My Poetic Path

my journey…shared in poems, prose and photos

It Could Happen to You

18 Comments

As I’ve mentioned in several previous posts, I have had many experiences interacting with the spirit world.

The following are brief accounts (as well as can be explained with words) of 2 of these amazing experiences.

For the many people who wonder if this is actually possible, all I can say is:

It Could Happen to You! 

                                        

In 1992, my dear brother Wendell died at the very young age of 38. It was one of the most terrible and heart-wrenching experiences of my life. For weeks after his death, I cried myself to sleep, night after night, missing him so much.

Wendell was a very talented man. One of the things he loved to do most was to sing. He was in many rock bands during his life and toured Canada and parts of the U.S. performing. He had a wonderful and memorable voice. And it was the memory of  his voice that kept returning to me. I missed hearing from him on the phone and talking to him in person.

His voice…how I longed to hear it just one more time. To know that he was ok on the other side.

I returned home from work one night, accompanied by a close friend, Ron. I went to check my answering machine and there was one message waiting. I clicked the play button and there on the answering machine was a short message from Wendell!

There was a lot of static on the line as I remember but his distinctive and unforgettable voice came through, loud and clear…

“Hi Ger” (my nickname).

That’s all he said, but it was enough. He sounded happy.

 I was stunned by what I had heard; I could hardly stand up. I quickly called Ron into the room to hear the message. Yes, the message was still there. I played it again and again. It was the answer I had been hoping for. Wendell was ok and he sounded happy.

I took the tape out of the machine, marked it and safely stored the precious message. I wanted to share it with my mom (and other family members too) who was also going through a very bad time, trying to cope with her son’s death.

Of course she wanted to hear it. She was amazed by what I had told her on the phone that night. She just couldn’t believe this had happened. But when I played the tape for her the next day, it was blank. The message was gone. I was sad and so was she.

But the more I pondered why this had happened, why the tape was now blank, the more it became evident that perhaps hearing his voice again might have been too much for my mom to bear, too overwhelming

The reality though was that Wendell had been on that tape. I also checked to make sure it was the right one, several times and all was in working order with the answering machine.  

My friend Ron was also happy to have heard the tape and he did confirm to my mom as well that Wendell’s voice had been on the recording. It remains a treasured memory that will last forever.

♥♥

 

The other experience I wanted to share happened shortly after my mom’s passing in May 2007. My mom and I had been very close. Her death hit me hard, even though she was almost 90 and I knew she wouldn’t live much longer, it was still unbearable at the time.

I was lying in bed 2 nights before her funeral, thinking about her. Crying, missing her. I looked up on the wall in front of me (which was lit slightly by the bathroom light, that door slightly ajar). There on the wall was the shape of a large butterfly! It was absolutely amazing. I just stared and stared with a smile on my face. I couldn’t move, I didn’t want the moment to end.

I finally called Joe from the other room where he had been but the butterfly was gone by then. I shared my experience which he knew was true but he was sad he had not been able to also see this sign. Again, a message that seemed to be only for me.

My mom’s symbol, “signature piece” in jewelry etc, had always been the butterfly. I felt at peace and close to her again. I had no doubts that she was safe and happy on the other side.

Love never dies…

♥♥

These are just 2 of many experiences I have had with the spirit world.  I hope there are many more to come.

It has never been frightening or upsetting (many people have asked me about this) or something that can be “conjured up” (again something that people I know, have tried to do). It is only reassuring and remarkable.

I am a believer and I know that I am fortunate that experiences like this have happened to me. 

It could happen to you. Perhaps it already has?

Submitted for the Monthly Movie Musings prompt:

It Could Happen to You

Author: Geraldine

I am a freelance writer, poet, artisan, avid book/product reviewer and award-winning cookbook author. I recently published the second volume of my new vegetarian cookbook series: -The Groovy Green Kitchen II: Simply, Super, Supper Soups and my fun and inspirational book, all about aging well: -Laughing AT the Grim Reaper! Gems of Wisdom for Aging Well I am also the author of: -The Groovy Green Kitchen: Weeknight Veggie Slow Cooker -Third Chapter, Second Chance (a mid-life romance) -Not Just for Vegetarians: Delicious Homestyle Cooking, the Meatless Way and the poetry collections: -Haiku Reflections:The Four Seasons (Volume i and II) and -My Poetic Path All titles available at Amazon.com, .ca, UK.... When I'm not writing or creating new recipes, I love to knit and crochet; usually with some "help" from feline friend, yarn-loving Mr. Cheddar! I hope you will visit and enjoy all of my blogs.Thanks for stopping by. Wishing You a Happy Week and Namaste! :-)

18 thoughts on “It Could Happen to You

  1. wow! I always wonder about these things but it never happen to me, but it seems like a wonderful experience and I like to believe as you do that these things could happen and in your case it did, thank you for sharing – it’s very endearing

  2. It could, indeed. These things are possible and real. I have heard of such things.

  3. Oh that is just amazing! I have had experiences with the spirit world as well, though not quite as vivid as that. What a blessing and a gift!

  4. Hello Geraldine~ What a wonderful memory you have of your brother and mother after their respective death’s. I’m sorry for your losses. I’m sure this was one of the hardest things to survive. Thank you for sharing your endearing stories. Hope all is well.

  5. i have had a personal experience…but i do not like to talk about it..

  6. That must’ve been very, very comforting, rather than frightening or upsetting. I’m glad that it happened to you.

    That movie was cute too. Nice message.

  7. Hi Lissa, I’m glad you enjoyed reading about these experiences. It is wonderful each time, to know that loved ones passed on are still connected to us.

    Hi SandyC, They do indeed. These are just 2 of many experiences of this kind that I’ve had.

    Hi Cat, I thought these were 2 very vivid (to use your words) events to share. I will never forget either. I’d love to read about your experiences too.

    Hi Michelle, It is such a comfort to have something like this happen. I have no doubt, no doubt at all that life continues. What an amazing gift that is. I know.

    Hi Shraddha, That’s too bad, I’m sorry to read that. Hugs dear…

    Hi Carrie, Very, very comforting indeed.
    I loved the movie too.

    Hugs, G

  8. I enjoyed this post so much – It confirms my belief in a world just outside of our typical awareness. I often have synchronicities – crazy wonderful synchronicities, too numerous to recount. In the past I wondered at what they signified (why did they occur at all?). My feeling now is that they show people their lives count in the bigger picture… that each one of us is essential to the whole… that we are deeply loved.

    –Thanks for visiting us at The Self Love Project!!

  9. I have also had experiences with the spirit world. It is comforting to know that people who love you on the other side are still trying to communicate with you.

  10. Wonderful experiences, indeed! You’re deemed special to be granted a window like that to the other side. It definitely eases your pain and gives you the comfort you need in times of grief. It’s good to be back in here, G. Thanks for stopping by my place.

  11. Well, you know that I am a believer. I lost my cousin Patrick almost ten years ago now. It was suspected he may have committed suicide but never proven. Because of the possible suicide I worried and worried, thinking that he would not be at peace. One night he appeared in my house and laughed. He had a really infectious laugh.I saw him sitting on the couch but as I moved towards him he disappeared. However, I knew at that moment he was finally at peace.

    I have had lots of visitations over the years and agree with you that there is nothing to be afraid of. Both of your stories moved me so much. It’s love that makes them appear to us. They both loved you very much, G!

  12. Hi April, Thanks for stopping by and leaving such an interesting comment. I agree. April is my favorite name btw and the one I always wanted. I was born in April but I guess my mom didn’t think of it, at the time. 😉

    Hi Joe, And I’m glad that we’ve shared at least 1 experience like this, in a very similar way.

    Hi Chris, I was so glad to “see” you again, over at Sel’s! Yes, comforting and life-affirming. Life does go on…

    Hi Selma, What a great experience that must have been. I can understand your worry too.

    Hugs, G

  13. I haven’t had experiences like this for some time. Not sure when they ‘disappeared’. These are beautiful!

  14. so sweet and so endearing…

    life is beautiful..

    why did you stop wiritng in your other blog?

  15. hello g… it’s been awhile since passing through and so happy i did… love yr blog… and yr most recent posts the photos and poetry you’ve shared are lovely and so uplifting… glad you shared your spiritual experiences… i believe once people have left this earth they are not neccesarily gone from our lives… that you could experience and understand these occurrences is a blessing not something to fear…enjoy the revelation…!!

  16. Hi Sue, I hope you have more to come…

    Hi Shraddha, Just not enough time to keep two blogs going. I know people who have 4-5 blogs and busy lives too. HOW DO THEY DO IT! Lots of goodies in the archives over at Veggies…including recipes from Not Just for Vegetarians, my cookbook. I hope you’ll check out some previous posts over there.

    Hi P.O.P, So nice to “see ” you again and thanks for your kind words, most appreciated.

    Hugs, G

  17. Don’t you hate those annoying people who always leave it till the last minute to write something for the prompt? LOL.

  18. Just under the wire Sel! I’m heading over soon to read your take on this prompt. New one coming up soon. Hugs, G

    PS to Selma: I moved your story link to the MMM post with the other participants links, hope you don’t mind Sel.
    I really enjoyed your story. 🙂 GH

Thank you for your comments!

