1 today and so far, so good. I want to get fit, feel better, find ME time so maybe it won’t be so hard for a month.

    Hi Patois, Thanks so much!

    Hi Mia, I liked your post too. Thanks Mia.

    Hi Kayt, You always make my day dear Kayt. Thank you so much for your kind wishes. I’d be honored if you “swiped” an idea or three. 😉

    Hi Sandy, Good to hear Sandy! Best of luck.

    Hi Beth, Thanks Beth.

    Hi Carrie, I kinda like it myself. Thanks Carrie.

    Wishing you all a wonderful week with plenty of ME time! G

  11. HI G,

    Happy Birthday Month!

    You’ve got some great ideas there! What a great gift to YOU!

    I heard that a fellow lost weight by playing the sports games on a Wii, so I’ve started that too, have been playing for about a week now. I play for an hour a night, and include the games of golf, tennis, bowling, and baseball. I’ll let you know if it works! 🙂

    (As soon as it warms up outside, I want to start walking an hour a day.)

  12. Happy Birthday to Come. Good luck and God bless you on these challenges. You can do it!

  13. Wishing you a wonderful birthday month. You really deserve a bit of pampering. Great idea. I may just follow suit.

    Love the new blog look, by the way. Very clean and fresh!

  14. I do wish you luck.. It is very easy to fall off the path of taken care of ourselves when we are trying to clear the path of lifes curves balls. I keep telling myself I must start exercising again and it has not yet happened. But I really want to try and get into it again. Maybe we can help eachother as you said with inspiration…

    And happy April Birthday..

  15. Hi Michelle, I kinda thought you’d like this post. 😉 I am really, really enjoying my ME month so far. I feel so focused in the last couple of days. I also feel better, cutting down on food portions.

    Hi Sandy, Thanks dear Sandy! I’m sure going to try.

    Hi Selma, I think it’s something we all need, to focus on ourselves more. I have “let myself go” sadly with not enough time to take care of feeling good about myself and also time to just “chill”. I plan to make a real effort to continue to do better in these areas, after April is over. I highly recommend you follow some of these ideas too. You deserve some quality ME time, so very much.

    Hi Gemma, Nice to see you again and I hope I’ve inspired you too.

    Hugs and Happy Friday, G 🙂

  16. I’ve been a slacker! Happy birthday month G. Bloglines makes me think I commented when I read it. 😉

Thank you for your comments!

