My Poetic Path

my journey…shared in poems, prose and photos

Conquer…

25 Comments

 angelangel

DSCN1320

               

…evil!

                

Deep, suffocating fears.

                      

Lingering doubts.

                     

Memories, old and tarnished. Those that serve no purpose.

                  

Our enemies.

                               

Sometimes just:

This day… hour… or moment in time.

                                       

 

Conquer!

hold tight

stand firm

or move beyond.

 

♥♥♥

                          

Submitted for this week’s OSI prompt: Conquer

“Yellow Rose of Victory” photo © GHH

Author: Geraldine

I am a freelance writer, poet, artisan, avid book/product reviewer and award-winning cookbook author. I recently published the second volume of my new vegetarian cookbook series: -The Groovy Green Kitchen II: Simply, Super, Supper Soups and my fun and inspirational book, all about aging well: -Laughing AT the Grim Reaper! Gems of Wisdom for Aging Well I am also the author of: -The Groovy Green Kitchen: Weeknight Veggie Slow Cooker -Third Chapter, Second Chance (a mid-life romance) -Not Just for Vegetarians: Delicious Homestyle Cooking, the Meatless Way and the poetry collections: -Haiku Reflections:The Four Seasons (Volume i and II) and -My Poetic Path All titles available at Amazon.com, .ca, UK.... When I'm not writing or creating new recipes, I love to knit and crochet; usually with some "help" from feline friend, yarn-loving Mr. Cheddar! I hope you will visit and enjoy all of my blogs.Thanks for stopping by. Wishing You a Happy Week and Namaste! :-)

25 thoughts on “Conquer…

  1. Powerful words today. Excellently done.

  2. Many things we need to ponder and overcome. Sometimes it seems like we are just consumed. Well done, indeed.

  3. wonderful advice in your poem,
    I could feel the strength of your words.
    Spirithelpers

  4. wow that is really cool and powerful!

    good one…

  5. You give wonderful advice…words to live by! Beautiful photo.

  6. What a beautiful rose — my absolute favorite, yellow roses. Your verse points well to a curse most of us fall prey to, those “lingering doubts.”

  7. A beautiful rose, a strong take on this prompt. Ah, to prevail over evil….

  8. A beautiful photo and these words are so true. We all have to conquer our fears and challenges, whatever they may be.

  9. Wonderful suggestions on how to plow through and conquer. Lovely.

  10. I like this. A very strong and forceful piece!

    what has time got to do with blood?
    Also don’t forget to post your creative works at Monday Poetry Train Revisited each Monday morning!

  11. what an empowering post for those who are struggling to withdraw from overwhelming troubles. hope all is well. have a great day.

  12. Very like a mantra to live with! Nice work!

  13. I know all about those thoughts and fears that plague us. I think using the rose as a metaphor for conquering fear is a really good one because roses are very tenacious. Some of them can grow through rock. Powerful piece!

  14. We can always use a powerful mantra like this one. Excellent. (I’ll keep this in mind when shadows loom.)

  15. Hi Tony, Thank you!

    Hi Rob, Welcome! I know what you mean. We need to rise above, don’t we?

    Hi Tammie, We need to be strong to conquer. Glad this came through.

    Hi Shraddha, Glad you enjoyed this work, my friend.

    Hi Sweetest, Hope it helps. I need to remind myself of these thoughts too.

    Hi Sue, For me the yellow rose seems so victorious, so free. I love them too.

    Hi SandyC, A constant battle, isn’t it?

    Hi Joe, I hear ya dear, I hear ya… 😉

    Hi Patois, We all need to hold on and keep trying, don’t we? It is the “good” fight.

    Hi Gautami, I’m glad you enjoyed this work G and thanks for the invite too!

    Hi Michelle, To be overwhelmed…wow, that’s something I am also (too)familiar with. Hang in there M…

    Hi Sue, I like that. Ill keep that in mind too.

    Hi Andree, I am so happy you could stop by! And to find your blog too.

    Hi Selma, Thanks for expanding on the yellow rose theme Sel. I totally relate to what you are saying. My thoughts too.

    Hi Kat, I hope you will. If I can help, I am happy.

    Hugs and Happy Week, G

  16. G. absolutely right on here. There is nothing more debilitating that lingering conundrums. The rose is gorgeous and is so completely unattached to such doubts.

  17. Really enjoyed that. I just love yellow roses, and was savoring the photo when your poem started with quite a different feeling to it. Very provocative way to present it.

  18. I love this poem, Geraldine! The strength of it alone could move me beyond such… evil. The rose is magnificent!
    xoxoxo

  19. Hi Christine, I know of what you speak…and I agree about the rose, so true. A good image to bring to mind, during difficult times.

    Hi Julia, So nice to “see” you again. I’m glad you enjoyed this work and my presentation of it. That is exactly the idea I was trying to get across.

    Hi Vesper, Thanks so much dear V.

    Happy Mid-Week to all of you, G 🙂

  20. Yup- that’s what I am trying to do- “stand firm and hold tight” Great words to live by! And gorgeous photo too!

  21. You are firm here, Geraldine. It is a very nice piece. Now if we can just do that we would have a lot more peace of mind. 🙂
    I did some of that conquering memories today. We attended a funeral a sweet young lady who died of a heart attack of age 51. Some of the memories until today were not pleasant. All in all she was a wonderful girl whom I had known since she was ‘in the family’ for a while in her early twenties.
    ..
    I am sorry that I missed you earlier in the week. No excuse, I was too busy to take roll of who all hadn’t visited mine. I did a return visit of all of those.
    ..

  22. Hi Patti, Good luck with that. Sometimes its so hard….

    Hi Deli, Thank you. I tried to visit your blog via OSI but the link didn’t work. 😦

    Hi Jim, Sometimes even memories need to be conquered. Im still working on a “whole mess” of those.

    Hugs and Happy Week, G

  23. What a magnificent poem!

Thank you for your comments!

