My Poetic Path

my journey…shared in poems, prose and photos

Allow the time to heal…

24 Comments

mitzi tribute

We are still recovering from the loss of our dear Mitzi (tribute post is directly below this one) who passed on, last weekend. Allowing ourselves the time to heal and to remember her. Such wonderful memories to cherish.

Mr. Cheddar has been very quiet. He seems to find comfort in cuddling up on Mitzi’s favorite nap blankets.I know he is also missing her, very much.

♥♥

 Also submitted for the OSI prompt: Allow

Author: Geraldine

I am a freelance writer, poet, artisan, avid book/product reviewer and award-winning cookbook author. I recently published the second volume of my new vegetarian cookbook series: -The Groovy Green Kitchen II: Simply, Super, Supper Soups and my fun and inspirational book, all about aging well: -Laughing AT the Grim Reaper! Gems of Wisdom for Aging Well I am also the author of: -The Groovy Green Kitchen: Weeknight Veggie Slow Cooker -Third Chapter, Second Chance (a mid-life romance) -Not Just for Vegetarians: Delicious Homestyle Cooking, the Meatless Way and the poetry collections: -Haiku Reflections:The Four Seasons (Volume i and II) and -My Poetic Path All titles available at Amazon.com, .ca, UK.... When I'm not writing or creating new recipes, I love to knit and crochet; usually with some "help" from feline friend, yarn-loving Mr. Cheddar! I hope you will visit and enjoy all of my blogs.Thanks for stopping by. Wishing You a Happy Week and Namaste! :-)

24 thoughts on “Allow the time to heal…

  1. Geraldine,
    My heart goes out to you. What a loss, my friend. I hope Mr. Cheddar is ok.

    (I do have your image for that post. Sorry not to respond.)

  2. This post brings tears to my eyes. We often forget that our other animals can grieve too. Mr. Cheddar is a gorgeous cat. Whisper in his ear I’m sorry for his loss. Hope you can find a way to heal too, Geraldine.

  3. Hugs and love to Mr. Cheddar… How very lonely it must be for him…

    And yet I cannot help but sense the loving presence of Mitzi – padding around, winding around your feet, nuzzling Mr. Cheddar, rolling and purring in delight. That kind of love, the spirit of one so cherished is never far… if we had cat eyes… we would see. And smile.

  4. I almost can’t write. This is the hardest thing about a beloved pet passing for me. Seeing the grief the one left behind experiences. When my cat, Olive, died, my dog mourned her for about 6 months. They were such good friends and had been raised together since both were 8 weeks old. I am so sad for Mr. Cheddar right now. My heart goes out to him. And to you XXX

  5. Sorry to hear about this. You offered a beautiful tribute here.

  6. Many people think of cats as solitary creatures, sufficient unto themselves, but we who share our homes and lives with multiple cats know differently. My heart goes out to you and Mr. Cheddar.

  7. Don’t feel sad Mr. Cheddar, Mitzi is still with us.

  8. Geraldine, I feel so sorry for Mr. Cheddar. I know he along with all the family
    loved Mitzi so very much. He will be missed for quite a long while. Gradually
    [I’m sure you know all this] you all will be telling tales about Mitzi and saying
    something endearing about her. I do fear though, that Mr. Cheddar will continue
    to grieve. Animals do not forget.
    I also believe that animals go to Heaven as a part of God’s creation.
    I heard a preacher lady on the radio explain it her way, that “The creation
    waits in eager expectation …” Roman’s 8:19 was her Bible scripture, relating to
    Jesus’ second coming. We shall see.
    ..
    One aside, we are watching our Adi failing fast here. I don’t know if you have seen
    her mentioned, she is on my other blog a whole lot.
    http://jimmiehov.blogspot.com/2008/04/adi-about-me-little-meme.html
    ..

  9. oh m so sorry to hear that Geraldine…
    u offered a lovely tribute to her here… she lives on in your memories i think.

  10. how sad but that is life isn’t it? I hope Mr. Cheddar will be able to heal somehow…

  11. Poor sad Mr Cheddar. He must be missing Mitzi keenly, as you are.

  12. Now I feel badly for Mr. Cheddar too beside the two of you. A dear Tribute, G.

  13. So sorry to hear this…so sorry… A wonderful tribute.

  14. yes sometimes we must allow for time
    healing has its own way
    you said this well.

  15. awww… these lines and the picture made me feel sad for him… so touching..

  16. very sweet…just like you
    yes allow all the time to heal…my friend..
    hugs and love

  17. Dear Sandy C, Michelle, April, Selma, Tony, Sue, Jim, Leo, Lissa, Carrie, Christine, Sue T, Tammie, Lena, Shraddha,

    Your kind and thoughtful words have brought me much comfort. I have re-read each of your comments (and also emails sent) many times. Thank you for your thoughtfulness and your understanding. People without pets sometimes don’t realise how important they become in our lives. It’s nice to know that so many people do share the pain, with pets or without. Many hugs and hugs to all of your pets too. I hope they are with you for many years to come. Mr. Cheddar says Meow-thank you too!

    Dear Joe, We will never forget our Mitz, will we? The pain gets a little less each day now, thinking of her enjoying warm sunny days in cat heaven. I know she is there….

    Hugs, G

  18. Very moving. Loss in all of it’s forms is so hard for those who love. Well done

    love-Melanie-bd

  19. He’s such a sweetie…the blankie is just the right thing for him right now…
    (((Hugs)))

  20. Aww- animals grieve too and Mitzi will not be forgotten at all. This poem and picture touched my heart- thanks for sharing it. Take care~

  21. Dear Melanie, Sallee and Patti,

    Thanks for your kind words too. Mr. Cheddar is reclining on the bed, soaking up the sun coming in through the window. He sends his thanks/meows to you too.

    Many hugs, G

  22. I have four felines, all getting up there. It’s never easy to lose one, is it? I’m so sorry.

    If you visit my blog, be forewarned that a cute kitten has been recently posted since we just acquired one for my mom to help with the loss of my father last year.

    All losses hurt.

    Take care,

    Kat

  23. Knowing how hard it’s been for Molly to adjust to Jenke moving away, I can imagine what it’s been like for all of you. Give yourselves time and be there for one another. I’ve just shared an update at Small Reflections about Molly and the Dalmatian puppy who moved in to Jenke’s house a while back. It’s been heartening to watch them together.
    Hugs and blessings,

  24. Hi Poetikat, Thanks for your kind words. I enjoy kitten and cat stories but it is still hard to read them right now.

    Hi Barb, Ill stop by soon. As I said above, right now it’s a bit hard but getting easier as time goes by. Mitzi will NEVER be forgotten or replaced. She was one of a kind and so special.

    Hugs, G

Thank you for your comments!

