My Poetic Path

my journey…shared in poems, prose and photos

Happy Earth Day!

4 Comments

 

What are you doing to celebrate Earth Day?

In addition to our ongoing (and ever-increasing) daily efforts to:  reduce, reuse and recyle, Joe and I are registering to vote in the upcoming BC provincial election on May 12th.

Getting a Green Party candidate elected would be a significant step in the right direction for BC and for Canada. And with their influence as an elected official (not just another voice from the sidelines) there would finally be someone to challenge those in power as to why they aren’t doing more for the environment and the future of all Canadians.

I think it’s a small but important gesture. Neither of us have voted in a provincial election for a long, long time. It’s time to add our voices to the electoral process. And maybe, just maybe,  make a change for the better in terms of the environment too.

Happy Earth Day !  🙂

PS: I was very disappointed to find out after writing this post, the Green Party of Canada will not have a candidate in our area, to vote for in this election.

Back to the drawing board in terms of who to vote for now. 😦  But vote we will!

Author: Geraldine

I am a freelance writer, poet, artisan, avid book/product reviewer and award-winning cookbook author. I recently published the second volume of my new vegetarian cookbook series: -The Groovy Green Kitchen II: Simply, Super, Supper Soups and my fun and inspirational book, all about aging well: -Laughing AT the Grim Reaper! Gems of Wisdom for Aging Well I am also the author of: -The Groovy Green Kitchen: Weeknight Veggie Slow Cooker -Third Chapter, Second Chance (a mid-life romance) -Not Just for Vegetarians: Delicious Homestyle Cooking, the Meatless Way and the poetry collections: -Haiku Reflections:The Four Seasons (Volume i and II) and -My Poetic Path All titles available at Amazon.com, .ca, UK.... When I'm not writing or creating new recipes, I love to knit and crochet; usually with some "help" from feline friend, yarn-loving Mr. Cheddar! I hope you will visit and enjoy all of my blogs.Thanks for stopping by. Wishing You a Happy Week and Namaste! :-)

4 thoughts on “Happy Earth Day!

  1. I celbrated by connecting to Earth!

    Last night I had the honor to participate in a Shamanic Women’s Circle Ceremony in which we connected to Earth, and to each other. It was similar to a fire-circle ceremony; we just went with the flow of whatever came to us, chanted, sang, danced, played drum or flute or rattles or sticks (I had my rainstick with me and used that).

    It was wonderful! 🙂

  2. Beautiful image. Let’s hope all the candidates get green.

  3. Wow. I am totally impressed by the way Michelle participated. That sounds awesome. Good to see so many people getting into Earth Day.

  4. Hi Michelle, Sandy and Selma, Sadly, there wasn’t much happening here locally for Earth Day. The diesel trucks were still driving up to the door of the health food store (I think they’d drive right in if they could). 😦

    On a happier note, Global News last night devoted 15 MINUTES to Earth Day. Now that is encouraging. So much to do but so much being done as well.

    Hugs, G

Thank you for your comments!

