My Poetic Path

my journey…shared in poems, prose and photos

Cardinal in the Snow

12 Comments

cardinal in the snow

With the extremely hot weather continuing, here in Interior BC, I’ve been trying to conjure up “cool” images and stories to feel a bit better.

This lovely memory from long ago, came to mind…

It was early spring, on a beautiful Sunday morning  in Saskatchewan, where I was born.  I was a teenager at the time; walking home from church (yes, I went every week… rules were rules) through the park that was across from our family home.

As I looked into the distance, I saw a bright red “splotch” in the deep and freshly fallen snow. At first, I was frightened, fearing the red to be blood. Slowly and cautiously  I approached, not knowing what I would find. And then, the most amazing thing happened. There was movement in the snow!

The “splotch” was actually a tiny red cardinal!

Cardinals are very rarely seen on the Prairies. I had never seen one before that day, only in photos. It was truly a most amazing sight and one I will never forget.

The little bird had obviously gotten off course somehow. I worried that this tiny cardinal was hurt, sitting so still and for what seemed like several minutes, there in the snow.

I leaned down and patted it’s beautiful head. Then the cardinal started to walk around a bit, slowly but surely. And then suddenly, soared up into flight!

What a glorious sight! I ran the rest of way home to tell of my “adventure” and for once, my dad was suitably impressed! It took quite a bit to get his attention on most days. I only wished I had had a camera with me to capture the moment,  but “who knew” I was going to have such a sighting that day.

I was fortunate to find this beautiful cardinal photo on Flickr to share with you.

So back to my thoughts of cooler images and a break in the weather.

 We are not ravaged by BC forest fires yet (hopefully won’t be) but we are in the extreme fire danger zone right now. We need rain badly.

To all the brave firefighters, working around the clock in the  Kelowna area (a couple of valleys away from us and too close for comfort) you have my highest regard. The courage and commitment shown by the hundreds of workers battling these horrendous fires, is nothing short of amazing.  

How tragic that all three fires burning very near the City of  Kelowna are thought to be due to human error.

Photo: courtesy of Flickr

Author: Geraldine

I am a freelance writer, poet, artisan, avid book/product reviewer and award-winning cookbook author. I recently published the second volume of my new vegetarian cookbook series: -The Groovy Green Kitchen II: Simply, Super, Supper Soups and my fun and inspirational book, all about aging well: -Laughing AT the Grim Reaper! Gems of Wisdom for Aging Well I am also the author of: -The Groovy Green Kitchen: Weeknight Veggie Slow Cooker -Third Chapter, Second Chance (a mid-life romance) -Not Just for Vegetarians: Delicious Homestyle Cooking, the Meatless Way and the poetry collections: -Haiku Reflections:The Four Seasons (Volume i and II) and -My Poetic Path All titles available at Amazon.com, .ca, UK.... When I'm not writing or creating new recipes, I love to knit and crochet; usually with some "help" from feline friend, yarn-loving Mr. Cheddar! I hope you will visit and enjoy all of my blogs.Thanks for stopping by. Wishing You a Happy Week and Namaste! :-) You can also visit me at my new author's site: geraldinehelenhartman.me

12 thoughts on “Cardinal in the Snow

  1. I’ve never seen a cardinal either. You were so lucky to have had this experience. Thought there would be more birds to enjoy, here in BC but not as many as expected. Loved reading this post!

    I also want to say how brave the firefighters are. We are fortunate that they do the dangerous work that they do, to protect all of us.

  2. Look at that little guy. It’s as if he’s all dressed up for Christmas. How adorable and how fortunate you were to spot him.

    I am so sorry to hear about the fires. I’m praying no one will be killed. Those firefighters are amazing. True heroes!

  3. Hi G,

    What a wonder-full experience you had! Cardinals as SO beautiful. I used to see a few when we lived in New York; they aren’t around here.

    Thanks for the “cool” picture! Sure can use that today; our forecast is for 90s for the rest of the week.

    Blessings and prayers to the firefighters and the other people in the Kelowna area. Yes, people Must be careful when out in nature; even the most experienced nature lovers can make a small mistake that endangers many.

  4. That is a nice story, and a nice memory. Cardinals have not always been in Maine, but now they are quite numerous, especially in the southern area. We did have a lot of them when I lived in Oklahoma, though.

    I hope the fires stay far away from you. That shot in the paper was scary, wasn’t it?

  5. I feel so blessed. We have dozens of cardinals year round in the mountains of Kentucky, nonetheless, my heart still skips a beat every time I catch that flash of scarlet!

  6. Hi Joe, I do feel lucky to have experienced this amazing sight! It will remain with me, always.

    Hi Sel, This is a file photo courtesy of Flickr, I agree though this bird does look to be ready for the holidays! :<)

    Hi Michelle, Cooling thoughts are so helpful on the hot, hot days! There is blessed rain coming down right now, I hope it continues. My energy is returning!!!

    Hi Sandy, You have so many beautiful birds and animals to enjoy in your area. I'd love to see another cardinal!

    Hi Sue, They are amazing, aren't they? You can't imagine how surprised I was to see this little bird, in the cold climes of the Canadian Prairies. Truly amazing!

    Hugs and thanks for stopping by, G

  7. How strange to speak of snow now… We’ve had no summer here… But the pic is just perfect and I love cardinals. There were two in our backyard a few years ago, he – red like the one in the photo, she – brownish with a tinge of red. So beautiful!

    xoxoxo

  8. Hi Geraldine, I am glad you got to see that cardinal. The one you have here is the traditional setting, a bright red cardinal in the very white snow. We have them here (Southeast Texas) in the winter but there isn’t any snow for them.
    I am trying to clean up a little bit on my “Frangrance” ditty for tonight and needed to copy the link to here.
    Thank you for the nice prompt, I will see you again tomorrow. 🙂

  9. This is a great story rich with childhood wonder. What a gift that would have been. I never saw a live cardinal until I was in my thirties.

  10. Hi Vesper, I was trying to stay cool when I wrote this story LOL!!! It’s been so hot here in BC, blissfully cooler today. They (cardinals) are so beautiful, aren’t they?

    Hi Jim, It’s such a striking contrast, the vivid red set against the fresh white snow. I will never forget this experience, it was incredible and as I said above, there are NO cardinals to be seen in Saskatchewan, it just doesn’t happen. I was blessed!

    Hi Christine, It really was a gift.

    Hugs and Happy Weekend, G

  11. My grandmother had a thing for cardinals and collected them. Gorgeous picture, wow, great story.

    Better human error than human intent although still awful.

  12. Geraldine,
    This story touches me, as of course I can viisualize everything so clearly.I remember this park so well, and can see your house clearly as well in my mind.
    As well I can imagine your initial caution, and then wonder at seeing this bird.
    (Interestingly this would have been near to Cardinal Cres. as well) 🙂
    I really like your story very much. I think you were brave to pat the bird – I am always a little afraid of touching birds.
    I like the photo you found .
    Thanks for sharing this story with me.
    Brenda

Thank you for your comments!

