My Poetic Path

my journey…shared in poems, prose and photos

Falling in Love

37 Comments

 

A single red rose…

a single red rose     captures,

the moment and the magic.

                                   

Longing glance.

Slow, flowing dance.

Fully engaged; senses peaked.

We breathe the fragrant, sacred air.

Suspended in time.

In a place, made only for two.

                                  

People stop and stare.

“You look beautiful”

 and politely inquire:

“what’s new?”

But the delicious secret, goes unexplained.

The spell ( at least for a little while) remains.

                             

 “Romance, what makes it all worthwhile”

♥♥

                                                              

Dedicated to J.M. a very romantic man, kindred spirit and trusted friend. Many thanks for the quote and for your kindness and compassion, through all the years.

Also suggested/submitted for this week’s  OSI prompt: Romance

Photo courtesy of: Flickr

Author: Geraldine

I am a freelance writer, poet, artisan, avid book/product reviewer and award-winning cookbook author. I recently published the second volume of my new vegetarian cookbook series: -The Groovy Green Kitchen II: Simply, Super, Supper Soups and my fun and inspirational book, all about aging well: -Laughing AT the Grim Reaper! Gems of Wisdom for Aging Well I am also the author of: -The Groovy Green Kitchen: Weeknight Veggie Slow Cooker -Third Chapter, Second Chance (a mid-life romance) -Not Just for Vegetarians: Delicious Homestyle Cooking, the Meatless Way and the poetry collections: -Haiku Reflections:The Four Seasons (Volume i and II) and -My Poetic Path All titles available at Amazon.com, .ca, UK.... When I'm not writing or creating new recipes, I love to knit and crochet; usually with some "help" from feline friend, yarn-loving Mr. Cheddar! I hope you will visit and enjoy all of my blogs.Thanks for stopping by. Wishing You a Happy Week and Namaste! :-) You can also visit me at my new author's site: geraldinehelenhartman.me

37 thoughts on “Falling in Love

  1. A beautiful love poem, Geraldine. So very romantic. I love the open secret aspect of this poem.

  2. So very pretty, Geraldine. I can feel the romance, you did good. Thank you for telling us your inspiration.
    I liked your prompt very much, you did good there too. It even goaded me into doing a serious poem for a change. 🙂
    ..

  3. Geraldine, I messed things up for you. The link I left above is wrong. This one should work. I am sorry.
    ..

  4. The spell of romance..You got that very well here.

    I hold myself in the doorway

  5. Spell of romance!!!Just too good.

  6. The idea of “sacred air” and “spell” to describe romance is just beautiful! Delightful poem!

  7. .. ur poem is noi a poem at all ..

    it’s a celebration ! _

    of life & romance ..

    good prompt _ great expressions ..

    thanks geraldine ..

  8. Hi Sandy, I’m so glad you enjoyed this work!

    Hi Jim, Your poem was pretty darn HOT Jim!!! 😉 Im glad you enjoyed this prompt.

    Hi Gautami, It definitely does weave a spell, doesn’t it?

    Hi Jeeves, So glad you liked it!

    Hi Gemma, Nice to “see” you again Gemma and thanks so much.

    Hi Zoya, And what better celebration is there? Hard to imagine…

    I am so enjoying reading the OSI participant’s interpretations so far. Keep them coming!!!

    Hugs, G

  9. a very romanctic and beautiful poem Geraldine…
    thank u for the wonderful theme! 🙂

    your poem.. it speaks.. like the two are lost in romance.. they see only themselves and no one else.
    indeed romance making it worthwile! 🙂

  10. That last line says it all. Marvellous.

  11. Romance that perfect elixir, sparkling just underneath your skin…

  12. Beautiful romantic moment for the two in your poem.

  13. Beautiful romantic poem!
    The last line is awesome 🙂

  14. Ahhh, the point of love when it is fresh and alive… ;o)

    …And forgotten a bit too often these days. Good job!

  15. Romance does cast a spell…there’s an energy shift that can’t be denied. This was a wonderful poem!

  16. Hi Leo, And isn’t that the way it is, when we first fall in love? A world made up and made for- two! 😉

    Hi Tony, Thanks Tony, that was my starting point actually!

    Hi Nathelie, Oh I like that…”sparkling just underneath your skin” marvelous!!!

    Hi Maggie, I like to think that a lot of people have shared these same feelings…

    Hi Anna, Welcome to MPP and thanks for your kind words.

    Hi Bethany, Welcome and I couldn’t agree more!!! “What the world needs now, is love, sweet love..”

    Hi Sweetest, Im so glad you enjoyed this work. Thank you.

    Ill be stopping by your blogs soon to see your interpretations of this prompt, can’t wait! G

  17. ah! i love it! you said it all! and that photo of rose is delicious!!

    shraddha

  18. My moon in the breeze photo was taken from our apartment window in Bettolle, Italy, where we spent a week touring Tuscony. Thanks for the love note comment on it. 🙂
    ..

  19. So beautifully expressed. You create magic with your words 🙂

  20. “In a place, made only for two.” is such a perfect capture of ‘romance’…thank you for this delicious prompt!

  21. Geraldine,
    Your poem is so lovely, sweet and of course people lean in wondering what is new. This romance, this love is so appealing. Thank you for this lovely prompt.
    Spirithelpers

  22. doesn’t a new romance just engage one in matters of love? this is a beautiful writing. you captured everything perfectly. hope all is well. have a great day.

  23. Magical words and gorgeous photo! The love and happiness in this piece is wonderful…
    Thanks for a delightful prompt and a terrific read!

  24. Dear Geraldine!
    oo la la–delightful as a glass of luscious wine–
    You do romance well!
    Thanks so much for this and the prompt–

  25. Absolutely LOVELY response to this OSI prompt. Alas, I didn’t play because I’m busy watching TENNIS but I did share some Ruby Reds ;–)
    Hugs and blessings,

  26. Hi Shraddha, I found that photo on Flickr and “flipped” it on it’s side. 😉 I thought it was perfect too.

    Hi Jim, Thanks for the photo location, it was a beauty.

    Hi Lena, Oh, what a wonderful comment, thanks dear Lena!

    Hi Patois, Thanks so much. Nice to “see” you again.

    Hi DiBello, It is kind of tasty, isn’t it? 😉

    Hi Tammie, They do don’t they? When I get asked what’s new over and over and people telling me how wonderful I am looking, on a daily basis….well!!! There’s something in the air.

    Hi Michelle, Falling in love takes over, doesn’t it? Everything else seems so pale by comparison. I hope I captured this here. Sounds like I did based on all the kind comments. I loved everyone’s interpretations too.

    Hi Sue, Thanks Sue, you made my morning!

    Hi Beth, A glass of luscious wine, oh lalala indeed. I like that Beth!

    Hi Barb, What a wonderful comment! Still time to write about this prompt Barb, you’ve got all week.

    Hugs and Happy Tuesday, G 🙂

  27. a sacred dance, to be savored. your dedication somehow brought it to life. thank you for the prompt!

  28. Beautiful poem. I love the sentiment *sigh*

  29. Oh- I remember that feeling~ such a delightful one too! I loved your poem and great choice of promt! Have a wonderful week~

  30. Hi Gabrielle, I loved your comment, thank you so much for these thoughts. I tried to visit your blog too but wasn’t able to access the link. 😦

    Hi Sel, Me too Sel! I hear ya….

    Hi Patti, I loved your poem about your parents too Patti, what a beautiful tribute to love. Glad you enjoyed mine too.

    Hugs and Happy Week, G

  31. Oh yes! Really quite perfect.

  32. Yes, Geraldine, how well you captured the feeling! I remember it… how I’d like to re-live it… Thank you for such a wonderful reminder. 🙂
    xoxoxo

  33. Really nice posts. I will be checking back here regularly.

  34. Hi Christine, Thank you! I just happened to note this post on my top read for the day, decided to check back. I’m glad I did.

    Hi Vesper, Can we ever have enough of the heady thrill of it all? I think not. 😉

    Hi Kelli, Welcome to MPP. I hope you do return and often.

    Hugs, G

  35. Reblogged this on My Poetic Path and commented:

    This post has been getting a lot of hits lately, with February now here. Every day is a great time to appreciate and celebrate love! Oh the bliss of it all! :<)

  36. PS: Make that TRIED to reblog this post for Feb. 😦 WP messed up all the format and colors etc…so I’m just leaving this post where it is. The reblog function sounded like a good idea, not!!!!

Thank you for your comments!

