My Poetic Path

my journey…shared in poems, prose and photos

Haiku Reflections: Summer Wishes

24 Comments

summer wishes haiku

Also submitted for the OSI May 24th prompt: Dropped

PS: I am working on a number of haiku poems at present, some to be a part of my haiku calendar submission.

I am also doing some research re: haiku guidelines. The more I read, the more questions I seem to have! If any of you know of  a haiku site(s)  that you can personally recommend, please let me know. The amount of information online about haiku/haiga poetry is staggering! 

I don’t know if I am adhering to all the “rules” so far but I am trying to do my best. Let me know what you think. Your feedback is always appreciated.   🙂

Author: Geraldine

I am a freelance writer, poet, artisan, avid book/product reviewer and award-winning cookbook author. I recently published the second volume of my new vegetarian cookbook series: -The Groovy Green Kitchen II: Simply, Super, Supper Soups and my fun and inspirational book, all about aging well: -Laughing AT the Grim Reaper! Gems of Wisdom for Aging Well I am also the author of: -The Groovy Green Kitchen: Weeknight Veggie Slow Cooker -Third Chapter, Second Chance (a mid-life romance) -Not Just for Vegetarians: Delicious Homestyle Cooking, the Meatless Way and the poetry collections: -Haiku Reflections:The Four Seasons (Volume i and II) and -My Poetic Path All titles available at Amazon.com, .ca, UK.... When I'm not writing or creating new recipes, I love to knit and crochet; usually with some "help" from feline friend, yarn-loving Mr. Cheddar! I hope you will visit and enjoy all of my blogs.Thanks for stopping by. Wishing You a Happy Week and Namaste! :-)

24 thoughts on “Haiku Reflections: Summer Wishes

  1. They can indeed come true. Nice words and beautiful picture.

  2. This is wonderful. I love the captured reflection on the water. Great haiku too.

  3. .. full of optimism & gentleness ur haiku .. it’s beautiful ..
    ( u have posted some great eatables in the past .. would they not feature in ur haiku calendar )

  4. lovely. feels like a summer poem

    don’t know much about haiku but I think a long as it sounds good to you, I don’t see why you have to follow all the rules, writing is writing…

  5. Of course those wishes can come true! Especially if on wishes for ripples on the water. 🙂
    ..
    I think American haiku no longer follows the rules for the traditional Japanese haiku. Google ‘Japanese haiku’ and there will be more than you care to read.
    ..

  6. I don’t know much about haiku but this is a wonderful poem and the photo too.
    *many hugs*

  7. Dear Geraldine–
    Indeed they do come true, so often–but hardly ever the way we envision them, eh?

    Sorry I haven’t been ‘on task’ with my book writing–how are you all doing? Would you ever be interested in being a guest blogger on the Virtual Tea House? You could write about…writing! Or anything else your sweet heart desires!

  8. lovely verses complement your delightful photo.

  9. Hi Tony, Glad you enjoyed this work.

    Hi Joe, Thanks for your continued support and input dear Joe!

    Hi Zoya, Foodie haiku??? Interesting. I think Ill stick to nature themes for now. 😉

    Hi Lissa, Thanks Lissa, I wanted to convey a summer’s day. All the haiku rules…it’s absolutely amazing how much there is to read on the topic. And how much interest there is in haiku. My top 5 posts on the sidebar usually include at least 4 of Haiku Reflection posts. Nice!

    Hi Jim, Thanks Jim and yes, I will give this a Google too.

    Hi Vesper, You should give haiku a try Vesper. It’s rather addictive though, once you get past the “simplicity” of this poetry form. Thanks for your continued support.

    Hi Beth, The dreams coming true…yes, that is correct, many, many times. And sometimes, even better than we expected. Thanks for the offer re: guest blogger, Im honored. Email me (see contact page) when you want me to write up a post to share at the Teahouse and any other particulars. PS: We have a friend in common, Michelle Wood…small world and so it seems in this case, in Oregon! Two lovely people you certainly are!!!

    Hi Sue, Thanks so much Sue.

    Wishing you all a wonderful and productive week. G

    PS: Judging by my stats, I’m on my way to my best month for readership in May. 🙂
    I appreciate all the visitors who stop by MPP and especially to those friends who take the time to leave comments and feedback, thanks so much. G

  10. love the picture and its words, it lulls me to beuatiful, calm, dreamy world…

  11. They can, indeed. So let us be optimistic! Lovely, Geraldine.

  12. i like the tone in this piece. very optimistic!

  13. Lovely, as always! There are many haiku sites with several contradicting rules on each (as is the way with ‘experts’). You always seem to have full command of this form.

  14. Wonderful poem. and very good picture.

  15. sweet
    I love the hope that goes into tossing pennies
    the yearning of a heart makes way for each and every step

  16. Hi Gautami, Here’s hoping! I’ve got quite a list waiting. 😉

    Hi Deli, Welcome to MPP and thanks so much!

    Hi Sandy C, It’s better than being blue, any day.

    Hi Floreta, Thanks Floreta and nice to “see” you again.

    Hi Sue, Thanks for the encouragement. Ive been getting “bogged down” with all the rules. And then it seems, there aren’t any, at least written in stone.

    Hi Jeeves, Thanks so much. Glad you enjoyed this work.

    Hi Tammie, Welcome to MPP and thanks for your comment too.

    Hope we are all blessed with some good luck this week. 🙂

    Hugs, G

  17. Dear Geraldine–
    Thanks–I will email you!
    And that’s so cool–Michelle Wood is salt of the earth!
    It is a small, small world…

  18. Rules? Pfft. I love that copper penny dropped! It’s so ordinary and yet expressed like that, it puts a whole different feeling to it.

  19. Of course they come true! Looking good, Geraldine, your poems will make a lovely calendar.

  20. This is quite a significant one for me because I always make a wish not just when I drop a penny in a body of water, but when I drop in a pebble or stone. It is a little ritual I perform. A lovely haiku!

  21. Oh, this is fabulous! I want to drop a penny and find myself there.

  22. Hi Beth, Thanks! I agree, it is a small world after all…you and Michelle in the same town, who knew! 😉

    Hi Carrie, That’s what I tried to do. Thanks Carrie. And also re: rules, good advice!

    Hi SandyL, I hope that the publishers I am sending proposals to (make that publisher, one at a time!) feel the same. Thanks Sandy. I love your haikus and photos too.

    Hi Selma, It’s a great ritual isn’t it? Love to throw a coin and make a wish…

    Hi Patois, I’m so glad you enjoyed this and nice to “see” you again.

    Hugs and Happy Thursday, G

  23. such gentle haiku. thanks for sharing.

    re haiku sites — try Googling “daily haiku”

Thank you for your comments!

