My Poetic Path

my journey…shared in poems, prose and photos

“Thirsty” Pines!

24 Comments

pine needles

                                    

As the earth prepares for winter.

The pines,

bid farewell

to summer

and

                                 brilliant green needles.                                  

Slowly, they dry and whither.

Parched boughs of softly muted shades.

                          Resting on the chilled, brown soil.                            

Their thirst,

will remain unquenched.

Until we joyfully greet,

 next spring.

***

Submitted for the OSI prompt: Thirst

Author: Geraldine

I am a freelance writer, poet, artisan, avid book/product reviewer and award-winning cookbook author. I recently published the second volume of my new vegetarian cookbook series: -The Groovy Green Kitchen II: Simply, Super, Supper Soups and my fun and inspirational book, all about aging well: -Laughing AT the Grim Reaper! Gems of Wisdom for Aging Well I am also the author of: -The Groovy Green Kitchen: Weeknight Veggie Slow Cooker -Third Chapter, Second Chance (a mid-life romance) -Not Just for Vegetarians: Delicious Homestyle Cooking, the Meatless Way and the poetry collections: -Haiku Reflections:The Four Seasons (Volume i and II) and -My Poetic Path All titles available at Amazon.com, .ca, UK.... When I'm not writing or creating new recipes, I love to knit and crochet; usually with some "help" from feline friend, yarn-loving Mr. Cheddar! I hope you will visit and enjoy all of my blogs.Thanks for stopping by. Wishing You a Happy Week and Namaste! :-)

24 thoughts on ““Thirsty” Pines!

  1. interesting photo… what kind of pines do you have that change like that?

  2. your poem is lovely and that picture reminds one of christmas trees. it even looks to have a white glow about it. thanks for sharing. have a great night.

  3. I really like your poem. A reminder that the earth is subject to constant change and that there is a time for everything. Also, that there is joy to be had in every season. We just have to remind ourselves!

  4. I can almost smell that pine fragrance. So observant of nature, I like that.

  5. Winter brings with it a gift of water, but those trees wait for spring to drink it. Our seasons are a mysterious ceremony.

  6. I like this photo and thirsty does describe how these branches looked. Every season brings new colors. Excellent writing, as usual.

  7. A good sense of change in this. Enjoyed it.

  8. Parched boughs of softly muted shades

    Resting on the chilled, brown soil

    remain unquenched ..

    Until

    next spring ..

    we pine for what is not as the seasons rustle through this poem on pines ..

  9. Hi John, I think this might be a spruce and it’s color changes with the start of fall. Or perhaps, an early frost. We’ve had a very dry summer so that might also have speeded up the process in these trees. Sad to see but they do look pretty, nonetheless.

    Hi Michelle, What a lovely memory to be brought to mind. Thanks M!

    Hi Sel, There is a special joy and significance for each season, isn’t there. Good point!

    Hi SandyL, And what a glorious fragrance that is!

    Hi SandyC, I like that description. There is a ceremony to each changing season.

    Hi Joe, You were there, you would know. 😉

    Hi Tony, So very true.

    Hi Zoya, We do indeed.

    Thanks for stopping by. Happy Sunday at OSI! Hugs, G

  10. So hope you get those nourishing Autumn rains! Lovely images.

  11. I like the changing looks on the trees as the different seasons change….almost as if they are changing clothes.

  12. Dear Geraldine!
    I’m noticing more of the crunching as I walk, as well. The spruce in my yard are so thick that very little snow even gets under them, so the ground is constantly dry…but especially now.

    Many thanks for this lovely piece–

  13. i really enjoyed this…you are a great artist..

  14. “boughs of softly muted shades” – how beautiful…
    A lovely poem, Geraldine! And the photo, too. I love conifers and your photo shows this one beautifully.
    xoxoxo

  15. very poignant! the thirst of a plant.. a different take. 🙂

    i’ve to try this sometime from a different perspective!

  16. Hi Christine, We are soooo far behind in rainfall, again this year. BC seems to be drying up. 😦 for an extended period of time. I noted on the news that the lower mainland received less than 1/2 it’s normal rainfall for the year to date. Somethings happening…and it’s not good news.

    Hi Maggie, They are changing their clothes in a way. 😉 Nice one!

    Hi Beth, thanks Beth and again my congratulations on the arrival of your dear granddaughter, what a cutie!!!

    Hi Shraddha, And you are so nice, thanks Shraddha. I’m so glad you’ve become a regular visitor at MPP!

    Hi Vesper, Thanks for all your comments from yesterday, most appreciated.

    Hi Leo, I feel so badly seeing plants in need of moisture. I know it’s a bit different with fall approaching but I do think some of the changes are happening earlier than they should be. I look forward to reading your work, in this direction.

    Have a happy week and thanks for your continued support, it means so much, G

  17. A wonderful tale of seasons changing.
    spirithelpers

  18. There is such beauty in the change of season and you’ve portrayed it beautifully with this photo and your stunning words.

  19. Hi Geraldine, this is so nice with just the right amount of sadness for those trees. 🙂
    ..
    BTW, we have three golf courses in our subdivision. One has pine needles on the roughs, I like to play that course because I don’t lose my ball when it leaves the fairway. 😉
    The other two are full of taller grass and weeds on their sides.
    ..

  20. Hi Tammie, I’m so glad you enjoyed this work. We had such an interesting and diverse look at this prompt, with all the OSI participants taking it in a different direction. I loved reading yours and many of the others too.

    Hi Sue, You’ve made my day, again! Thanks dear Sue.

    Hi Jim, That’s a clever way to golf Jim, I like it! 😉

    Happy mid-week and I look forward to seeing you for this week’s upcoming OSI prompt: Fog. I’m ahead for a change, mine is already ready in my drafts folder.

    Hugs,G 🙂

  21. A nice reminder that sometimes a lacking, such as thirst can produce something beautiful, like the wonderful scent of pine needles.

  22. I love this! I am partial to pine trees (we have a few in our yard) and love the cones as well as the boughs. Looking at your picture, I can just smell the earthy pine smell…one of my favorite smells ever! Have a wonderful weekend~

  23. Lovely witnessing for the passing of time.

  24. Hi Sue, What a good point you’ve made! This can apply so many times, can’t it?

    Hi Patti, I don’t think there’s a fragrance I like more than pines. So true…

    Hi Nathelie, Thanks so much.

    Happy Weekend and hope to see you again soon at OSI! G

Thank you for your comments!

