My Poetic Path

my journey…shared in poems, prose and photos

Photo help, anyone?

7 Comments

I am having a MUCH better day today.  Isn’t it amazing what a little good news can do?  More to follow, hopefully very soon.    🙂

Back to some creative pursuits today, including trying to download and order prints of some of the haiku/photos that I plan to submit for my haiku calendar proposal.

The problem…in spite of the fact I took all of the photos for my haiku/photos at the best print quality setting, they come up on the photo sites as too low of resolution to print for enlargements.

I don’t know if it’s because I’ve altered the photo, adding text to each one? I also don’t know if downloading off my blog might work better. I am NOT a techie person, how can you tell? LOL

I really am stumped on this and I would appreciate if anyone has any suggestions around this glitch. I don’t want to have to start all over. Some of the photos/haikus I’ve completed so far are definitely ones I want to be able to submit. I already have 2 prospective publishers that look promising.

Calling all photo-buffs! If you can help, I’d love to hear from you.

To revisit, here’s one example:

shades of blue haiku

Author: Geraldine

I am a freelance writer, poet, artisan, avid book/product reviewer and award-winning cookbook author. I recently published the second volume of my new vegetarian cookbook series: -The Groovy Green Kitchen II: Simply, Super, Supper Soups and my fun and inspirational book, all about aging well: -Laughing AT the Grim Reaper! Gems of Wisdom for Aging Well I am also the author of: -The Groovy Green Kitchen: Weeknight Veggie Slow Cooker -Third Chapter, Second Chance (a mid-life romance) -Not Just for Vegetarians: Delicious Homestyle Cooking, the Meatless Way and the poetry collections: -Haiku Reflections:The Four Seasons (Volume i and II) and -My Poetic Path All titles available at Amazon.com, .ca, UK.... When I'm not writing or creating new recipes, I love to knit and crochet; usually with some "help" from feline friend, yarn-loving Mr. Cheddar! I hope you will visit and enjoy all of my blogs.Thanks for stopping by. Wishing You a Happy Week and Namaste! :-) You can also visit me at my new author's site: geraldinehelenhartman.me

7 thoughts on “Photo help, anyone?

  1. The best printing resolution is 300dpi, if you have a photo software, you can change that but your photo has too be large

    for example, the above sample is size at 456 pixel wide, but in order to be 300 dpi, it has to 1900 pixel in keeping with the 72dpi resolution

    I am wondering what’s the size of the original, if the original is 3X as big as the one example, it may be good enough for printing, you just need to resize or change the resolution

    if you like me to help you, send me an email at lissawrites (at) gmail (dot) com, I love to help

  2. Well, I was going to say just about what she did.
    When i do my calendars in iPhoto, the photograhs must be quite large. That means the text would have to be much larger, too.

  3. Thank goodness for Lissa and Sandy. You guys rule!

    I would have had no idea what to do, G. It’s so nice there are people out there who can help!

  4. hmmm… I’m not sure either.. do you still have the originals on your camera or someplace? Do you know how many pixels quality your camera takes? I know on some things like camera phones etc, the resolution is too low to enlarge most pictures to any decent size .. but if you have a camera that takes better quality, there shouldn’t be a problem in increasing the size?

    I’m thinking that adding the text in whatever program you did and saving it in that program might have lowered the resolution as well. Try the same thing without the text, if you have a copy available and see if that works.

    I don’t really know much about it.. but I’ll think on it.

    And I sure am glad things are lookin’ up for you. ‘Bout time 🙂

    mia

  5. Dear Lissa, Sandy L, Sel and Mia,

    Thanks so much for all the good advice.

    I feel kind of silly admitting this now (better late than never -right) but I think I’ve figured this out. When I added the text, I compressed the photos size again, by 70%, not realising that this also changes the resolution. I’m going to give this another try, with the photos left at their original LARGE size. I’m glad I kept them as well. Here’s hoping. It’s going to be a bit weird trying to put in the type on such large photos but I guess after 1 is done right, the others will be easy. I am not a techie person ; so help is always appreciated from people in the know.

    Sandy, did you do a commercial calendar or one to keep/give as gifts? I’d love to see it.

    I agree with Sel, you “guys” rule!

    Happy Weekend, G 🙂

  6. i know nothing about the techie part of all of this but i do know i love the example you posted.. i feel as if i have seen it before but it is perfect pairing…

  7. I guess you’re getting the answers you need. I would add that I use a photo printer service that says everything is too low to print, but I order anyway and get good shots. So maybe it’s worth a try.

Thank you for your comments!

