My Poetic Path

my journey…shared in poems, prose and photos

A Calendar and Chore Chuckle!

7 Comments

“Cleaning a toilet teaches humility. That’s why I let my husband do it.”   
                                                                                                      
              

This little “gem” showed up on my page-a-day calendar today.

I am thankful that Joe does clean the toilet but I don’t know about the humility lesson being required. We seem to have come up with a rather easy way of dividing up the chores, over the years. Personally, I’d rather be “hoovering” any day!  😉

Do chores equate into much stress in your home? They are necessary. But they don’t necessarily have to be stressful or burdensome. They can even be mediative and mindful. What do you think?

And what chore do you dislike the most?

For me, that’s (you guessed it…) cleaning the toilet!!!!   😦

Author: Geraldine

I am a freelance writer, poet, artisan, avid book/product reviewer and award-winning cookbook author. I recently published the second volume of my new vegetarian cookbook series: -The Groovy Green Kitchen II: Simply, Super, Supper Soups and my fun and inspirational book, all about aging well: -Laughing AT the Grim Reaper! Gems of Wisdom for Aging Well I am also the author of: -The Groovy Green Kitchen: Weeknight Veggie Slow Cooker -Third Chapter, Second Chance (a mid-life romance) -Not Just for Vegetarians: Delicious Homestyle Cooking, the Meatless Way and the poetry collections: -Haiku Reflections:The Four Seasons (Volume i and II) and -My Poetic Path All titles available at Amazon.com, .ca, UK.... When I'm not writing or creating new recipes, I love to knit and crochet; usually with some "help" from feline friend, yarn-loving Mr. Cheddar! I hope you will visit and enjoy all of my blogs.Thanks for stopping by. Wishing You a Happy Week and Namaste! :-) You can also visit me at my new author's site: geraldinehelenhartman.me

7 thoughts on “A Calendar and Chore Chuckle!

  1. I’m with you, I don’t like cleaning the toilet, though I have heard once that hanging the laundry to dry is calming, in a way it probably is

  2. I don’t consider any chore humilitating or fascinating. Just haz to be done. That said, my least favorite chore is…….hmm. I can’t really think of one. I like the way everything is clean when I’m done.

  3. I’m a clean freak married to a 13yr batchelor. He makes my bed and straightens up each day just because he knows it makes me feel good. He’s learning to cook and how not to put whites with darks. He lets me pay a housekeeper twice/mo. I am humbled by love.

  4. I dislike doing the dusting, mainly because I am asthmatic and it usually makes me wheeze. We also have a lot of stuff to dust so it takes ages. I dream of a day where I can afford a cleaner. If only…..LOL.

  5. Windows! I love having cleans ones, and once I get started with the chore I am okay. I guess I don’t like having to think about cleaning the windows.

    I asked my husband what chores he wanted to do when he retired, and he said he guessed he might work a while longer.

  6. My oldest daughter, who is 34, is like mom. When under stress she cleans!
    Brenda

  7. Hi Lissa, I remember my mom hanging out the laundry to dry. She didn’t believe in automatic dryers. She also washed and saved containers, tinfoil, bags etc…long before it was the thing to do. I’d like to have a line to dry clothes on (and really clean air so they stayed fresh and dust free).

    Hi Carrie, I agree, that’s the best part. And what a workout cleaning a house or apartment can be!

    Hi Tammy, What a wonderful guy Sir Dave is! If he’s mastered laundry, he really is a gem.

    Hi Selma, People who clean houses have my upmost respect. What a tough job that must be. Some people….yuck!!! It’s hard to believe the muck some people consider a normal environment to live in. But true. Realtor friends do not lie!!! 😉

    Hi SandyL, I agree about getting started, that’s the hard part. I actually like cleaning windows, as long as they aren’t too high.

    Hi Brenda, What a constructive way to deal with stress. For me, it’s usually cooking or baking and that CAN be destructive. Not these days though, I’m doing great in the “portion control” department LOL, since ME day.

    Hugs and Happy Housework, G 🙂

Thank you for your comments!

