My Poetic Path

my journey…shared in poems, prose and photos

Monthly Movie Musings (Take 1)

16 Comments

  mmm2

Welcome to my new prompt series/meme/category! 

I’ve been thinking about adding a “prompt offering” here at MPP, for quite some time now. I wanted to do something a bit different and only on a monthly basis.

Prompts will be posted at the beginning of each month and anyone who wants to participate will have the whole month to do so.

So, why Movie Musings?

I plan to pick a movie title each month to be used as a prompt. I will also include a link to a movie information site if possible, by way of including what the original concept for the film was all about.

But what participants write about.. well that could be just about anything that comes to mind, for that particular prompt.

I’ve always been intrigued by movie titles. Obviously, Hollywood and other film-makers work  hard to weave their magic with the teaser that is the title. But what other roads could be explored with that very same phrase/or word? 

My first prompt suggestion :

 
“Sometimes… the Runner Stumbles”

A movie that was released in 1979; based on a true story. Starring Dick Van Dyke. This  is one of his finest performances, in my opinion and definitely not his usual forte, seeing him in this dramatic role. Click on the title/link above for more information about this film.

Remember though.. it’s not about the movie, it’s about the title and how you interpret it.

Can’t wait to see what you all come up with. Please return and add your story/poem/photo link below, as a comment, so that we can all enjoy your work.

At the beginning of  each month, I will have a new movie prompt and will also provide a link to the previous month’s prompt and comments, for easy reference.

And please DO spread the word about my new prompt series (button in sidebar if you’d like to take along too!) at your own blogs. Thanks so much.

Now I need to get started on my own poem or short story.  ♥♥

Author: Geraldine

I am a freelance writer, poet, artisan, avid book/product reviewer and award-winning cookbook author. I recently published the second volume of my new vegetarian cookbook series: -The Groovy Green Kitchen II: Simply, Super, Supper Soups and my fun and inspirational book, all about aging well: -Laughing AT the Grim Reaper! Gems of Wisdom for Aging Well I am also the author of: -The Groovy Green Kitchen: Weeknight Veggie Slow Cooker -Third Chapter, Second Chance (a mid-life romance) -Not Just for Vegetarians: Delicious Homestyle Cooking, the Meatless Way and the poetry collections: -Haiku Reflections:The Four Seasons (Volume i and II) and -My Poetic Path All titles available at Amazon.com, .ca, UK.... When I'm not writing or creating new recipes, I love to knit and crochet; usually with some "help" from feline friend, yarn-loving Mr. Cheddar! I hope you will visit and enjoy all of my blogs.Thanks for stopping by. Wishing You a Happy Week and Namaste! :-) You can also visit me at my new author's site: geraldinehelenhartman.me

16 thoughts on “Monthly Movie Musings (Take 1)

  1. Pingback: Daily News About Writing : A few links about Writing - Sunday, 31 May 2009 14:07

  2. sounds interesting, writer’s island used to have this prompt but I never quite like the titles and it was weekly, maybe I’ll try this…

  3. I just remember, writers island uses the theme of the movie and not the title itself

  4. I will definitely participate in this. I prefer writing to phrases rather than just one word, so this is a good form of prompt for me. Count me in. I have an idea already!

  5. I will sleep on this one and be back to you, Geraldine. Sounds like a good challenge.

  6. Sometimes a runner stumbles
    What can I say?
    Or should I mumble…
    Can’t seem to run
    So I’ll just hide
    Inside the cyber jungle.

    Hugs

  7. I wrote about my personal experience of being a runner:

    https://mypoeticpath.wordpress.com/2009/06/03/sometimes-the-runner-stumbles/

    Life is a marathon, isn’t it?

    Hugs, G

  8. I wrote this – ordinary dreams – about an optimistic boy with many dreams

    and I combined with two other prompts. I admitted – I’m lazy – still, it was a difficult challenge. I find the words don’t bring as much inspiration as when I first saw them. I might even write a different piece before the end of June…who knows…there’s always rewrite, right?

  9. Sometimes
    the most amazing things are the ones under our noses
    and can only be acquainted when we fall, slide, stumble or otherwise
    descend.

  10. Pingback: TONY ON BRAVERY « BEYOND THE BLOG

  11. Thanks to everyone who is spreading the word re: my new monthly prompts; I really appreciate your help. I know it takes time to build on any meme/prompt offerings. I also know there are a lot of prompts out there already.

    I do hope you will all stay tuned and participate in the future.

    And there’s still 3 weeks to write about this one so…bring it ON!!!! 😉

    Hugs, G

  12. Pingback: Away From Tomorrow « Selma In The City

  13. I am very cheeky to be so late, but I made it.

    http://selmainthecity.wordpress.com/2009/06/30/away-from-tomorrow/

    I enjoyed this prompt, G. Will get the next one in a bit earlier. I promise. XXX

  14. Wow, that’s quite a story Sel. Interesting take on the prompt too. Hugs,G

  15. Hi Geraldine, Sorry I missed June’s prompt but I like the concept and plan to participate this month.

  16. Hello again Cricket, Great to “see” you again and thanks for participating! G

Thank you for your comments!

