My Poetic Path

my journey…shared in poems, prose and photos

Hearth and Home: It’s Picnic Time!

7 Comments

bean salad 2006

And what picnic would be complete without a hearty bean salad?

Here’s a popular recipe from my cookbook: Not Just for Vegetarians featuring a tangy mustard dressing. You can use any type of beans you have on hand instead of the chickpeas. Just remember to include the green or yellow beans for a nice added crunch and color too.

With today being  July 4th and July 1st  just passed, I thought this was a good salad choice to share, right about now. See page 2 for the complete recipe.

Have a great weekend and do let me know if you give this recipe a try. 🙂

Here is the link to the recipe and previous comments about it, from my cooking and craft blog. Enjoy!

Author: Geraldine

I am a freelance writer, poet, artisan, avid book/product reviewer and award-winning cookbook author. I recently published the second volume of my new vegetarian cookbook series: -The Groovy Green Kitchen II: Simply, Super, Supper Soups and my fun and inspirational book, all about aging well: -Laughing AT the Grim Reaper! Gems of Wisdom for Aging Well I am also the author of: -The Groovy Green Kitchen: Weeknight Veggie Slow Cooker -Third Chapter, Second Chance (a mid-life romance) -Not Just for Vegetarians: Delicious Homestyle Cooking, the Meatless Way and the poetry collections: -Haiku Reflections:The Four Seasons (Volume i and II) and -My Poetic Path All titles available at Amazon.com, .ca, UK.... When I'm not writing or creating new recipes, I love to knit and crochet; usually with some "help" from feline friend, yarn-loving Mr. Cheddar! I hope you will visit and enjoy all of my blogs.Thanks for stopping by. Wishing You a Happy Week and Namaste! :-)

7 thoughts on “Hearth and Home: It’s Picnic Time!

  1. Yum, bean salad. That’s look delicious.

  2. Geraldine, where can I purchase your cookbook, it sounds perfect for us. My husband is a vegetarian(ovo-lacto not vegan) , but I still eat meat occasionally.

  3. I have made your salad for lunch today. It is to die for. Even my son – who normally hates green beans is eating it. YUM!

  4. That looks delicious. Something I have to try!

  5. wow…delicious…

    love your blog…

  6. Hi Carrie, IS delicious! 😉

    Hi Sue, Thanks for asking. I am sold out of copies of my cookbook, as is Amazon (for new copies). Sometimes a good used copy shows up over at Amazon though, I will leave a link over at your blog if you want to check this out. I am hoping to get more copies of my cookbook, sometime in the future. If I do, I will post about it on my blog. I have a lot of people who would like to buy a copy but missed out previously when books were available. I hope in the meantime that you will give some of the recipes a try. There is a recipe archives over at my Veggies…blog, just click on the sidebar link.

    Hi Sel, Your comment made my day. And to you Nick, I gotta tell ya, GREEN BEANS ROCK!!! Kids can be tough critics. Im happy to say that many people have told me their kids love my recipes. What high praise this is.

    Hi Sandy, Let me know if you do!

    Hi Shraddha, Welcome and thanks for your kind words.

    Happy Sunday, G

  7. Thanks for your comment on my poem. Next week’s prompt is “thinking”–and I’m already not sure!

Thank you for your comments!

