My Poetic Path

my journey…shared in poems, prose and photos

Just ONE word!

28 Comments

ONE WORD can:
 
-start a romance
-end a relationship
-seal the deal!
-change a career
-soothe a child
-stop an argument
-bring a smile to someone’s face
-ease pain
-stop a heartache
-delay heartbreak
-bury the hatchet
-be the last straw
-change the world
 
ONE WORD can be:
 
-life-changing
-positive
-negative
-captivating
-engaging
-threatening
-worrisome
 
JUST ONE WORD
 
Choose wisely!
                             
***
                               
Written for the OSI prompt for April 19th: ONE WORD
Author: Geraldine

I am a freelance writer, poet, artisan, avid book/product reviewer and award-winning cookbook author. I recently published the second volume of my new vegetarian cookbook series: -The Groovy Green Kitchen II: Simply, Super, Supper Soups and my fun and inspirational book, all about aging well: -Laughing AT the Grim Reaper! Gems of Wisdom for Aging Well I am also the author of: -The Groovy Green Kitchen: Weeknight Veggie Slow Cooker -Third Chapter, Second Chance (a mid-life romance) -Not Just for Vegetarians: Delicious Homestyle Cooking, the Meatless Way and the poetry collections: -Haiku Reflections:The Four Seasons (Volume i and II) and -My Poetic Path All titles available at Amazon.com, .ca, UK.... When I'm not writing or creating new recipes, I love to knit and crochet; usually with some "help" from feline friend, yarn-loving Mr. Cheddar! I hope you will visit and enjoy all of my blogs.Thanks for stopping by. Wishing You a Happy Week and Namaste! :-)

28 thoughts on “Just ONE word!

  1. I like what you have done here. This is a wonderful reflection on the power of language. May we use it well!

  2. One word created the universe, gives life, brings death — and everything in between. Indeed, one must choose it wisely .. so I say here, Thanks!

  3. Nicely done – and good advice at the end.

  4. Words are indeed very powerful. Well said! 🙂

  5. Your observation is all too true!
    Thank You.

  6. Very wise. Very true. Couldn’t agree more!

  7. Short words are primal
    And tone and face add so much:
    Who the Hell’s Allice?

  8. This is really neat how you did this!

  9. One word can have so much meaning.

  10. Hi Sandy, I am glad you like this work Sandy. Thanks for adding the link over at OSI! Mr. Linky was acting up I see. 😉

    Hi Amias, And I say “Thanks” to you Amias.

    Hi Tony, Advice I need to heed too. Loved your Mr. Linky ditty, btw.

    Hi Carole, Even a single word at times. I loved this prompt!

    Hi Ed, Thanks for stopping in.

    Hi Mia, Great word!

    Hi Sel, I thought you might Sel. I hear ya… 😉

    Hi Kite, I must be missing something re: Allice?

    Hi Deborah, It was an inspiring prompt and this is what came to mind first.

    Hi Maggie, It can indeed.

    Thanks so much for your visits and comments, most appreciated, G

  11. and “yes!”…. but i have to practice a little first hehehe.

  12. It is utterly amazing to stop and think about that. Just one word! Can do so much. Change so much. Mean so much. Thanks for reminding me of that fact!
    Brenda

  13. this is so true! i really like this..
    lots of food for thought.

  14. So well thought out..and well put- Thanks for the encouragement-

  15. wisedom well stated!!!! i should print your list & place it on the frig for all to read 🙂

  16. Hi Mia, Should I be checking the mail soon teeeheee? Readers: she’s referring to a gorgeous decorated egg, over at Mia’s blog, check it out! Amazing. I want one!!! ;<)

    Hi Brenda, Thanks Brenda; less can be more can’t it?

    Hi Floreta, I am glad to read that!

    Hi Kilauea, Thanks so much. Nice to “see” you again.

    Hi Qualcosa, Maybe Ill do that too. 😉

    Thanks so much for your comments, most appreciated, G

  17. Yes. Indeed. Very.

    thank you !!

  18. So, so , SO true!!!

    There have been times when one word has changed the course of history, which is pretty profound when you think of it!

    Yes, choose wisely!!! 🙂

  19. So true, Geraldine. Too bad we can’t sometimes put our mouths on time delay.

  20. So true. It’s not so easy to find that one word that works. Excellent look at a word and all it encompasses!

  21. yes, one word can be life-changing……….

  22. So true. How many times I wish I could have taken a word back. How many times I wish I would given it life…

  23. Hi Endurogirl, Those are all excellent words!

    Hi M, I agree. Profound isn’t it?

    Hi Sandy, Ahhh…Id like to have that button! 🙂

    Hi Sue, Thanks so much!

    Hi deLi, Welcome and thank you.

    Hi Gabrielle, I think most people can relate.

    Thanks so much for your comments, G

  24. “Choose Wisely” is my mantra!

    Say the words “choose wisely” to my nieces and nephews, or friends who have sought my advice, and you will likely see eyes rolling!

    Every choice we make has a consequence and what is often forgotten on the other side of a poor choice, is that to a large extent we are responsible because of our own choices. Everyone always seems to look to lay blame elsewhere; they never claim it.

    Re: my header photo… that was taken in one of the squares in Savannah, a city I love to visit!

    I have moved to wordpress, where you can now find me and where I will be for next week’s OSI. If you should happen to visit today, I have another scene of beautiful Savannah!

    Barb, aka WillThink4Wine

  25. Really liked this call to remember the power of not just the words we use, but the intent behind the words, and maybe even…the words we don’t use!

    Many thanks–

  26. Hi Christine, Glad you enjoyed this work!

    Hi Barb, Nice to “see” you again. I totally agree about your observations re: choosing our words wisely. I continue to work on this but it’s not easy for an impulsive person (like me!!!) LOL. Nice to know where the photo was taken. Gorgeous!

    Hi Beth, Good point, what we say and don’t say are equally powerful at times.

    Hugs and thanks so much for your comments and visits, G

Thank you for your comments!

