My Poetic Path

my journey…shared in poems, prose and photos

Summer Reflections…

15 Comments

“To remember the things, people and experiences we have loved and left, is good for us. We can see patterns,progress,regression,stalemates- all manner of insights that give us a clearer picture of ourselves.

Summer is a good time to remember.”

♦♦♦

This “gemshowed up on my desk calendar this week. I think it’s a good thought to contemplate and keep in mind.

Wishing you all a wonderful weekend! 

I’ll share a pic  of some local summer beauty below.

I’m on a “flower high” lately, can you tell?  😉

                                                                         

DSCN1304

Author: Geraldine

I am a freelance writer, poet, artisan, avid book/product reviewer and award-winning cookbook author. I recently published the second volume of my new vegetarian cookbook series: -The Groovy Green Kitchen II: Simply, Super, Supper Soups and my fun and inspirational book, all about aging well: -Laughing AT the Grim Reaper! Gems of Wisdom for Aging Well I am also the author of: -The Groovy Green Kitchen: Weeknight Veggie Slow Cooker -Third Chapter, Second Chance (a mid-life romance) -Not Just for Vegetarians: Delicious Homestyle Cooking, the Meatless Way and the poetry collections: -Haiku Reflections:The Four Seasons (Volume i and II) and -My Poetic Path All titles available at Amazon.com, .ca, UK.... When I'm not writing or creating new recipes, I love to knit and crochet; usually with some "help" from feline friend, yarn-loving Mr. Cheddar! I hope you will visit and enjoy all of my blogs.Thanks for stopping by. Wishing You a Happy Week and Namaste! :-) You can also visit me at my new author's site: geraldinehelenhartman.me

15 thoughts on “Summer Reflections…

  1. What a beautiful, beautiful, beautiful “flower high”! Thank you for all these nice photos, Geraldine, they make my heart sing. 🙂
    I hope you weekend is wonderful!
    *hugs*

  2. The truth of the words and the vibrancy of the colors in the post are refreshing and exciting.

  3. Can’t think of a better or healthier “high!”
    Brenda

  4. Whoa! Geraldine, incredible quote and photo of colorful flowers! 🙂

  5. I adore the idea of being on a flower high. What a great concept. Now we can all say to our friendly gardeners: hey, let’s get high today! Beautiful thoughts too about taking quiet time to contemplate and remember important things.

  6. Those flowers are just so bright and cheerful!

  7. Oh how pretty! Wouldn’t it be a nice place to walk right about now!

  8. This definitely puts me on a flower high too (and a life high)!!!

    Peace & love,
    JP/deb

  9. I’m soaring after seeing that. it still astounds me to think such colours naturally exist in nature. WOW. A smorgasbord of delight!

  10. Dear Vesper, SandyC, Brenda,Mary,Christine,Carrie,Mia,Jane,Selma,

    Thanks to all of you for your kind words, most appreciated. I loved this quote and I really was pleased with this photo. the unusual color mix in this one truly was a “capture” I think. 😉 Thanks for your continued support, it means so much. I am just getting some prints back today for my haiku journal submission, hopefully these are “up to par” and I am “ready to roll” . I really am excited about this project. I just hope there is a publisher out there that feels the same way!

    Hugs, G

  11. Funny that where you are, tulips are summer beauty! Mine were gone by March. Great shot, so vibrant!

  12. Bring on all the flower photos you want, Geraldine, they are great.
    Thanks for sharing this.

  13. Indeed, such a great thought, Geraldine!

    And the picture, such a rapture of spring-summer colors I’m filled with such a summer high just viewing it.

    Let me share with you a thought I keep in mind, and is one of the reasons for my writings, for keeping journals, for doing my arts:

    “Journal entries, mementos, photographs . . . are letters we send into the future; and by writing or speaking about events gone by we can communicate to some extent with the past.”

    I read about your invitation for the monthly writing prompt you launched recently, CONGRATULATIONS! for such a great idea, you know that I really would have love to join and be part of such an interesting writing collaborations but my time just don’t give me freedom at the moment to be active in writing for the reason that you know: my paintings. But when I have completed my collection, I will definitely go back to writing actively again just like before, and it’s your writing prompts that I will go back first.

    Thanks for including me in your thoughts to participate in your writing prompts, rest assured I will drop once in awhile and when I get the time drop you a note.

    I wish you well.

    ~ Jeques

  14. deliscious piece of wisdom and something that is applicable to me right now as i have just reconnected with my ex husband after like twenty years.. talking to him is freeing.. knowing that he doesn’t hate me and accepts me as i am ,, maybe isn’t worth all the guilt and shame i have suffered over the years for leaving him,, but has put it nicely to rest…

  15. Hi Catherine, These seemed to have “staying power” as tulips are also a “spring” flower, here in BC, not summer. I just loved the mix of colors in this scene, couldn’t resist a snap!

    Hi Sandy, And I hope you continue to share all your gorgeous nature photos over at your blogs. They are so inspiring and restful to look at.

    Hi Jeques, Wonderful to “see” you again and thanks for the thoughtful comment. I do understand re: your painting (love to see new ones) but do come back for a movie prompt when you can. Its been a slow start but I hope theyll be more participants as time goes by.

    Hi Paisley, Wow, that’s a long time…Sounds like you have a lot on the go right now, Ive been reading several posts over at your blog. I hope the road leads you in a wonderful new direction.

    Hugs and Happy Tuesday, G

Thank you for your comments!

