My Poetic Path

my journey…shared in poems, prose and photos

Haiku Reflections: Blue Rain

26 Comments

blue rain haiku

Also submitted for the OSI prompt: Blue Rain

Author: Geraldine

I am a freelance writer, poet, artisan, avid book/product reviewer and award-winning cookbook author. I recently published the second volume of my new vegetarian cookbook series: -The Groovy Green Kitchen II: Simply, Super, Supper Soups and my fun and inspirational book, all about aging well: -Laughing AT the Grim Reaper! Gems of Wisdom for Aging Well I am also the author of: -The Groovy Green Kitchen: Weeknight Veggie Slow Cooker -Third Chapter, Second Chance (a mid-life romance) -Not Just for Vegetarians: Delicious Homestyle Cooking, the Meatless Way and the poetry collections: -Haiku Reflections:The Four Seasons (Volume i and II) and -My Poetic Path All titles available at Amazon.com, .ca, UK.... When I'm not writing or creating new recipes, I love to knit and crochet; usually with some "help" from feline friend, yarn-loving Mr. Cheddar! I hope you will visit and enjoy all of my blogs.Thanks for stopping by. Wishing You a Happy Week and Namaste! :-) You can also visit me at my new author's site: geraldinehelenhartman.me

26 thoughts on “Haiku Reflections: Blue Rain

  1. Hi Geraldine–Then we all can plant potatoes? I think we need a certain phase of the moon besides your blue rain storm. 😉 Open, flash, boom, and follow make a nice active set of verbs. My ‘plant’ will fit right in/after.
    ..

  2. I loved this photo! The sky that day was really amazing, I remember it. You can almost “feel” the elements, reading this poem.

  3. Powerful parade of storm clouds in your photo! And your poem creates the sound effects!

  4. It will indeed. Nicely said – and a great pic.

  5. rain of summer, you put it well

  6. Very vivid imagery! I really liked this one.

  7. blue rain ushered in by a loud crack– very nice

  8. .. somehow ,simple words are very eloquent..

    the verse is lively ..

  9. I want to move into that picture.

  10. Indeed, it will. The sky bursts open, magic happens, and all is changed.

  11. Hi Jim, Sounds like a plan! 😉 Your garden looks amazing btw.

    Hi Gautami, LOL!!!

    Hi Joe, I remember that amazing sky too. We don’t get enough rain here, do we?

    Hi Gemma, I’m so glad it did. Nice to “see” you again.

    Hi Tony, Thanks so much Tony.

    Hi Lissa, You gave us a wonderful prompt to work with! Welcome to OSI too.

    Hi FP, Thanks so much and nice you could stop by.

    Hi Pam, I glad to “see” you again and thank you.

    Hi Zoya, That’s what I love about haiku. Every word must count. I’m glad you liked this one.

    Hi Carrie, Its headed for PLUS 40 C here on Sat. I hope they are wrong. Ill be right with you moving into this pic, if that’s the case. 😦

    Hi Sandy C, I like your description Sandy.

    Hugs and I wish you all a good week, G 🙂

  12. This is just fabulous. Love the image and the idea of blue rain. Just gorgeous!

  13. Those are definitely “swirling” clouds — apt words to accompany an amazing picture.

  14. very atmospheric! we’ve been in drought. would love the catharsis of blue rain.
    aren’t storms wonderful? and the peace that follows is silent bliss

  15. I just adore that kind of blue rain. Probably because we don’t get it around here. Wonderfully done.

  16. Beautiful use of the prompt. In just a few words, you captured the full feeling of the moment. 🙂

  17. Wow! I can hear this – beautifully done!

  18. Hi Sel, Thanks for your continued support and feedback. It is so appreciated!!!!

    Hi Floreta, Me too! 😉

    Hi Sue, We don’t see many days like this, here in Interior BC. I was so glad that I was at home, with camera at the ready, to capture this truly amazing sight. It wasn’t hard to be inspired to add the haiku.

    Hi Gabrielle, Welcome and I do agree, the aftermath of a storm is bliss. I always feel so refreshed!

    Hi Patois, Thanks so much.

    Hi Texas, Ahh…the beauty of haiku, isn’t it?

    Hi Sue, Thank you so much.

    Wishing you all a wonderful week, G

  19. This is a great poem – make me think about lightning crashes from Live. Nice one!

  20. it’s just as simple as that… thank you for the reminder…

  21. You can really feel the storm behind your words. Beautiful images. 🙂

  22. I love a summer storm- so powerful! Great interpretation and image!

  23. Hi Hele, Welcome to MPP and thanks so much!

    Hi Pie, It is indeed!

    Hi Ruinwen, I guess I nailed it then!!! 😉 So good to see a comment from you R. I’ll be over to visit soon.

    Hi Patti, Welcome and thank you for your kind words.

    Happy Weekend, G 🙂

  24. and…a ‘thank you ma’am’!’

    Wow, Geraldine–wish I knew what poem you might have offered for ‘the stranger’. Now you’ve got my curiousity up! You can send it to me privately at beth at virtualteahouse dot com…I’d love to see what you were cooking!

    Love to you and the picture of your bean salad made me exclaim out loud!

Thank you for your comments!

