My Poetic Path

my journey…shared in poems, prose and photos

Still waiting…

15 Comments

the white rain

                             

…for the rain.

We’ve had showers in the forecast for days now but only a few drops of rain have fallen. BC is having it’s worst year on record for forest fires. The whole province is in need of a good “soaking” ; so little rain this summer. I hope it comes soon to refresh the parched earth and trees and to finally put an end to the fires raging in so many areas.

Thankfully no fires in the immediate area where we live, so far.

Have a happy weekend and do send some rainy thoughts our way!  😉

I’ll include the poem/post I previously wrote to accompany this amazing photo:

   The White Rain

in case you missed it the first time around.

Photo courtesy of: Flickr

Author: Geraldine

I am a freelance writer, poet, artisan, avid book/product reviewer and award-winning cookbook author. I recently published the second volume of my new vegetarian cookbook series: -The Groovy Green Kitchen II: Simply, Super, Supper Soups and my fun and inspirational book, all about aging well: -Laughing AT the Grim Reaper! Gems of Wisdom for Aging Well I am also the author of: -The Groovy Green Kitchen: Weeknight Veggie Slow Cooker -Third Chapter, Second Chance (a mid-life romance) -Not Just for Vegetarians: Delicious Homestyle Cooking, the Meatless Way and the poetry collections: -Haiku Reflections:The Four Seasons (Volume i and II) and -My Poetic Path All titles available at Amazon.com, .ca, UK.... When I'm not writing or creating new recipes, I love to knit and crochet; usually with some "help" from feline friend, yarn-loving Mr. Cheddar! I hope you will visit and enjoy all of my blogs.Thanks for stopping by. Wishing You a Happy Week and Namaste! :-)

15 thoughts on “Still waiting…

  1. Sending you wet wishes and cumulus comments to help the process… 😆 Very much enjoyed your poem, The White Rain. Great last line. The photo is awesome!

  2. That is a gorgeous picture. The lack of rain is a little scary!

  3. We had a two plus inch of rain last Friday. It was the first this summer, we are soooooo dry too.
    I took some rain pictures (for blogging of course) with the ran standing on the golf course behind our home. 🙂
    Missed you on OSI. Is your movie title prompt thing a once a month duty? If so maybe you will be with us this Sunday or later in the week? I don’t have a link to the movie prompt.
    ..

  4. that picture is breathtaking…

    wishing you some good weather soon..

  5. I hope it comes. That is a marvelous photo.

  6. I know what it’s like to wait for the rain. A few years back it didn’t rain for 6 months. The dust was unbelievable. I’ll send an offering to the rain gods!

  7. Hi April, Nice to read that you enjoyed this encore performance! Love the happy face you included. Looks like the nice smilies are back!

    Hi Carrie, It really is. 😦

    Hi Jim, Nice to read I was missed at OSI. The MMM prompts are once a month. If you scroll down the page, it’s right there 2 posts below this one. I also wrote a post about this prompt which is right below this one. Not a duty Jim, it’s suppose to be fun!!! 😉

    Hi Shraddha, I love this photo too. I didn’t take it but I can appreciate how difficult this shot was to capture.

    Hi SandyC, Thanks so much.

    Hi Sel, I remember you writing about the intense dry spell in Australia, last summer as I recall. It really is scary with all the fires burning. And so much loss to think about too: trees, habitat, animals (so tragic) when these fires are out of control. Many still are in BC.

    Rain appears to be on the way tonight. Here’s hoping…

    Hugs and Happy Weekend, G

    Hi

  8. I love the soothing sound of White Rain! The photo is haunting. I’m just south of you and it’s dry here – no major fires but major smoke. Unusual weather.

  9. What a beautiful photo Geraldine and your words that accompanied this before is perfect. Have a great night.

    Also, hope those fires are put out soon. I can’t imagine how terrifying it is to worry about fires taking one’s home.

  10. Rain is indeed a state of mind, and needless to say a beautiful state 🙂
    Wonderful picture and beautiful poem 🙂

  11. it rained so hard here in ny today – i saw the top blow off a fire hydrant because of the pressure! The streets were rivers. You’re certainly welcome to all you can carry home 🙂

    mia

  12. Hi Sue, I’m assuming you are in Washington state? Yes, it certainly is unusual weather but then again, maybe not. Ive read that this area is one of the hardest hit in Canada as far as the effects of global warming are concerned. 😦 I also agree that in years to come, the North will become a very popular place to live, as one of the last places that will enjoy relatively temperate and comfortable temps. I am not a hot weather person so that sounds good to me.

    Hi Michelle, Im so glad you enjoyed the poem. I agree, fires close to home are truely terrifying. I feel for all the people who are directly affected and for the firefighters braving all the danger and heat. It’s the worst year on record in BC for forest fires.

    Hi Lena, How nice to “see’ you again L! I will stop by to visit soon. Thanks for your comment.

    Hi Mia, Wow, that’s some storm. Nice to “see” you again too.

    The clouds are looming again today, hopefully the rain will follow this time.

    Hugs, G

  13. I can SO relate to this because over the years we’ve had the same rainless summers. This summer has been a bit better and so far so good. But we are getting smoke from those fires in BC of which you are so concerned. Let it rain in BC! Keep us posted on this, G.

  14. It is raining today and it also rained yesterday! What a lovely, soothing sound and sight…. 🙂

  15. In contrast, the Chicago locals told me this is one of the cooler summers that the city had. It is august now, but we can count in our fingers the days that we had over 90 degrees F temp. and they lasted only for a few hours, the temp drop to to 80’s or 70’s by late evening.

    I love this summer, the sun is up but it’a always cool, so I don’t have to sweat a lot outdoors. and we have share of rain, too.

    I wish we could hold on to this season, but we could not hold on to something beautiful forever, even summer. And just the same, the drought in your area will also come to pass and you will be showered with rain by the heavens again. In the ancient times, forest fires signal renewal, new growth, to give way to new life and new beginnings to all living creatures again.

    I wish you well.

    ~ Jeques

Thank you for your comments!

