My Poetic Path

my journey…shared in poems, prose and photos

That Still Small Voice Inside…

21 Comments

 DSCN0412                              

                                 Be Still…                                

when life is overwhelming

waves of heartaches and obstacles

litter the long path ahead

just, be still

hold on

listen to the  small but resonant voice

the way to inner calm

and clarity regained

 

take the time

close the door

the noise and

muddled voices

will still be there

upon your return

 

it is never the wrong time

to heed this unfailing truth

nurtured and safely stowed 

unscathed by wayward directions

 our  soul  reclaimed

  free and fearless spirit

                                          

on the darkest of days

it waits patiently

always and faithfully, there

perhaps hard to find

when life’s interventions

tempt us to ignore at our peril

                                      

the answer, waiting

our inner voice

 without any doubt

always there

 

be still

 

                         

This was a poem I wrote and posted on MPP, several months ago. I thought it was worthy of an encore and also rather appropriate for this week’s OSI prompt.

It’s about a million degrees, here in Interior BC. I think I’ll just sit and stare at this tranquil, COOL photo for a while!

Here’s the link to the original post and reader’s comments :

Be Still

Also submitted for the OSI prompt: Inner Voice

Author: Geraldine

I am a freelance writer, poet, artisan, avid book/product reviewer and award-winning cookbook author. I recently published the second volume of my new vegetarian cookbook series: -The Groovy Green Kitchen II: Simply, Super, Supper Soups and my fun and inspirational book, all about aging well: -Laughing AT the Grim Reaper! Gems of Wisdom for Aging Well I am also the author of: -The Groovy Green Kitchen: Weeknight Veggie Slow Cooker -Third Chapter, Second Chance (a mid-life romance) -Not Just for Vegetarians: Delicious Homestyle Cooking, the Meatless Way and the poetry collections: -Haiku Reflections:The Four Seasons (Volume i and II) and -My Poetic Path All titles available at Amazon.com, .ca, UK.... When I'm not writing or creating new recipes, I love to knit and crochet; usually with some "help" from feline friend, yarn-loving Mr. Cheddar! I hope you will visit and enjoy all of my blogs.Thanks for stopping by. Wishing You a Happy Week and Namaste! :-) You can also visit me at my new author's site: geraldinehelenhartman.me

21 thoughts on “That Still Small Voice Inside…

  1. I still love it and think it is very timely that you should revive. Tranquil, hopeful, serene. There is no need to consider giving up when one feels like that!

  2. A beautiful, comforting poem. Thanks, Geraldine!

  3. Definitely worth a second outing. That stillness is so important to the process.

  4. This was definitely worthy of an encore…I’m so glad you shared it again. What a beautiful poem! Very uplifting, and filled with words that ring so true.

  5. Comforting and inspirational, G. People in distress need this by their desk or bedside to read.

  6. Geraldine, be still and listen because the inner voice knows. I don’t hardly ever do that because I don’t trust that fellow very much. 🙂
    ..

  7. Geraldine, you are not by chance close to those wildfires, are you?

  8. Great advice. Very well written.

  9. Wonderful, Geraldine. So many people are to busy to hear, don’t you think?

  10. Indeed…one must stop and be still in order to hear their inner voice.

  11. Hi Sel, I hope it helps a bit!

    Hi Sandy C, Im so glad you enjoyed it Sandy.

    Hi Gautami, Good to read!

    Hi Tony, Sometimes, hard to find but definitely worth the search.

    Hi Fledgling, Thanks for your beautiful comment.

    Hi Christine, Im so glad this is a comforting poem, for several people.
    No, we are not in the “fire zone” that’s on the news right now. Kelowna is a couple of valleys and several hundred miles away. But it’s very distressing to see. We are also “tinder dry’ here so we are in danger too. 😦 Hopefully enough rain to make a difference, soon.Thanks for asking.

    Hi Jim, You are a wild and crazy guy Jim! And I mean that in the best possible way. 😉

    Hi Celine, Thanks so much!

    Hi SandyL, I know Im guilty of being too busy to hear at times. I find late at night that it’s a good time to listen, when the world around is relatively quiet. I can hear that important voice then…

    Hi Maggie, I totally agree.

    Thanks so much for your kind words and visits to MPP, most appreciated, G

    PS: Don’t ya just loath these new “smilies” from wp!!!

  12. it is never the wrong time

    to heed this unfailing truth

    nurtured and safely stowed

    unscathed by wayward directions

    our soul reclaimed

    free and fearless spirit

    I ♥ this poem! Nice read 🙂

  13. Not easy to remember in the hurried doings, the clamor and the chaos. I will keep this one tucked under my pillow.

  14. This is so inspirational and a wise reminder. It’s not easy to remember to find the stillness in these noisy and busy times. Lovely work and the photo is, as always, gorgeous and so appropriate for the words.

  15. Hi Bobbie, Welcome to MPP and thanks for your lovely comment!

    Hi Gabrielle, I hope it helps. Good idea!

    Hi Sue, You are so kind Sue, thanks for your continued support.

    Wishing you all a wonderful Wednesday, G

  16. Oh- I just loved this poem! It is so timely in my life and is so beautifully written.So true if we can just be still enough to recognize that. Thank you!!!

  17. yes, be still

    lovely piece!

  18. very soothing & very good advice(s)

    ps, I got a blog award for you – here’s the link:
    http://collectingsongs.blogspot.com/2009/07/my-first-blog-award.html

  19. Hi Patti, Thanks for your kind words. I’m glad my work ‘struck a chord’ with you.

    Hi Tammie, Thank you Tammie, nice to “see” you again.

    Hi Lissa, Thank you so much for the award. I will be passing it along too.

    Happy Weekend, G

  20. So good to read right now. I love this, thanks Geraldine.

Thank you for your comments!

