My Poetic Path

my journey…shared in poems, prose and photos

Monthly Movie Musings: Take 3

15 Comments

 

mmm2

Welcome back to Monthly Movie Musings.

The movie title prompt for the month of August is:

“It Could Happen to You”

200px-It_could_happen_to_you_ver2

This 1994 film starring Nicolas Cage (and how yummy he looked in that dinner jacket!) and Bridget Fonda is one of my all-time favorite “feel good” movies.  Click on the movie title above for more details about this film.

If you’ve never seen this movie, it’s definitely worth the time. It’s not only fun and entertaining to watch, it also has some important reminders about the virtues of “doing the right thing” even when it’s the harder route to take. If you have children, it’s also a great choice for family viewing. I find it so discouraging and disturbing to see the shelves in video stores piled with violent movies that just seem to keep on coming. What kind of message is this sending to children? Frightening…

I will include the link to last month’s prompt and my post. Not a lot of participants for this one, but I did receive some great feedback via comments and emails re: my experiences with the spirit world, which I shared briefly in this post. I will write a more indepth post about some past experiences with the “other side” in the near future. All have been memorable and life-changing.

In the meantime, I look forward to your interpretations of the August prompt. Perhaps the third time is the charm. I really had hoped that MMM would fly…maybe it just took a big red balloon!

If you’ve seen the movie, you will understand.

Happy Weekend and Writing!

PS: Question for WP bloggers. This post is taking a LONG time to write because WP keeps logging me out for no reason. I look down at the bottom of the screen and there’s the warning again that I am logged out! Are any of you having this happen? I don’t know why but I wish it would stop.

Author: Geraldine

I am a freelance writer, poet, artisan, avid book/product reviewer and award-winning cookbook author. I recently published the second volume of my new vegetarian cookbook series: -The Groovy Green Kitchen II: Simply, Super, Supper Soups and my fun and inspirational book, all about aging well: -Laughing AT the Grim Reaper! Gems of Wisdom for Aging Well I am also the author of: -The Groovy Green Kitchen: Weeknight Veggie Slow Cooker -Third Chapter, Second Chance (a mid-life romance) -Not Just for Vegetarians: Delicious Homestyle Cooking, the Meatless Way and the poetry collections: -Haiku Reflections:The Four Seasons (Volume i and II) and -My Poetic Path All titles available at Amazon.com, .ca, UK.... When I'm not writing or creating new recipes, I love to knit and crochet; usually with some "help" from feline friend, yarn-loving Mr. Cheddar! I hope you will visit and enjoy all of my blogs.Thanks for stopping by. Wishing You a Happy Week and Namaste! :-) You can also visit me at my new author's site: geraldinehelenhartman.me

15 thoughts on “Monthly Movie Musings: Take 3

  1. Geraldine, I saw this movie ages ago. I don’t remember it exactly, but I remember it had a good message. I guess putting ourselves in the other guy’s shoes can help us circumvent a lot of problems.

  2. I thought I’d seen every single movie! Somehow I missed this one. I know how you feel about the messages to kids, imagine making that violence into a video game where you get to blow people to pieces. Yeesh. I have an idea for this, back atcha later. 🙂

  3. good morning~ I saw this movie many years ago and loved it. nicolas cage and jane fonda are great actors. it’s nice to see something like this from time to time- something with a message. hope all is well.

  4. Hi – I’ve popped over from Michelle Johnson’s blog. I haven’t seen this film, but there are so many I haven’t seen, it’s not terribly shocking…

    I’m a film-oriented person, however. Your Monthly Movie Musings sounds like fun. I shall use your prompt for this week’s arts-related post, which goes up late tonight for Tuesday.

  5. I’d nearly forgotten about this movie and then had to go back and read the synopsis. I think I missed on how to participate in your MMM? I’m not sure I remember enough of the movie to do so… I’ll to put it in my Neflix Q!

  6. It is a good movie. I will definitely participate.

    Here’s the link to Selma’s story:

    http://selmainthecity.wordpress.com/2009/08/30/it-could-happen-to-you/

  7. Hi SandyC, It can indeed. I loved this movie!

    Hi Cat, Can’t wait to read what you’ve come up with for this prompt. I hope you check out this movie too. It’s the ultimate “feel good” flick! 😉

    Hi Michelle J, So nice to see you again. It actually was Bridgette Fonda not Jane who starred in this movie. Jane is her aunt. Both very talented actors.

    Hi Julia, I’m so glad you’ve stopped by. I look forward to reading your interpretation of this prompt. Thanks for participating!

    Hi Christine, The prompts are NOT about the movie. I only include the link to the movie info. FYI. The prompt can take you anywhere you want to go. Ill be writing mine later today and it’s definitely not about a lotto ticket, a cop and a waitress LOL!!! 😉

    Hi Sel, I look forward to reading your interpretation soon Sel. I know it’s going to be great.

    Hugs and Happy Writing, G 🙂

  8. Here’s mine:

    https://mypoeticpath.wordpress.com/2009/08/04/it-could-happen-to-you/

    I’ve shared a couple of experiences with the spirit world.

    Hugs again, G

  9. I saw this movie again not too long ago and still find it kind of sweet and I think winning the lottery is always a messy thing – you’ll never know what people are really like until money gets involve

    I will try to write with this prompt – something this week – I totally inspire your post about your brother and mother

  10. oops, I meant – I was totally inspire BY your post – the mistakes I keep making – perhaps I need more caffeine in my diet – can’t seem to remember to check my comments, sorry about that

  11. Hi again Lissa, I knew what you meant. Thanks for the correction though!

    Hugs, G 😉

  12. Well I missed it – that’s a good movie though! So this is on the 1st of every month?

  13. Hi Texas, Still plenty of time to participate. Each new prompt is posted at the first of the month, for the whole month. Hope you will still write something for this one.

    Hugs, G

Thank you for your comments!

