My Poetic Path

my journey…shared in poems, prose and photos

Windfall!

11 Comments

 

NO, it’s not our turn… YET! I don’t think I’d be on the computer right now if that was the case. 😉

I’m just asking…what would you do, if a major: windfall, jackpot, lottery, happened in your life? Do share…

Photo courtesy of: Flickr

Author: Geraldine

I am a freelance writer, poet, artisan, avid book/product reviewer and award-winning cookbook author. I recently published the second volume of my new vegetarian cookbook series: -The Groovy Green Kitchen II: Simply, Super, Supper Soups and my fun and inspirational book, all about aging well: -Laughing AT the Grim Reaper! Gems of Wisdom for Aging Well I am also the author of: -The Groovy Green Kitchen: Weeknight Veggie Slow Cooker -Third Chapter, Second Chance (a mid-life romance) -Not Just for Vegetarians: Delicious Homestyle Cooking, the Meatless Way and the poetry collections: -Haiku Reflections:The Four Seasons (Volume i and II) and -My Poetic Path All titles available at Amazon.com, .ca, UK.... When I'm not writing or creating new recipes, I love to knit and crochet; usually with some "help" from feline friend, yarn-loving Mr. Cheddar! I hope you will visit and enjoy all of my blogs.Thanks for stopping by. Wishing You a Happy Week and Namaste! :-) You can also visit me at my new author's site: geraldinehelenhartman.me

11 thoughts on “Windfall!

  1. Well.. it would depend on how much the windfall was. But first thing I’d do is retire. Then i’d think about a trip with Compassion International, and THEN I’d hire a personal asst. to drive me everywhere and go with me when I want to eat lunch so I don’t have to sit alone 🙂

    I already give more away than I should and that wouldn’t end if I hit a jackpot hehehe.

    Maybe I better go buy a ticket tonight 🙂

  2. I’d put money by for my daughter’s education. Then I’d get my brakes fixed!

  3. I have a long list of perfect places to pour quantities of windfall. And I buy one Powerball ticket every week so I stand a good chance of winning. LOL But anyway, it’s always fun to imagine where to plant huge chunks of cash that would do huge wonders. Good post but I’m not sure I found your answer…??

  4. I would buy time – time to stay home and write to my heart’s desire, time to play with my children and spend with my family, time to just enjoy things instead of rushing through things…
    And I would travel, oh, I would definitely travel…
    xoxoxo

  5. It looks great here, G. Awesome theme.

    If I won the lottery I think I would first of all breath a huge sigh of relief. Then I would pay off all my debts, buy a house and proceed to give all the money away. I would give money to all of my friends and to two of my favourite charities in Sydney which I used to volunteer with. One helps homeless teens get back on their feet and the other rescues orphaned and injured wildlife. Such amazing charities which are always struggling for funding.

    Wouldn’t it be nice…..

  6. Hi Mia, Good answer LOL!!!! What a fun person you are. 😉

    Hi Sandy, Ouch…brakes can’t wait Sandy! Education, always a good investment.

    Hi Sue, Ill share my answer at the end of these comments. Good reminder to do so!

    Hi Vesper, I like your answer very much V! Time, how precious and how fleeting it is.

    Hi Sel, What a lovely person you are. I expected an answer similar to this, from you.

    As for myself (and Joe) we would plan for a whole year off. A “Year of Fun” we’ve already called it. No to-do lists, no schedules, no alarm clocks. Every day would just unfold as it came with lots of fun and interesting things to do every single day. To make up for too many years with little fun. 😦 Then we would set up another business and employ some people in need and also set up a charity to help individuals, NOT as a group but on a one-to-one basis. Most charities still have way too much red tape and screening as far as I’m concerned. Id like to help “real” people make their dreams come true. In turn, we would ask that they help at least one other person to get back on their feet and moving forward. That’s the plan….

    Wishing you all a whole lot of luck! 🙂 G

  7. Can’t make up my mind! But would for sure do some good with it.

  8. That Woodsworth poem is one of my favorites! It’s so cheery.

    I hear you have to buy a ticket to win the lottery which just seems – elitist, somehow. (how?) But if I did happen to come into a pot of money, I’d probably spend some of it on traveling, some of it attending lectures throughout the world, playing Fairy Godmother and heaven knows, I’d be buying books and yarn,

    Hmm. I seem to have moved into my castle in the air. Anyone know where I can find a good cook? 😉

  9. Well, we would certainly use our windfalls to make the world a better place. Inspiring!!

  10. G, I really admire your scenario of what you and Joe would do. I would start with setting my brother and his wife up with health insurance for one…. and follow something very similar to your year of fun.

  11. Hi Sandy, I’m sure you would!

    Hi Carrie, I like that, Fairy Godmother! And as for a good cook, look no further. (Of course, I’d prefer you went veggie before that.) 😉 I rather fancy living in CA! So go buy a ticket!!!! LOL

    Hi Sel, I know that for sure. I also forgot to mention, there are several friends I would certainly help with any winnings too. I think that helping others would be the most rewarding part of any windfall. Think of what an impact we could have on so many lives.

    Hi Christine, Thanks for your kind words. The “fun year’ would be our nod to indulgence. 😉 Sometimes, that’s a very good thing too!

    Hugs and thanks for stopping by, G

Thank you for your comments!

