My Poetic Path

my journey…shared in poems, prose and photos

In Flanders Fields…

9 Comments

 

flanders

 

THE RED FLANDERS POPPY

The red Flanders’ poppy was first described as a flower of remembrance by Colonel John McCrae (1872-1918), who was Professor of Medicine at McGill University of Canada before World War One. Colonel McCrae had served as a gunner in the Boer War, but went to France in World War One as a medical Officer with the first Canadian Contingent.

At the second battle of Ypres in 1915, when in charge of a small first-aid post, he wrote in pencil on a page torn from his despatch book:

                                            

IN FLANDERS’ FIELDS

In Flanders fields the poppies blow

Between the crosses, row on row,

That mark our place; and in the sky

The larks, still bravely singing, fly

Scarce heard amid the guns below.

We are the Dead. Short days ago

We lived, felt dawn, saw sunset glow,

Loved and were loved, and now we lie

In Flanders fields. Take up our quarrel with the foe:

To you from failing hands we throw

The torch; be yours to hold it high.

If ye break with us who die

We shall not sleep, though poppies grow

In Flanders fields.

***

By Major John McCrae, May 1915

Lest We Forget

Author: Geraldine

I am a freelance writer, poet, artisan, avid book/product reviewer and award-winning cookbook author. I recently published the second volume of my new vegetarian cookbook series: -The Groovy Green Kitchen II: Simply, Super, Supper Soups and my fun and inspirational book, all about aging well: -Laughing AT the Grim Reaper! Gems of Wisdom for Aging Well I am also the author of: -The Groovy Green Kitchen: Weeknight Veggie Slow Cooker -Third Chapter, Second Chance (a mid-life romance) -Not Just for Vegetarians: Delicious Homestyle Cooking, the Meatless Way and the poetry collections: -Haiku Reflections:The Four Seasons (Volume i and II) and -My Poetic Path All titles available at Amazon.com, .ca, UK.... When I'm not writing or creating new recipes, I love to knit and crochet; usually with some "help" from feline friend, yarn-loving Mr. Cheddar! I hope you will visit and enjoy all of my blogs.Thanks for stopping by. Wishing You a Happy Week and Namaste! :-) You can also visit me at my new author's site: geraldinehelenhartman.me

9 thoughts on “In Flanders Fields…

  1. One of my teachers had us learn and recite this poem out loud in her classroom.
    I still remember the poem and it made the history she was teaching us come to life in such a real way to me.

  2. I love that poem. It’s so sad and so true.

    And McGill University! I walked past it when I was visiting Montreal. It was so odd to walk by a University that was just part of the town like that.

  3. I used to recite it at school too. It still moves me. So powerful. Lest we forget.

  4. I love that poem, too. Poppies are one of my favorites, so it is doubly special. Today is my birthday, and I got a card with red poppies on it. I get it now!

  5. what a beautiful but sad poem. war is always a difficult time for everyone.

    watch your inbox for an e-mail from me. it should be there now. have a great day.

  6. Killer day, huh, Geraldine? A day for thoughtful reflection. Thanks for these poppies.

  7. Geraldine, a wonderful post. My father was a Navy guy, from Annapolis to North Korea. Veterans Day has always been one of those thankful, retrospective days for our family. Also, thank you for your kind words on my blog. My best, Rob.

  8. Hi Maggie, I remember memorizing this poem too, in grade school. Now to read it as an adult, I am taking in each line in a much more meaningful way. It is such a powerful work, isn’t it?

    Hi Carrie, Nice to read that you’ve been up to Canada, Carrie. And McGill, what heritage that university holds, in so many ways.

    Hi Sel, I feel the same way.

    Hi SandyL, What a special date to have for your birthday. I hope it was a happy one, in every way. I love poppies too. They always bring this poem to mind.

    Hi Michelle, Thanks M, Ill check soon.

    Hi Sandy C, It is indeed. So sad but I am so glad that the memorial services are being well attended each year and that it is now Veteran’s WEEK here, not just one day. We must remember.

    Hi Rob, Thank you for sharing this story Rob. And you are most welcome re: the compliments.

    Hugs, G

  9. Very special sentiment.
    Thank you for stopping by my blog Geraldine. Your site has grown beautifully. I am so sorry to hear about Mitzi.

Thank you for your comments!

