My Poetic Path

my journey…shared in poems, prose and photos

Monthly Movie Musings: Take 4

14 Comments

 Welcome to another Monthly Movie Musings.

 

mmm2

                             

This month’s movie prompt is:

bramble bush  

The Bramble Bush

I’ve been a long-time fan of the late Richard Burton. Just listening to his voice is entertainment enough for me ;<). He was considered to have the second greatest voice in theatre, of all time. Lawrence Olivier apparently the only actor that was considered better, in that respect.

Personally, I thought the whole Richard Burton “package” was rather nice!  😉

 I happened to find this video (click on the movie title above for more details about the film) at a local thrift store and was glad to add it to our collection of nostalgia movies.

Unfortunately, this is not Richard at his best. As is so often the case for this era of (late 50’s, early 60’s) films, the story line and acting are for the most part, just plain CHEESY!!! That’s the only word that comes to mind that really nails it.

The plot has a serious and rather troubling theme. I do believe that this  had the potential to be a really good film. But given the era it was set in and the style of films being produced at that time;  to watch it now, it just comes across as rather contrived and unrealistic. It does have it’s moments though. And I loved the title!

If you are a nostalgia buff as I am, this might be one you’d still enjoy checking out. Richard Burton and Angie Dickinson were so very, very young in this movie. When stars were stars! And if you are also a Richard Burton fan, this is one of his first starring roles in the U.S. For me, it was definitely worth the dollar I spent, to bring this one home.

                             

As for the writing promptThe Bramble Bush.

Here’s the definition of :

bramble: a prickly shrub, including the blackberry and the raspberry

                                                               

I’ve got a short story idea that I hope to write for this one. It is loosely based on a real event that a family member shared with me, many years ago. It is a memory that never left me. I hope that I can do it justice…

I look forward to reading your interpretation of : The Bramble Bush. You have a whole month to write about this prompt and remember, it’s not about the movie, it’s about the title and where you want to take it! Please remember to come back and leave a comment here, with a linkback to your story or poem so that we can all enjoy it!

Here’s the link to last month’s prompt offerings for: It Could Happen to You including  links back to participant’s interpretations of this movie prompt.

Thanks to everyone who participated in August.  I really enjoyed reading your stories and poems. I hope you will participate again this month and do spread the word, please and thank you!

Happy Writing and Happy September. 🙂

Author: Geraldine

I am a freelance writer, poet, artisan, avid book/product reviewer and award-winning cookbook author. I recently published the second volume of my new vegetarian cookbook series: -The Groovy Green Kitchen II: Simply, Super, Supper Soups and my fun and inspirational book, all about aging well: -Laughing AT the Grim Reaper! Gems of Wisdom for Aging Well I am also the author of: -The Groovy Green Kitchen: Weeknight Veggie Slow Cooker -Third Chapter, Second Chance (a mid-life romance) -Not Just for Vegetarians: Delicious Homestyle Cooking, the Meatless Way and the poetry collections: -Haiku Reflections:The Four Seasons (Volume i and II) and -My Poetic Path All titles available at Amazon.com, .ca, UK.... When I'm not writing or creating new recipes, I love to knit and crochet; usually with some "help" from feline friend, yarn-loving Mr. Cheddar! I hope you will visit and enjoy all of my blogs.Thanks for stopping by. Wishing You a Happy Week and Namaste! :-)

14 thoughts on “Monthly Movie Musings: Take 4

  1. I never saw this movie and heard very little about Richard Burton, I am more of a fan of Gregory Peck, James Stewart, Gary Cooper

    The Bramble Bush – sounds like an odd title – will have to think on that

  2. There’s a Richard Burton movie I’ve missed?! Although I can sort of see why. That poster says it all but his voice………….so seductive.

  3. I love those old movies… even cheesy, there is a certain charm and heart grabbing appeal. I’ll be sure to check that one out! And thanks for your comment on my Synchronicity post at The Self Love Project – both Shraddha and I co-blog there, so it can be a bit confusing!

    I’ve never participated in the monthly movie musing prompt, but I am so tempted! Luckily I have a whole month AND I am also taking an online course on “sex between the lines” so…. hmmmm. I see some strong potential for The Bramble Bush! LOL. 🙂

  4. I always enjoy your writings. I am curious about this movie, too.

  5. I like Richard Burton! “Night of the Iguana” is among my favourites of his movies.
    This is an interesting title. I’m looking forward to your take on it.
    *hugs*

  6. i am so gonna watch!

    loved your review!!

  7. Hi Lissa, I have always been a big fan of Richard Burton but even he couldn’t save the day when it came to this plot. As I said, it does have it’s moments and I like to compare how the different decades in movies show such changes in attitudes etc…. I’m sure you could come up with a wonderful story or poem about the Bramble Bush, Lissa. Ill be looking forward to reading what you write, if you do!

    Hi Carrie, Ahhh…yes, the VOICE! How soothing, sexy and subtle all rolled into one LOL. 😉 I agree.

    Hi April, Charm, I like that. There is a certain charm to this era of films. I do hope you will participate and do come back and leave a link at this post. The MMM category is in my sidebar, if it’s later in the month. Happy Writing. Sounds like you’ve got some interesting work ahead!

    Hi SandyC, I hope I can capture in words the story I was told. It’s riveting and based on a true story. You might want to give this film a view, if you can locate a copy.

    Hi Vesper, I love Night of the Iguana too. Wasn’t Ava Gardner a hoot in that one? I thought she was terrific too. I hope you’ll give this prompt a try.

    Hi Shraddha, Thanks friend.

    Happy Writing and Happy Thursday, G 🙂

  8. Richard Burton did indeed have the mellifluous voice.

    I immediately thought of fairies at the bottom of the garden when I heard this prompt. It’ll be fun to see what everyone comes up with!

  9. I’ve decided to give a short-story contest a try with this title so won’t be posting mine until that’s over and decided. I really do have an interesting story for this one. I’ve been thinking about how I want this story to unfold, during this past week. I’m going to base it on a true event but do a bit of embellishing as well. Wish me luck!

    I do hope some of you will give this one a whirl…in the meantime.

    Happy Labour Day! G

  10. sounds like an interesting title for a writing prompt. i’ll think on this and see if something comes to mind.

  11. here’s my take –
    http://www.justwritingwords.com/2009/09/relish.html

    not quite sure why this came to me but I like the idea of nature, such as trees having imaginations and being very alive to dream, like us humans

  12. Good luck with the contest, Geraldine! It’s a very interesting title, indeed. Hmmm…
    xoxoxo

  13. Hi G, It has been a while since I visited last. I am still trying to get my sister settled. I was very inspired by your prompt and sat here and wrote the following: http://cricket51.wordpress.com/2009/09/21/the-bramble-bush-affair/ I hope you enjoy it. I will try to get back into the swing of things soon.

  14. Here’s a touching story from Selma in the City for the final MMM prompt.

    Wonderful work Sel!

    http://selmainthecity.wordpress.com/2009/10/06/the-bramble-bush/

Thank you for your comments!

