My Poetic Path

my journey…shared in poems, prose and photos

A Stroll Through Early Autumn…

23 Comments

DSCN1336

 

 

 

 

 

 

 late blooming roses

 

 DSCN1393

 

 

 

 

 

 shades of blue. berries for birds, still plentiful

                                         

DSCN1368    

 

 

 

 

 

hearty marigolds, hold their own

 

 

DSCN1392

 

 

 

 

 

 

delicate pinks 

 

DSCN1372

 

 

 

 

 

 

lush greens, still to be seen

 

 

DSCN1391

 

 

 

 

 

 

the underbrush, alive with color

 

DSCN1407

 

 

 

 

 

 

brilliant reds, slowly emerge 

 

 

 

DSCN1406

 

 

 

 

 

 

swaying in the  breeze…

 

  DSCN1378

 

 

 

 

 glistening cobwebs

 

 

 

 DSCN1401

 

 

 

 

 

 mountain ash, in full glory 

 

 

 

DSCN1410

 

 

 

 

 

 

steps to the lake. secret revealed

 

 

 DSCN1413 

 

summer bids

farewell with

autumn’s colorful

return! 

***

 

PS: I hope the photos and text are showing correctly on your screen. Looks fine here but WP “text box” draft appears tres wonky. Let me know, thank you!   

PSS: Also submitted for this week’s OSI prompt: Colors

Author: Geraldine

I am a freelance writer, poet, artisan, avid book/product reviewer and award-winning cookbook author. I recently published the second volume of my new vegetarian cookbook series: -The Groovy Green Kitchen II: Simply, Super, Supper Soups and my fun and inspirational book, all about aging well: -Laughing AT the Grim Reaper! Gems of Wisdom for Aging Well I am also the author of: -The Groovy Green Kitchen: Weeknight Veggie Slow Cooker -Third Chapter, Second Chance (a mid-life romance) -Not Just for Vegetarians: Delicious Homestyle Cooking, the Meatless Way and the poetry collections: -Haiku Reflections:The Four Seasons (Volume i and II) and -My Poetic Path All titles available at Amazon.com, .ca, UK.... When I'm not writing or creating new recipes, I love to knit and crochet; usually with some "help" from feline friend, yarn-loving Mr. Cheddar! I hope you will visit and enjoy all of my blogs.Thanks for stopping by. Wishing You a Happy Week and Namaste! :-)

23 thoughts on “A Stroll Through Early Autumn…

  1. A lovely post. Guess I need to figure the text boxes. All that is still blooming up there?

  2. Oh, gorgeous. I love your pictures, Geraldine!

  3. What a great way to usher in fall. Love all these colors you’ve shared. Have a great night.

  4. A wonderful stairway into fall. Nice formatting with beautiful images and words.

  5. Love the photos and the words.

  6. These are simply a feast for the eyes. Isn’t it amazing what a bounty of color and variety there exists if we just open our eyes. You have great vision!

  7. Colors of fall. I knew you would do it up right, Gerladine, from the first picture of yours that I saw here. 🙂

    What I saw here

    late blooming roses
    shades of blue. berries for birds, still plentiful
    hearty marigolds, hold their own
    delicate pinks
    lush greens, still to be seen

    brilliant reds, slowly emerge
    swaying in the breeze… (purples)
    glistening cobwebs
    mountain ash, in full glory
    steps to the lake. secret revealed

    They all were so pretty, I want to come there. 🙂

  8. What a beautiful and creative OSI post. I love the pictures of nature. You’ve certainly captured all the brilliant colors…like a rainbow.

  9. Awesome isn’t just enough to describe the pictures. Blue berries look lovely, i’ve never seen though i’ve eaten a blue berry muffin. Wonderful words too.

  10. Love it all. The mountain ash is glorious. All of them are. A lovely, cheery post, G. Much appreciated!

  11. great colors to see for fall, I like the marigolds – such a beautiful shade of orange

  12. Beautiful! I’m glad you are an Autumn lover as well! Thanks for taking us on your walk~

  13. beautiful pictures accompanying lovely words!

  14. colors of nature! lovely! 🙂

  15. Fantastic pics, Geraldine! What a wonderful stroll… Thank you! Have a beautiful weekend.
    xoxoxo

  16. Hi SandyL, I know you blog with WP too so I’m sure you can relate to …wysiNOTwyg at times. 😉 Im glad this looks as it should on the screen though. Yes, all of these pics were taken within the last 2 weeks, most of them last Sunday. Its getting colder now though so I’m guessing the brilliant colors won’t be around much longer.

    Hi SandyC, I agree, I was very pleased with this set of photos. But easy to achieve with such brilliant colors to work with. Not enhanced either. 😉

    Hi Michelle, I’m glad you enjoyed it!

    Hi Sue, Thanks for letting me know that the formatting looks ok. It certainly didn’t in the draft version.

    Hi Joe, Thanks dear!

    Hi Christine, I always enjoy your nature photos too. Thanks so much for your kind words, most appreciated.

    Hi Jim, Thanks Jim. I was so pleased to see that I could include this series of photos with the OSI prompt last Sunday. I was a bit behind, due to my computer glitch!!!

    Hi WriteGirl, Thanks so much and welcome to MPP and OSI. Glad you could join us.

    Hi Nathelie, I was glad to find so many colors to include, thanks N!

    Hi Swapna, Welcome! Id like a blueberry muffin right now but I don’t think the ones in the pic would be a good idea. 😉 Blue berries but not blueberries LOL!!!

    Hi Selma, I LOVE mountain ash. Not seen much on the Prairies where I grew up, a lot more to enjoy here in BC. Glad you liked the pics.

    Hi Lissa, I love the brilliant orange of these flowers and their resilient nature too.

    Hi Patti, I’m glad you could come along too. I do love the season of Autumn, most of all.

    Hi Shraddha, Somehow your comment ended up in my spam filter, go figure? Glad I found you though. Thanks Shraddha for your continued support.

    Hi Leo, Hard to beat aren’t they?

    Hi Vesper, Thanks dear V and the same to you.

    Wishing you all a wonderful weekend, G 🙂

  17. Such brilliant, intensely beautiful colors. Lovely verse to tie them all together.

  18. .. hi geraldine ,

    – about the images first – –

    a tender fondness for life underscores all ur photos .. they have an atmosphere of a strange simplicity . a happy absence of digital manipulation retains the real- lifeness of the pictures
    ( almost like personal perusal ) // but then i keep repeating that i am less than underqualified in the technical appraisal of art & photography & therefore tend to believe that when a photograph appeals to my untrained sensibilities the artist must have done something right ..[ ps: i also feel that these pictures have been planned or framed cleverly ]

    / ur poem is so good to read [ thanks to jim for putting it together ]

    swaying in the breeze…
    glistening cobwebs
    mountain ash, in full glory

    all in all a great post ..

  19. great post! i love it, the colors, everything!

  20. lovely piece, mated wonderfully with a seasons wealth of photos~

  21. Hi Sue, Nature can not be improved upon, in all it’s glory, can it? I’m glad you enjoyed this post.

    Hi Zoya, Thank you so much for your thoughtful and detailed comment. I also don’t care about the technical “details” in art or photography. If I like something, I LIKE IT! I didn’t really think of the text as poetry but put together as Jim did, well it does read quite nicely! 😉

    Hi Stanis, Welcome and thank you Stanis.

    Hi Tammie, I’m so glad you enjoyed it.

    Wishing you all a wonderful Autumn weekend. Hope you have the opportunity to get out and enjoy all the colors of the season.
    Hugs, G

  22. Dear Geraldine–
    I’m with zoya on this one–
    Tender fondness for all of life–part of who you are.
    Thank you for this loveliness!

Thank you for your comments!

