My Poetic Path

my journey…shared in poems, prose and photos

Blue Butterfly

25 Comments

blue butterfly

                                    

blue butterfly

the memory of you

 brought to mind

 again and again

                          

blue butterfly

enjoy each day

the sun

 the freedom

now and forever,

yours

                         

blue butterfly

onward

up, up and away

this time

is your time

to soar

                 

blue butterfly

my wish…

to know in my heart

 to feel your presence

forevermore

                                                  

Dedicated in memory of my dear mom, Helen Ruth. 

You are in my thoughts, every day.

                                                                    

Some other “blue” poems (in the best possible sense of the term/word ) 😉 that I’d  like to share:

Probably my favorite poem of all time: by Rupert Brooke. What glorious, timeless words!

One of my haiku/photos: Blue Rain.

One of my earlier poems that features the word “blue” : Wait for Me

***

Submitted for the OSI prompt: Blue

Photo courtesy of: Flickr

Author: Geraldine

I am a freelance writer, poet, artisan, avid book/product reviewer and award-winning cookbook author. I recently published the second volume of my new vegetarian cookbook series: -The Groovy Green Kitchen II: Simply, Super, Supper Soups and my fun and inspirational book, all about aging well: -Laughing AT the Grim Reaper! Gems of Wisdom for Aging Well I am also the author of: -The Groovy Green Kitchen: Weeknight Veggie Slow Cooker -Third Chapter, Second Chance (a mid-life romance) -Not Just for Vegetarians: Delicious Homestyle Cooking, the Meatless Way and the poetry collections: -Haiku Reflections:The Four Seasons (Volume i and II) and -My Poetic Path All titles available at Amazon.com, .ca, UK.... When I'm not writing or creating new recipes, I love to knit and crochet; usually with some "help" from feline friend, yarn-loving Mr. Cheddar! I hope you will visit and enjoy all of my blogs.Thanks for stopping by. Wishing You a Happy Week and Namaste! :-) You can also visit me at my new author's site: geraldinehelenhartman.me

25 thoughts on “Blue Butterfly

  1. I love butterflies..blue or otherwise!

    knife’s edge
    Please don’t forget to post your creative works at Monday Poetry Train Revisited too!

  2. Gorgeous words for a beautiful creature.

  3. the refrain of “blue butterfly” is very nicely done.
    it gives the work a very different feel.

    beautiful words.. and the photograph as well!

  4. Is that your photograph — it is astounding, you can see all the little blue fuzz on his body and wings! Love the poem, a nice tribute to your mother.

  5. There is something sacred about butterflies…every time I see one, my breath catches at their delicate grace and beauty. What a wonderful and touching tribute to the memory of your mother. Your photograph is gorgeous!!

  6. Beautiful poem, I know your mom loves it.

  7. Sweet tribute to your mom…my mom`s name is Ruth.

  8. A beautiful, magical poem to honor your mother. I am deeply touched. Such beauties are rare.

    (Geraldine, you’re up next week with “romance.” I’ll stay tuned for the poem.)

  9. what a beautiful tribute to your mother. i’m sure she’s looking down on you and smiling. hope all is well. have a great night.

  10. Hi Gautami, I feel the same way. They are magical creatures!

    Hi Tony, Thanks so much!

    Hi Leo, Nice to “see” you again and so glad you enjoyed this work.

    Hi Sue, No, it’s a Flickr find. No butterflies to see here, at least not many. I loved this photo too.

    Hi Sweetest, I agree with you, something sacred I believe as well. Thanks for your kind words and great prompt this week.

    Hi Joe, I really hope she does.

    Hi Maggie, Thank you so much!

    Hi Sandy C, What kind words, thanks friend. I’m ready for next Sunday! 🙂

    Hi Michelle, Your comment made me feel content, thanks M!

    Hugs and wishing you all a happy and productive week, G

  11. Beautiful in every way. I have never seen a blue butterfly before. What an exquisite creature!

  12. Lovely! I don’t think I’ve ever SEEN a blue butterfly before, but your words resonate in this touching tribute. Thank you ;–)
    Hugs and blessings,

  13. such a beautiful tribute.. each word is so carefully chosen and it gives a special meaning to the poem.. very touching 🙂

  14. Such a tender and beauty-filled tribute. This touched my heart.

  15. Lovely verse and photo. Is that a western pygmy-blue? I have only seen on in books.

  16. this is a sweet tender tribute.

  17. Hi Sel, I’ve only seen a couple and not up close as this pic is. Aren’t they gorgeous? My mom looked wonderful in all shades of blue (with her light blonde hair and blue eyes) so it’s a color that always brings thoughts of her to mind, especially when it’s a blue butterfly. glad you enjoyed this one.

    Hi Storyteller, So nice to “see” you again! Thanks for your kind words. Ill stop by for a visit, very soon.

    Hi Lena, Every word WAS carefully chosen. I’m beginning to really understand the saying “less is more” as I continue to work on my writing. Some of the best writing Ive enjoyed reading has been very succinct and simple. Deceptively simple. Thanks Lena!

    Hi Christine, Im so glad it did.

    Hi Sandy, You’ve got me there Sandy. Flowers aren’t the only thing I don’t know names of. 😉

    Hi Tammie, Im so glad you enjoyed it.

    Hi Shraddha, Wonderful!

    Thanks so much for stopping in and leaving a comment, always appreciated. Hugs, G

  18. This made me tear up. Beautiful.

  19. Beautiful tribute to your mother! The photo is stunning, as well.

  20. Hi Carrie, Thanks Carrie. I miss my mom so much. Tears….yes, there are still plenty of those for me too.

    Hi Sue, Thanks so much. It is an incredible photo, isn’t it?

    Hugs and thanks for commenting, G

  21. Hi~ What a special tribute to your mom~ the words ring so true as wishes, don’t they? The picture is gorgeous- I don’t think I have ever seen a blue butterfly… but I would love to!

  22. touching…..so beautiful

  23. These are all so very lovely. I feel the warmth of the day with them.

  24. Hi Patti, They are rare in this area of BC too. When I see a butterfly, I always think of my mom and hold her even closer in my heart.

    Hi Deli, I am so glad you enjoyed this work.

    Hi Patois, Thanks Patois, what a lovely comment.

    Hugs to all of you, G

Thank you for your comments!

