My Poetic Path

my journey…shared in poems, prose and photos

Haiku Reflections:Summer’s End Duet

18 Comments

autumn haiku duet one

                                                                     

autumn duet two

                                       

We spent several hours out and about, on Labour Day; walking for miles, taking photos and breathing in the fresh (almost) Autumn air.

My favorite season is on the way!

I hope you enjoy the first “duet”  of several haiku/photos that I will be sharing, with this theme.

Summer may be ending but the magic of Autumn has just begun! 🙂

What is your favorite season and why?

Author: Geraldine

I am a freelance writer, poet, artisan, avid book/product reviewer and award-winning cookbook author. I recently published the second volume of my new vegetarian cookbook series: -The Groovy Green Kitchen II: Simply, Super, Supper Soups and my fun and inspirational book, all about aging well: -Laughing AT the Grim Reaper! Gems of Wisdom for Aging Well I am also the author of: -The Groovy Green Kitchen: Weeknight Veggie Slow Cooker -Third Chapter, Second Chance (a mid-life romance) -Not Just for Vegetarians: Delicious Homestyle Cooking, the Meatless Way and the poetry collections: -Haiku Reflections:The Four Seasons (Volume i and II) and -My Poetic Path All titles available at Amazon.com, .ca, UK.... When I'm not writing or creating new recipes, I love to knit and crochet; usually with some "help" from feline friend, yarn-loving Mr. Cheddar! I hope you will visit and enjoy all of my blogs.Thanks for stopping by. Wishing You a Happy Week and Namaste! :-)

18 thoughts on “Haiku Reflections:Summer’s End Duet

  1. what beautiful rich colors — just right for the transition from summer to autumn!

  2. I love the haikus and the colors are so vivid.

  3. your duets are great reflections on summer’s end and autumn’s beginning. those pictures depict fall colors beautifully. have a great night.

  4. love it!

    its fantastic!

  5. lovely poems and photos!
    I love all the seasons. I love how they demand our attention and respect.
    I love how if we go with the flow of each season there is endless gifts to experience. Lovely post.
    Spirithelpers

  6. Beautiful haikus and wonderful pictures.
    We have not got autumn here yet, summer unexpectedly got extended, and that’s a good thing, but I really want autumn to come back soon. Love this time.

  7. Lovely, lovely, lovely. I am a big fan of autumn too. Your photos are stunning!

  8. Hi Sue, And I’ve got plenty more where that came from…LOL! 😉 I took about 60 photos on Monday.

    Hi Joe, They are indeed and NOT digitally enhanced either. 😉 I’m not a fan of “doctored” photos.

    Hi Michelle, I love this time of year…lovely, lovely!

    Hi Shraddha, You are too kind, thanks S!

    Hi Tammie, They do command our attention, don’t they? I use to love summer a lot more but with global warming in sad evidence in BC (one of the worst places apparently for this) it’s just too hot for me to enjoy much anymore. Autumn I love though and await it’s arrival. The colors alone are enough to cheer me up every day!

    Hi Lena, Thanks Lena, your continued support is much appreciated.

    Hi Sel, I’m so glad you enjoyed these dear S!

    Hugs and Happy Wednesday, G

  9. That’s a wonderful poem, my friend. I wish we had some Sept. rain, though it may blow our way yet. I love the way you greet change.

  10. Autumn, definitely. And, we are feeling it today for sure. What is that red vine?

    I forgot to tell you when I wrote, Yes I have finished Haiku Mind, and I loved it.

  11. my favorite is the top one – although I am sad to see summer go, I do like autumn and it does has its joyful state

  12. Hi SandyC, And isn’t it wonderful to enjoy the 4 changing seasons!

    Hi SandyL, I have no idea re: the leaf name. 😦 I do know the flowers are marigolds though. LOL 😉

    Hi Lissa, I’m glad you enjoyed this work Lissa. I wanted to show the contrasts of this time of year, with the photos,colors and words.

    Hugs, G

  13. I really enjoyed that last photo as it brings back all the reasons why I should look forward to autumn…. red leaves and rain!

  14. Splendid photos! And such fitting haikus!
    I was thinking of an answer to your question but I couldn’t and wouldn’t decide. I love all seasons. Each have their joys, beauties, worries, sorrows, just like our lives…
    xoxoxo

  15. Pingback: Friday Favorites /  The Self Love Project

  16. Reblogged this on My Poetic Path and commented:

    ANOTHER LATE SUMMER POST FROM THE ARCHIVES. NOT MUCH “COLOR” YET THIS YEAR, IN TERMS OF THE LEAVES, BUT HOPEFULLY SOON.
    HOPE YOU ENJOY THIS DUET ENCORE.
    WISHING YOU A VERY HAPPY AUTUMN, BRING IT ON!!!

  17. Reblogged this on My Poetic Path and commented:

    ANOTHER LATE SUMMER POST FROM THE ARCHIVES.
    HOPE YOU ENJOY THIS HAIKU DUET FOR THE FIRST TIME OR PERHAPS, AGAIN. ;<)
    HAPPY LABOUR DAY WEEKEND AND
    HAPPY AUTUMN, BRING IT ON!!!

  18. I love these haiku’s and photos! You’ve capture the very essence of the season beautifully. 😀

Thank you for your comments!

