My Poetic Path

my journey…shared in poems, prose and photos

Simple Pleasures: Made by Hand

8 Comments

dscn12271

It begins with a ball of yarn….

                                                                                    

dscn12422

 

Progress…slowly, but surely.

 

 

 

                                                               

dscn1240

Tadaaaaa….the finished results!

This capelet was a pleasure to make. I used Lion Brand Recycled Cotton , not the worsted weight yarn/wool as suggested in the instructions . Pattern took: three (and a bit!) skeins in Marine Blue  for the Size Medium. Just in case this post inspires you to give this pattern a whirl, feel free to email me (see contact page) if you have any other questions about this pattern. I will try to help. It is definitely a good project to consider even if you are just a beginner at crochet. I think this is going to be a great accessory piece to wear, with sundresses and long skirts, this summer! 

I’ve already started my next project, a bramble stitch knit shawl, also in the Recycled Cotton, this one in the  sunny yellow blend. 

I have been crocheting and knitting (and teaching others) for long, long time. But like too  many other fun pursuits, I had for the most part, put these crafts on hold, in the past few years. I am now happily back to making things by hand on a regular basis: sewing, knitting, crocheting, beading….

For me, there is a real joy and sense of accomplishment in the creation and completion of any handmade item. Definitely a simple pleasure. I hope you will share some of your own projects in the near future, whatever craft(s) or hobby that might be.

I’d love to share your “ta-daaaa moments” too!  🙂

Author: Geraldine

I am a freelance writer, poet, artisan, avid book/product reviewer and award-winning cookbook author. I recently published the second volume of my new vegetarian cookbook series: -The Groovy Green Kitchen II: Simply, Super, Supper Soups and my fun and inspirational book, all about aging well: -Laughing AT the Grim Reaper! Gems of Wisdom for Aging Well I am also the author of: -The Groovy Green Kitchen: Weeknight Veggie Slow Cooker -Third Chapter, Second Chance (a mid-life romance) -Not Just for Vegetarians: Delicious Homestyle Cooking, the Meatless Way and the poetry collections: -Haiku Reflections:The Four Seasons (Volume i and II) and -My Poetic Path All titles available at Amazon.com, .ca, UK.... When I'm not writing or creating new recipes, I love to knit and crochet; usually with some "help" from feline friend, yarn-loving Mr. Cheddar! I hope you will visit and enjoy all of my blogs.Thanks for stopping by. Wishing You a Happy Week and Namaste! :-)

8 thoughts on “Simple Pleasures: Made by Hand

  1. Oh I love this shawl/capelet! Such a pretty color!! Inspires me to take out my yarn thats been in the closet the past 4 months….

  2. that is so beautifully done – wish I can do that

    do you have any book recommendations for crocheting? I’m know how to knit a bit but I’m not very good at following instructions, somehow everything turns out too big…

  3. Very very pretty! Congrats on a FO. It makes me feel so good to get something like that finished…
    (((Hugs)))

  4. I like it! I mostly sew and quilt, but my daughter is a great crocheter and knitter. You are so right about the joy of simple pleasures like this.

  5. Hi Rosie, Welcome to MPP and thanks for commenting. I hope you were inspired and get those yarns and needles out soon!

    Hi Lissa, Thanks for your kind words. I wrote a comment re: your question over at your blog. Hope this helps.

    Hi Sallee, That’s the great thing about making clothes whether by knit,crochet,sewing etc…the process is so relaxing and rewarding and then voila! a new item to wear at the end of it all. You know that feeling well, I know. 😉 Love those pretty socks and shawls!

    Hi Sandy, I hope you share some of your sewing projects on your blog when you can. Id love to see some of your fabric creations too.

    Hugs and thanks for commenting, G

  6. Completely amazing, my friend!

  7. I am so hopeless at anything crafty. I admire you. Just gorgeous!

  8. Hi Sandy, Ahhhh…you are so nice. Right back at ya! 🙂

    Hi Sel, I ‘d be glad to teach you the fine art of hooking (crochet that is LOL) if you weren’t so far away!!! 😉 I am starting another one of these lovely capelets, this one in a pale pink cotton from my ‘stash’. I am hooked! LOL again.

    Hugs, G

Thank you for your comments!

