My Poetic Path

my journey…shared in poems, prose and photos

Are you listening?

22 Comments

                                                 
To listen.
To truly and totally..
listen.
How often do we think:
It’s the other person’s fault.
They aren’t listening.
They refuse to “tune us in”.
Shutting out what they don’t want to hear.
Or chose to ignore.
But it’s a two-way street.
This listening game.
A lifelong pursuit of perfected and harmonious communication.
Can it be done?
Is it something that we can sustain?
Does the answer lie in the words from our lips?
Or from the ears that selectively hear?
To listen.
To REALLY listen.
Worth the effort.
To be there.
Fully engaged.
In the moment.
 Listen…
Can you hear it?
***
Written for the April 5th OSI prompt: Listening
Photo courtesy of: Flickr
Author: Geraldine

I am a freelance writer, poet, artisan, avid book/product reviewer and award-winning cookbook author. I recently published the second volume of my new vegetarian cookbook series: -The Groovy Green Kitchen II: Simply, Super, Supper Soups and my fun and inspirational book, all about aging well: -Laughing AT the Grim Reaper! Gems of Wisdom for Aging Well I am also the author of: -The Groovy Green Kitchen: Weeknight Veggie Slow Cooker -Third Chapter, Second Chance (a mid-life romance) -Not Just for Vegetarians: Delicious Homestyle Cooking, the Meatless Way and the poetry collections: -Haiku Reflections:The Four Seasons (Volume i and II) and -My Poetic Path All titles available at Amazon.com, .ca, UK.... When I'm not writing or creating new recipes, I love to knit and crochet; usually with some "help" from feline friend, yarn-loving Mr. Cheddar! I hope you will visit and enjoy all of my blogs.Thanks for stopping by. Wishing You a Happy Week and Namaste! :-) You can also visit me at my new author's site: geraldinehelenhartman.me

22 thoughts on “Are you listening?

  1. It is one thing to listen and entirely another thing to hear.

    Well done.

  2. ” Listen…
    Can you hear it?

    A lifelong pursuit of perfected and harmonious communication

    Shutting out what they don’t want to hear “_

    the deep rooted question of sensitivity..many thanks for sharing this..

  3. Love this. So much sense – and sadly almost impossible to achieve all the time.

  4. What a great pair! The poem is such a wonderful exploraton, full of gentle wisdom, and then the photo of the Q-tips – briliant visiual playfullness!! Love this!

  5. Fascinating questions! I too liked the wink of the photo. These are all queries we could pose each morning upon wakening.

  6. valuable thoughts, well put.

  7. I’m hearin’ you, sister!

  8. How clever, the photo you chose to go with this! I always think my husband doesn’t hear much of what I say. And even when he does, he hears it “the wrong way.” In other words, gets the intent of the words different than how I meant them. Such is the world of marriage and “incommunication!”
    Brenda

  9. Indeed, I can hear it, Geraldine. So very beautiful. Learning to listen is a beautiful treasure.

  10. great call for action. i truly have a hard time listening but i’m working on it..

  11. One would think that listening would just ‘be’. Who would have thought it would be so difficult to do? I love this piece –

  12. Love the photo. Wonderful wise poem.

  13. I agree with Maggie. I am guilty of listening, but not hearing. But as I grow older, I find this situation correcting itself. But then again, all things looks good in hindsight.

    This was indeed thought provoking, G. Thanks.

  14. Listening truly is an art which only the privileged few can master. To truly listen one needs to be able to walk in another’s shoes.

    Your wisdom and goodness shine through in this remarkable poem. I am going to listen more avidly from now on, so I can really hear!

  15. Hi Maggie, There in a nutshell is my whole poem. Thanks Maggie!

    Hi Zoya, Glad you could stop by!

    Hi Tony, I hear ya Tony, I hear ya. 😉

    Hi Deborah, I happened upon this photo, thought it was a good choice albeit not what I had pictured initially. Glad you liked both.

    Hi Christine, I’m trying harder…

    Hi Sue, Thanks Sue.

    Hi Beth, Glad you are Beth!

    Hi Brenda, I hope Joe isn’t reading this. I understand what you are saying Brenda. One of my few complaints about him. Sometimes he is nodding along, seems to be listening to me and then reacts in a totally different way than expected. Oh welll…..I certainly have plenty of faults myself. 😦

    Hi SandyC, Thanks so much dear Sandy!

    Hi Floreta, Glad you could stop by and thank you. LOVE your new avatar photo.

    Hi Sue, Thanks so much, glad you do.

    Hi Raven, Great to see you again and thank you.

    Hi Jeeves, Thanks so much Jeeves.

    Hi Amias, I am working on improving in this respect too.

    Hi Selma, Glad my words have been an inspiration. Yours continue to be for me, every day.

    Hugs and wishing you all a wonderful week, G

  16. fully engaged in the moment…I love your poem. Thanks for sharing.

  17. I tell you what, with slurred speech, I can peg a bad listener a mile a way. It’s important and a gift we need to exercise. Well done!

  18. this is just wonderful – the photo a perfect companion – such an important topic, and so beautifully written – thank you

  19. Sigh..in the moment- so well said!

  20. Hi Laurie, SOmething I am working on, every day and in a mindful way.

    Hi Tammy, Thanks dear Tammy!

    Hi Kayt, I was so happy to find this photo. So much more to say than just a simple ear pic. 😉

    Hi Kilauea, Thanks so much for stopping in.

    Hope you are all having a wonderful week. Hugs, G

  21. Excellent! It’s something I’m guilty of, I know.

Thank you for your comments!

