My Poetic Path

my journey…shared in poems, prose and photos

Farewell Dear Mitzi 1988-2009

31 Comments

007

008

Our beloved Mitzi passed on, this past weekend.

She joins Tasha, Prince Theo and Lois on the other side.

She did not suffer. She died in my arms, so peacefully.

We spent 21 wonderful years together.

No one could ask for a better pet friend to share life with.

She was a wonder and a joy, in so many ways.

Joe and I will never forget our darling girl.

This is how we want to remember Mitzi, in all her glory.

Safe journey dear Mitz….

♥♥

PS: Update 2013.

Unfortunately, the slideshow I had made featuring Mitzi is no longer available online.

I’ve added a couple of photos to this post instead.

Such a beautiful, sweet, little furry girl.

I still miss her, every day.

Author: Geraldine

I am a freelance writer, poet, artisan, avid book/product reviewer and award-winning cookbook author. I recently published the second volume of my new vegetarian cookbook series: -The Groovy Green Kitchen II: Simply, Super, Supper Soups and my fun and inspirational book, all about aging well: -Laughing AT the Grim Reaper! Gems of Wisdom for Aging Well I am also the author of: -The Groovy Green Kitchen: Weeknight Veggie Slow Cooker -Third Chapter, Second Chance (a mid-life romance) -Not Just for Vegetarians: Delicious Homestyle Cooking, the Meatless Way and the poetry collections: -Haiku Reflections:The Four Seasons (Volume i and II) and -My Poetic Path All titles available at Amazon.com, .ca, UK.... When I'm not writing or creating new recipes, I love to knit and crochet; usually with some "help" from feline friend, yarn-loving Mr. Cheddar! I hope you will visit and enjoy all of my blogs.Thanks for stopping by. Wishing You a Happy Week and Namaste! :-)

31 thoughts on “Farewell Dear Mitzi 1988-2009

  1. This is a beautiful and poignant tribute.
    (Timoteo…fellow veggie currently “owned” by four cats)

  2. OH! I am so sorry!!! I never knew how much these babies can affect our lives until I got one. Those are some gorgeous pics – especially the one in the chair in the sunlight.

    ::hug::

    mmia

  3. Geraldine, I’m so sorry for your loss. 21yrs is a long time to bond with someone. Mitzi is a beautiful cat. Your tribute was wonderful. I’m sure she’s in peace now.

  4. G I’m so sorry! HUGS I watched the slideshow with tears for your loss. They love us unconditionally and yet they leave too soon.

  5. i am so sorry to hear about Mitzi.

    Lovely pictures and lovely tribute..

  6. Mitzi was a beauty, Geraldine. I particularly like the photo of her with her little red coat on. She was obviously a much loved member of the family. I am so sorry she is gone. Farewell, dear one. Rest well. XXXOOOOXXX

  7. Geraldine, I am sorry about your loss. With you at heart!

  8. So sorry to hear of your loss, Geraldine. She was a beauty. I am sure you will feel her around again.

  9. Oh no, G!! I’m so sorry.

  10. What an incredible, beautiful spirit… sending you much love for the loss of your dear friend.

  11. G., so sorry to hear about “The Mitz.” I’m glad she was safe in your arms when she passed. We’re thinking of you.

  12. how sad to hear that, I’m sure the wonderful memories you have with her will keep her vibrant spirit alive somewhere, somehow

  13. Thank you for all your emails and comments, much appreciated.

    I am still feeling rather numb today. Mitzi was such a special cat. It seems so strange to not have her here with us. Meowing for din-din, doing her little “pace” (she started that in the last year) up and down, up and down, waking us up in the morning etc…. She was a treasure.

    Mr. Cheddar is sad too. When the time is right, we will have to get him another companion.

    Hugs to all of you and please hug your pets for me, if you have any. Their lives are much too short and they leave such a space when they leave us. G

  14. Oh my dear, Geraldine. I’m so sorry….I know how much you adored your girl.

    I know a little blonde bombshell who met her at the Bridge…has taken her in paw and is keeping her company, showing her around, and they’re waiting till we get there.

    The Meezer and I send our love.
    ((((Hugs))))

  15. Oh, my heart felt condolences, G. It truly is so hard to let these pet friends go. What a wonderful life and the photos grab at my heart.

  16. Just popping in again to send you some more hugs!

    We have passed on a Lovely Blog Award to you… no rush – when you feel ready, come on by… we appreciate your blog and creativity so much.

  17. 21 years — what a wonderful journey together. Hugs, Sue

  18. Hope you’re healing a little bit G. Hang in there.

  19. That’s such a beautiful tribute!! But 21 years!! Really so much, I guess you must really be feeling sad losing such a friend, so what if a pet. They at times manage to heal us better than anyone else…

  20. Thank you again for all your kind words via comments and emails, most appreciated.

    Many hugs, G

  21. PS: I accidentally deleted a few comments for this post, that I found in my spam filter (but shouldn’t have been there) so sorry. They were appreciated nonetheless. G

  22. Geraldine- I am so sorry for your loss. Animals come into our lives and make such an impact and leave us with tiny pawprints on our hearts.

  23. I’m sorry for your loss. Twenty-one years is a LONG time … but fur friends just don’t live long enough, do they? They DO teach us to live in ‘the moment’ however and the memories live on.
    Hugs and blessings,

  24. Hi Patti, They do indeed, thanks Patti.

    Hi Barb, Another gem to dwell on. To live in the moment…can we ever be reminded of that enough? I don’t think so.

    Hugs, G

  25. Oh, she was so beautiful!
    21 years…that’s wonderful you had her that long!
    Smokey is now 16 and I’m doing everything I can to keep her with me as long as I can.
    I’ll know when it’s time to let her go.

    Hugs, my friend!

    Margie

  26. What wonderful memoires for you… it is something how they can find a spot in the sun, they always look so comfortable when they sleep… Beautiful little one….RaeDi

  27. she looks very sweet. I have had many cat friends: bootsie, marmaduke, markise, nylah and belly. I once had a cat friend named mitzi too. cats are the best. 🙂

  28. Cats are wonderful company! My beautiful BJ Hunnicat was with me for 17 years – got me through some horrific relationships and times of struggle. His purring and snuggles got me to sleep on nights I thought I would die. His meows greeted me every day after work and we loved just hanging out together. I’m allergic and can’t have a cat anymore but BJ literally saved my sanity for the years we were together. Glad you enjoyed that experience with Mitzi and your other feline friends/family.

  29. Hi Geraldine, I’m sorry to hear about the passing of Mitzi. Our cat Cato also lived 21 years. He wasn’t big, but very athletic. He could jump as high as a light switch. His favorite sport was batting or catching tinfoil balls. Second favorite, was chasing a laser light. Often he would sleep through the night, purring on my chest. One morning he had deposited a dead mouse; quite a surprise to wake up to. We are grateful for the 21 years of love. ~ Dennis

  30. Hi Margie, And she was never seriously ill, in all that time. Right up until the last week of her life, she was still active as ever but there were little signs that her time here was coming to an end. I was so glad she could pass away peacefully in my arms, although it was heartbreaking too. But 21 for a cat is a long life, as you know. I’m grateful I shared all those years with dear Mitzi.

    Hi Rae, And how Mitzi loved the sun. She was such a tiny little girl, loved to be warm and snuggly in the sun or even better, in freshly dried laundry. That was one of her fav spots. 😉

    Hi Karyl, You said it, cats ARE the best.

    Hi Vera, I can SO relate to your comment Vera. Mitzi and the rest of the “herd” (I had 4 cats together for many, many years) saw me through many a sad day and a few bad relationships too. When they don’t like someone, there’s a reason. I realize that now. They sense things that perhaps we don’t always.

    I’m glad you’ve had some lovely days with your sweet kitty boy too. Sounds like a gem.

    Hi Dennis, Oh Catso, that is a cute name. And I know all about the “gifts” they like to bring us. Mitzi and Tasha use to bring dead grasshoppers to the back door and drop them on the mat. Yuck….but cute at the same time. Not for the grasshoppers though!

    Thanks for your kind and thoughtful comments. It was nice to read these again today and think about Mitzi too.

    Hugs, G

  31. The name of my cat is Leo – a very specially cat!!
    It`s a picture of Leo in my blog…

Thank you for your comments!

