My Poetic Path

my journey…shared in poems, prose and photos

My ME Month update…

8 Comments

If you didn’t read my first post re: ME Month I’m including the link.

In a nutshell, I designated April as ME Month, 30 days to focus on taking better care of myself: physically, emotionally and otherwise.

I’m happy to report that this particular “experiment”  😉 was a huge success.

Now, at the end of 30 days, I am feeling better about myself on so many levels. I have lost some weight, I am feeling stronger, more energetic and with a lot more positive outlook for the future.

And most important of all, I am feeling more worthwhile as a person and what I am capable of achieving.

If I had to sum up in 3 words, what I’ve learned in the past month that I will continue to focus on in the months ahead:

*consistency– Sticking to a plan. Making the effort to follow through with what I know I should be doing every day, to feel  better about myself.

*mindfulnessREALLY being in the moment. Focusing on the task at hand, not letting my mind always wander off in 10 different directions. Even peeling potatoes can be a mediative ritual if you let it be. 😉 OK, perhaps a rather strange example but it really does make a difference to “be here now” . To “walk that talk” moment to moment.

*ownership– This was a biggie. If I want to feel better about myself. If I want to feel healthier and happier, it’s down to me. I can’t wait for someone or something to fix what I don’t like about myself or my life. It’s up to me.

This may not be rocket science but these three words have become very empowering to me. ME month is officially over but this is also a new beginning for me.

I will continue to make a daily effort and decision to follow my new path. And when, if I do have a bad day and start dwelling on: failures instead of successes, apathy instead of hope, fear instead of courage….I will re-read these posts and re-focus my efforts.Making every day another opportunity to be the best ME that I can be!

PS: A sincere “thank you” to the blog buds who also decided to participate with their own versions of ME Month and who shared their experiences with me via comments and emails. I hope you will continue with your own efforts at a more positive and empowering life journey too.  🙂

Author: Geraldine

I am a freelance writer, poet, artisan, avid book/product reviewer and award-winning cookbook author. I recently published the second volume of my new vegetarian cookbook series: -The Groovy Green Kitchen II: Simply, Super, Supper Soups and my fun and inspirational book, all about aging well: -Laughing AT the Grim Reaper! Gems of Wisdom for Aging Well I am also the author of: -The Groovy Green Kitchen: Weeknight Veggie Slow Cooker -Third Chapter, Second Chance (a mid-life romance) -Not Just for Vegetarians: Delicious Homestyle Cooking, the Meatless Way and the poetry collections: -Haiku Reflections:The Four Seasons (Volume i and II) and -My Poetic Path All titles available at Amazon.com, .ca, UK.... When I'm not writing or creating new recipes, I love to knit and crochet; usually with some "help" from feline friend, yarn-loving Mr. Cheddar! I hope you will visit and enjoy all of my blogs.Thanks for stopping by. Wishing You a Happy Week and Namaste! :-) You can also visit me at my new author's site: geraldinehelenhartman.me

8 thoughts on “My ME Month update…

  1. Good for you! I have trouble with the mindfulness, but haven’t given up (or have I?) 🙂

  2. sounds like you have not only achieved your goal but enjoyed it also, congratulations! I am sure you’ll continue to do well in this, good luck!

  3. Excellent. You are a shining example to me, G. I am glad you got so much out of your ME month!

  4. Congrats! That’s marvelous!

  5. As one who followed your great example, I say Thanks!

  6. Hi Sue, Being “in the moment” and mindful is a challenge for me but I am working on it! Certainly helps in so many ways. In terms of losing weight, it’s so easy to indulge if you aren’t focused on what and how much you are eating at the time. Just one example. It also makes what you are doing so much more interesting and engaging.

    Hi Lissa, I certainly have and this is only the beginning! 🙂

    Hi Selma, Thanks dear Sel. You inspire me in so many ways too.

    Hi Texas, Thanks and nice to “see” you again.

    Hi Sandy, It was great to read about your ME month too. I am glad I’ve inspired you.

    Hugs and Happy Weekend, G

  7. An inspiration reading this! I like what you said about OK;; I’m the one who has to do this. Thanks for this post.

  8. This is a wonderful idea! I’ve found that in my fifties (I’m 52) I’ve learned to slow down and cherish the moments. Smell the blooms in the garden. Be mindful of the present.
    Brenda

Thank you for your comments!

