My Poetic Path

my journey…shared in poems, prose and photos

Nowhere to Run

14 Comments

velvet curtain 

nowhere

to run

 

nothing

to fear

 

the lure

always there

from the other side

 

velvet curtains

lightly embrace, on three sides

softly

enveloping

comforting

                                 

voices muted

words faintly heard

suspended in

the charged/changed atmosphere

        

the warmth

remembering the warmth

of welcoming arms

                      

energy field

crackling in the night

reach out to touch, to hold

in this brief moment

                                                     

we will still

                 share this earth               

for a lifetime

and more

                     

they are with us

in our dreams and beyond

never to leave us 

                                 

nowhere to run

nothing to fear

 ♥♥♥ 

So many people seem to fear  “the other side”. I am not one of them. I embrace the opportunity that we have to still commune and communicate with those who have passed on. I think that this is not only possible but that it happens all the time. Communication via telepathy and through our dream encounters. What can be difficult is how to interpret what we are being told by those loved ones now passed on.

I have had many experiences with the “spirit world” and have interacted in a number of ways with those passed on. Dare I say it but I have actually seen spirits “in the flesh” on more than one occasion. What a thrilling and life-altering experience that can be. Not frightening at all. Only an affirmation that life indeed goes on and that love lives forever. 

I wrote this poem about 2 experiences I had, after visiting a well-respected psychic, Norm Pratt, who lives in our area and who helped me with some answers, during a very difficult time.

I recall vividly the feeling of the energy in the air during these experiences, so tangible. The feeling of being enveloped in love and those loved ones I miss, on the other side, reaching out to hold me close. Words don’t even come close to describing the power of these experiences. And then to let me go, to return to my life (for now) on this side.

As Norm Pratt said it so well, in regards to those passed on: “They are not really gone. They are just in another place with other things to do.” I couldn’t agree more. I am a believer.

Here’s another link re: communicating with those passed on, written by psychic: Jeffrey Wands.

 

Have you had any experiences with loved ones, now passed on?

Also written for the Monthly Movie Musings prompt:

Nowhere to Run

Photo: Courtesy of Flickr

Author: Geraldine

I am a freelance writer, poet, artisan, avid book/product reviewer and award-winning cookbook author. I recently published the second volume of my new vegetarian cookbook series: -The Groovy Green Kitchen II: Simply, Super, Supper Soups and my fun and inspirational book, all about aging well: -Laughing AT the Grim Reaper! Gems of Wisdom for Aging Well I am also the author of: -The Groovy Green Kitchen: Weeknight Veggie Slow Cooker -Third Chapter, Second Chance (a mid-life romance) -Not Just for Vegetarians: Delicious Homestyle Cooking, the Meatless Way and the poetry collections: -Haiku Reflections:The Four Seasons (Volume i and II) and -My Poetic Path All titles available at Amazon.com, .ca, UK.... When I'm not writing or creating new recipes, I love to knit and crochet; usually with some "help" from feline friend, yarn-loving Mr. Cheddar! I hope you will visit and enjoy all of my blogs.Thanks for stopping by. Wishing You a Happy Week and Namaste! :-) You can also visit me at my new author's site: geraldinehelenhartman.me

14 thoughts on “Nowhere to Run

  1. Lovely poem, G, as all of yours are! I’m not afraid of the other side either, it is just a different dimension. One person who leads workshops here says that every moment is Now, the past and future (as well as past and future lives) are Now, just in a dimension that we don’t access, mostly because we don’t know how to access it…but it Is very possible to do so. I believe that if you communicate to a loved one that is no longer on this plane, you have learned to access that other dimension where they now reside. (However, for whatever reason, this isn’t something that I do…..I do energy healing in other dimensions.)

    However, I did have one experience in communication with a loved one that I particularly remember…..I was in an online chat with a couple of friends and we were talking about grandparents. I knew only one of mine, my maternal grandmother who lived with us (in a two-family house) until she died when I was eight years old.

    As we were chatting there online, I felt someone touch the top of my head, and then caress me from head to shoulder. I thought my husband or son had come into the room, but no one was there, and they were both occupied in other parts of the house and had not entered the room in quite a while.

    I believe that caress came from my grandmother. 🙂

  2. haunting poem, I haven’t decide if I believe in such things, I suppose I would have to know or experiment for myself

  3. What a wonderful poem. I am so open to believing- just not sure what to believe!

  4. i would love to be able to believe in anything ,, and the belief you have is so vivid.. i have no idea what to expect,, or whether or not we can communicate with the ones that we love that have already passed,, but i do have hope that what you say is true…

  5. Interesting juxtaposition of “nowhere to run/nothing to fear” as one tends to mean trapped and the other safe. Love the poem. So many shadings.

  6. Hi M, Thanks for sharing your experiences Michelle. I know we’ve emailed about this topic before and I know you are a believer. It isn’t hard when it happens personally, is it?

    Hi Lissa, I think that makes all the difference. It did for me. We also have to be open to this being a possibility.

    Hi Patti, If it happens, you will know. According to Norm Pratt, most people have some psychic abilities but they need to be nurtured. I try to do that everyday. He said in my case that my energy field was very strong, my aura bright. He also shared that there are people he cannot even stand to be in a room with, the darkness around them is too intense and negative. I know he is the “real deal” as he has helped many police forces successfully find people who are lost (some times for a long time). Powerful….

    Hi Paisley, My beliefs are so vivid because my experiences have been so real, so undeniable. Before I ever saw a spirit, felt their presence etc…I wasn’t sure this was actually possible. Now, I have no doubts. I also use to fear death (big time) and again, that’s no longer the case. How can it be when I know love and life continue, in the next world. Comforting, oh yes!

    Hi Carrie, I used the prompt “nowhere to run” with the thought that there is no need to run anywhere, if there is nothing to fear. I hope that came through. Im so glad you liked this poem. It was written from the heart.

    Hugs and Happy Wednesday, G

  7. Wonderful poem/ You just get it. As you know, i have had my share of experiences with the ‘other side.’ I definitely believe and I know that those loved ones who have passed are with us all the time. We shouldn’t fear death, but life, that’s a different kettle of fish altogether!

  8. I am also a believer. We both have had these experiences. It is true, they do communicate from the other side, in different ways. It’s all about the interpretation.

  9. Well, it does not surprise me that you have this gift. I am open to anything, and do believe it is all possible.

    I hope you write more about this subject.

  10. i am also a beleiver…i totally relate to your words..

  11. Hi Sel, And I know, you “get it” too.

    Hi Joe, I am so glad to have shared many experiences with the spirit world, with you. What a blessing.

    Hi Sandy, It is a gift. Yes, I plan to write more about my experiences. Thanks for asking.

    Hi Shraddha, Nice to see you again and great to read that you can relate to my words. So many times I hesitate to bring up these topics. Sometimes people just don’t understand. Or even worse, they think you are crazy!!

    Hugs and Happy Weekend, G

  12. Love the poem – I, too, would like to hear more of your experiences. Years ago, I met with a metaphysical group and we worked with all sorts of energies – I miss it. Maybe it’s time to take another look. Thanks for the nudge and the lovely words!

  13. Hi Sue, That sounds like a great idea for a group. I could write a book about all the experiences I have had with the “spirit world”. I guess I’ve been blessed in this respect.

    Thanks for your continued support, G

  14. That is wonderfully inviting and comforting, Geraldine. Thanks for this. I am sorry I missed it earlier.

Thank you for your comments!

